We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamanai Outpost Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Lamanai Outpost Lodge from January 7-11, 2013. My experience was wonderful. From the beginning at the pickup at the Belize International Airport, I was greeted with smiles and kindness. The lodge was in a beautiful rain forest setting close to a lagoon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The guides were knowledgeable about the birds, fauna and area. All the activities I participated in were interesting and fun. I saw over 70 different birds. I really enjoyed the "Spotlight Cruise" where I could see birds roosting. The area is beautiful, serene, relaxing and I wouldn't hesitate to return. The food was fresh, tasty and healthful. The desserts were fantastic. I don't usually eat dessert, but I licked my plate (just kidding) at the lodge. My room was in the garden area, and it was comfortable and quiet, with the exception of an occasional Howler Monkey call in the wee hours. The only challenge, and not a big deal, was the lighting in the rooms was very dim. Getting up in age doesn't help. That's the only thing I would recommend is that they provide a bit more lighting. I'm ready to go back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room where you can see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyMcB1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    54
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
164
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 very enjoyable nights at Lamani Outpost, experiencing all the trips on offer as part of our package. The trip to the ruins was particularly memorable and made all the more enjoyable by being able to enjoy it before all the hoardes from the cruise ships arrived later in the day! We had a lagoon view room which was comfortable if a little on the dark side. The hammocks outside were most welcoming after an early morning excursion. Food was very good and always served with a smile. The guides were also excellent. We mostly went out with Raul who was very knowledgeable and good fun too. The howler monkeys were most entertaining, once we had worked out what was making the incredible noise. We returned after breakfast one morning to find six of them in the trees right outside our room including a mother & baby - great show! Another highlight was the cookery lesson at a local restaurant - it's not easy to make corn tortillas from scratch and we have the photos to prove it! We can certainly recommend Lamanai for a mixture of adventure and relaxation in the jungle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very expensive, true, but the lodge does a good job of making the expense worth it. The hour long boat ride through the narrow waters to the Cabana sets it up well leaving you with the feeling that you're going into a new world. The property is well laid out with the cabanas very well done up with comfortable beds, excellent bathrooms, nice verandas, and enough space to stretch out. The property stretches up a hill with occasional palapas with hammocks to relax and read in. You have good views of the lagoon from almost everywhere. The restaurant is excellent and, unlike a reviewer below, the vegetarian part of my family got a special veggie entree with every meal (vegetarian quesadillas, tamales, vegetable and bean stew, and even soup made with vegetable rather than chicken stock). Lots of fresh juices and fresh fruit at breakfast (we should all just move to Belize and eat better!) The barmaid makes great cocktails (the only good rum punch I had in all of Belize). Freshly baked muffins if you head out early in the morning got even my lazy tween out of bed.

Activities are great too. The guides know their stuff, can spot flora and fauna with ease and are careful not to disturb them and so don't miss out on any activity. The spotlight safari at night is with crocodiles, snail eagles, and dozens of other birds, the early morning walk that mixes nature with a bit of local history, the trip to Lamanai ruins, and many others. Or just ask the lodge to prepare a canoe and go out into the lagoon and canals for a lazy afternoon with an occasional crocodile thrown in!

The only downside is that you pay a lot of money for staying here and the activities are included in the price. If it rains, a good chunk of that money is going to be washed away. The view of the lagoon in the rain is fantastic but ....! (Yes, we got washed out the last night that we were there!)

Room Tip: If you can, shell out a little more for the lagoon view cabanas. They are roomier and watching the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The 1.5 hour boat trip to the hotel would have been great had it not been for the lashing rain. The boats have no cover and we were soaked through on arrival. Whilst the weather cannot be helped, having cover on the boat would make sense given Belize is a tropical country.
There are 17 huts in the hotel joined mainly in pairs. We booked an air conditioned hut and were allocated room 17 in the corner. Unfortunately this is near to a generator and the noise and vibration was unbearable so we asked to be moved. We were offered a non-air conditioned hut but asked for the adjoining hut 16 which had air conditioning. This is blocked from the sound and vibration by hut 17 and with the fan spinning the noise levels were much better.
The rooms were rustic and for USD 750 per night too rustic!
The bed was uncomfortable with linen that should have been replaced 2 years ago and the room was far too dark. The shower pressure was very good and plenty of hot water. The latch on the bathroom door was broken and clearly had been for sometime. The floor was dirty after one day of traipsing in dirt from the jungle and was not cleaned during our 3 day stay.
Be prepared for bugs. Despite not leaving the door own 2 large moths and a giant beatle with pincers got into our room. We didn't feel comfortable in the room and felt it didn't present value for money.
The location is beautiful and tranquil and the excursions are very good which is the principle reason for going there. Our guide, Levy, was enthusiastic and interesting. We enjoyed the sunset cruise the most. We found the amount of wildlife near the Lodge to be disappointing and we saw far more at Tikal and San Ignacio. We saw more birds on our 1 hour direct boat transfer back from the hotel than at the Lodge itself. Maybe the animals at the Lodge are scared off by the locals who live nearby with their barking and unretained dogs and blaring music from the church that you can clearly hear from the hotel.
The restaurant is very good. The staff are friendly and efficient and will cater to your dietary requirements without fuss. You can ask for Pancakes for breakfast!
What let the stay down for us was the departure. When booking, the Lodge insists that you depart on one of their scheduled departure times so we booked for the 7:30am and arranged our San Pedro water taxi to match. We waited at the dock until 7:45am and were told that the other group departing with us were settling their bill. When we checked at the reception we could see in fact that they had just sat down from breakfast and the staff could also clearly see this. The staff did not want to run 2 boat transfers and planned on delaying us with excuses for 45 more minutes. Despite telling them that we had a 10:30 water taxi transfer the staff still showed no urgency. We practically had to shout at them to take us which we shouldn't have had to do. This was extremely badly handled by the Lodge. We finally left 20 minutes late, stressed and angry. Not what you expect for USD 750 per night.
This is a nice resort in a good location to see the Lamanai ruins but the accommodation needs to be upgraded for the price charged.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights here, and opted for the accommodation package which included transfers, all meals, and 6 of the "standard" activities (2 per night's stay). The entire process - from originally inquiring and booking through Blanca - through to our departure was truly memorable and easy. We were met immediately after clearing customs at the International Airport and whisked away by a friendly driver, Calvin, to the boat launch. There, George transferred us to the boat. We were later arriving, and were amazed with how George navigated the river waters in the dark! We were greeted with welcome drinks and a delicious meal while our bags were taken to our garden view cabana.

We did the following light activities: Lamanai Ruins morning guided tour with Raul; Night Walk with Raul (saw tarantulas, scorpions, frogs, a Tommygoff, etc. - things you might not want to know are all around you at night!); a "Jungle Dawn" with Raul where we were very lucky to see loads of birds, some rare, as well as Howler Monkeys and the old Sugar Mill ruins; a Medicine/Nature Walk with Levi, and the Nighttime Spotlight Tour on the river, which was magical to coast under the stars along the river listening to only what surrounded us. Raul was a top notch guide and we really enjoyed his company. Levi is a wonderful more recent addition to the staff, and we really enjoyed his educational tour and his humour! Top shelf!

Being able to be at the doorstep of Lamanai was definitely a great way to see the ruins free of tour crowds (not that they are ever too busy in Belize). Climbing the High Temple was a lot of fun for a great panorama!

Food, as many have said, was very delicious and plentiful. We often asked for half portions because it was so filling. Great attentive service and truly wonderful variety and tastes. Thank you.

Accommodations were very comfortable. It is dark in the cabanas, but you spend most of your time outside anyway, and you don't need all the power.

Wifi and Internet at the bar was spotty - which is a good thing, as this is a wonderful place to unplug yet still get a little pampered. Great remote spot, and swimming in the lagoon, once you get past that there are shy crocodiles in these waters, was a nice refreshing break in the day.

I'm not sure how one couldn't enjoy everything on offer here! It is a bit expensive but great value and a great experience. I would suggest a minimum of 3 nights, probably 4 is best.

Room Tip: Two double beds in the cabanas offer plenty of space. I think you are perfectly fine with either gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geefmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

A truly lovely and wonderful spot. Highly recommended. The staff were superb, friendly, and most helpful. Very much enjoyed. Getting there via the launch, on the river, was a great way to get into the mood. The proximity to the Lamanai ruins was excellent. We really enjoyed the nature walk. Say hello to the crocs, who are more afraid of you then you of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrugueMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We expected this to be a remote outpost and enriching experience. Indeed, it was all we expected.
We went on 9 outings during our 4 days, 8 were included in the package.
Riding in an airboat at night to find and tag crocodiles was exhilarating.
The food is excellent.
Service is warm and friendly.
Internet is very spotty, but with patience you can get email.
It is a special experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. This is not a luxury resort. We did nit have ac and that would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeusny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
23.6 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
21.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#2 of 8 in Orange Walk
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
7.9 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
47 reviews
23.4 mi away
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
#2 of 2 in Orange Walk
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamanai Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamanai Outpost Lodge

Property: Lamanai Outpost Lodge
Address: Lamanai Outpost | P.O. Box 63, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamanai Outpost Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Lamanai Outpost Hotel Orange Walk
Lamanai Outpost Lodge Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing