We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful surprise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamanai Outpost Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I spent two amazing days at the Lodge last month. We booked our trip to Belize at somewhat the last minute and are so very grateful we included the Outpost Lodge! From making our reservation with the Lodge through the very helpful and patient, Blanca to the final boat ride back to "civilization" with Marisco our experience was exceptional.
We were (selfishly) fortunate to arrive at the Lodge during a slow time period of visitation...we felt as though we had the beautiful surroundings and the amazingly knowledgeable staff all to ourselves!
We both have commented that our brief stay at Lamanai was "magical". This is due to the natural beauty of the area, the mystical and majestic Mayan ruins, the amazing flora and fauna and equally as impressive, the incredible staff.
We are grateful to have had the opportunity to participate visit with Reuben, go on a walk to the ruins late in the afternoon with the knowledgable and engaging Raoul; participate in an exciting and intriguing nightime crocodile encounter with Marisco, Raoul, Lauren and Matt; and to spend our last morning on a beautiful an informative bird walk around the Indian Church area with our great guide, Marisco. We were so impressed with the knowledge of the guides and of their apparent passion for their field of study and love for the area. My husband has already conveyed his desire to return again SOON to do some fishing with Marisco.
We loved our lodging in the thatched cabanas and found the food to be beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! We were very touched by the kindness of being presented a bottle of wine at dinner for our anniversary and later enjoyed our conversations at the bar with bartender, Danny.
Another fascinating aspect of our visit at the Lodge was visiting with Lauren and Matt, two college students on site conducting research on the jaguar population in the Lamanai area. They were great in showing us various local web cam images of the jaguars (wow!), other cats and creatures in addition to sharing their experiences with us. What an experience!
We knew the minute we arrived at Lamanai, that two days would not be enough. We look forward to visiting again! I keep replaying my audio of the Howler Monkeys to anyone that will listen...their howls are surreal, just like the Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    53
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
57
163
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked our room here at the last minute. Had 2 days at the end of our trip without plans and decided to splurge a little. A local hotel owner recommended Lamanai Outpost.
So glad we stayed here. The staff was wonderful, from reservation to checkout they were very helpful. Our room was spacious and we had a lake view from the porch. The complex is beautifully designed and maintained. The prices are a little high but you are right in the jungle and an easy walk to the small but interesting ruins. This was very convenient as we arrived before the crowds to explore the Spanish Church, the Sugar Mill and the temples at Lamanai Ruins with only howler monkeys around. The food here was very good with big portions, (we could have split one meal between us.) Most people book the room with meal package and 2 activities @ day (all inclusive) "cocktail cruise" "night safari" "menonite experience," these are some of the offerings. We booked the room only and ended up adding 2 activities. We only ate 1 or 2 meals a day and it was plenty. This is a most magical place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbiespins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a buzz, a fast boat ride into the Belize wilderness and a unique "hotel" at the end. Lamanai one of the first and one of the last Mayan cities due to its isolated location is well worth the trip on its own. The bonus is getting to stay at the Outpost Lodge. A collection of log cabins with just enough of the modern comforts to make it more than comfortable. The Bar / Restaurant provides good basic food and a place to relax with a beer listening to the howlers, after a day around the Mayan ruins. The return journey down the river is just as spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gar55_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location, service, accommodations, restaurant, an amazing & friendly staff, activities--all were superb. The setting and layout of the restaurant and nature of activities enabled the guests to meet and socialize with one another, but the arrangement of rooms and the all-optional roster of activities afforded privacy and as much unscheduled time as desired.

Birds, time on the water, Mayan ruins, extremely knowledgeable guides, hammocks to loll in, beautiful lagoon setting--Lamanai has it all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keep-it-wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were collected at Belize airport all needs considered and promptly taken by an immaculate guide/driver who made our longish journey more interesting by pointing out places of interest along the way. Transferring to a fast boat with yet another friendly pilot pointing out places, plants, birds and animals on route. Amazing vistas unfolding at every turn. Left you wondering if this was the journey in, what was to follow? We were met on the dock by Glenda offering an umberella, with a tropical rainstorm approaching (June is the start of the rainy season)shown around and to our room. No.13, which was spacious and clean if rather dark, I suppose this kept the room cool. Never having stayed in the tropics I didn't know what to expect. The food was superb and we had the full attention of Sandy and Danny who couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We took full advantage of the trips and were delighted to be shown kinkajou s amongst many other animals and birds on the night spotlight excursion. Visiting the Maya temples was amazing and Raul was knowledgable friendly,professional and as all ways immaculate. I will all ways remember the powerful presence with the sound of tropical birds insects and thoughts of Mayan life around the site as it once possibly was.
All our excursions were brilliant, informative and exciting at times, remembering the large snake speeding along next to our canoe (Abdul was ready to fend it off with his paddle) and exploring far reaching creeks .
I couldn't fault our experience and would love to return on day.

Room Tip: Our room (13) was facing the lake and caught the breeze nicely . Outside you need bug spray with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is late coming, so my memories are a little hazy -but here goes.
I did some soul searching before booking this, as it is very expensive. However, it was worth every cent - it was a special and one-of-a-kind trip. We arrived on the river by boat, left on a quick and affordable flight straight to Caye Caulker. Highlights - rustic but comfortable rooms, laid back bar, and decent-good meals included. The tours included with the booking were a great way to learn about the jungle setting, and of course, the ruins are not to be missed. We saw toucans on one tour, which was pretty cool. There is a small township a short walk (5-10 minutes) from the resort that is very undeveloped, and seems like a slice of local life.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keko_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had wanted to visit Lamanai Outpost for the last 5 years and with all the hype about how amazing things were, expectations were high. Stayed for two nights with three other friends and we crammed so much into a short stay but every minute was memorable. The place seems to run on autopilot, a testament to good management. Staff were incredibly efficient and friendly wherever you are at the resort. The elevated restaurant commands great views over the river below and sunset and sunrise were wonderful. Rooms are clean, spacious, thatched cabins with all you need for a good nights sleep and the adventure and quality of guiding was outstanding. We had Ruben as our guide for our time there, he was in short the best guide you could hope for, funny. knowledgable, reliable, safe and with him we visited Lamanai Ruins, Did the crocodile trip at night in the airboats (more on this later) and a rare glimpse into the world of the mennonites. We got to spend time with a family and even have lunch with them and ride in the buggies and visit the midwife, quite fascinating. You have to be very respectful of the fact they are a shy people and avoid cameras and videos being visible, discretion is the order of the day. So our crocodile tour was amazing under a full moon no less, fearless Ruben missed a 4 foot Moralets crocodile but minutes later scooped a 2 and half footer into the boat. There we were engaged in tagging the animal which is endangered, recorded all relevant information, gave it a name (my friend decided on full moon) and released it safely back to the river. Such a thrilling experience and we were a little glad seeing the power of a two foot one that Ruben did not bring the four footer on board :-) If you are up for adventure, do not miss including Lamanai in your plans but i did see other guests simply wiling away time in hammocks reading books or on their laptops with a coffee. Wished we could have stayed longer. Prices are very fair when you consider what it costs to run so many boats and have so many staff and with the quality of the service and tour options i think they are hard to beat in the adventure category.

Room Tip: We stayed down on the water though the rooms are on terraces and i am sure there are river views fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanilla_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
21.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
23.6 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
63.7 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
20.1 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
7.9 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamanai Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamanai Outpost Lodge

Property: Lamanai Outpost Lodge
Address: Lamanai Outpost | P.O. Box 63, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamanai Outpost Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Lamanai Outpost Hotel Orange Walk
Lamanai Outpost Lodge Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing