We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River tour to Laminai”

Lamanai Archaeological Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Lamanai and the New River Safari in Belize
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site features more than 700 Mayan buildings plus a museum.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“River tour to Laminai”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great tour, very informative guide "questions?" he told us everything! The seclusion of the site was impressive only two other tours there of small groups, love the quietness and the absence of vendors selling trinkets. The boat ride there and back was very relaxing. This was a great insight into the damage western invasion caused and why there are so many Asian descendants in Belize .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Weazlegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    108
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lamanai tour”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Via our hotel (st. christopher in orange walk) we booked a boat tour on the river from Orange walk to Lamanai. I forgot the name of the guide, but he was very good at spotting wildlife around and in the river (a crocodile, insect bats, and some very nice birds) and also, to name every animal we saw. At the maya site in Lamanai, we had a bit of bad luck with the weather, and the site consists of only a handful of buildings. But the jungle setting makes it very nice and 'authentic', and i prefer to visit a site with a little less of buildings as it implies a little less of visitors. The lunch, included in our trip, was also very nice!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fishworkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Fun Full Day Excursion”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a full day excursion to the ruins through our hotel (Black Orchid Resort). There first is a drive to the "Lamanai Outpost" where you board a small boat. You then travel by boat for about an hour to the actual ruins. Along the way our guide pointed out various birds and wildlife. The ruins themselves are not huge like Tikal, but had very few other visitors which made them so enjoyable (book your trip when the cruise ships are not in port). The ruins also afforded some nice some wildlife spotting. Another nice plus was the ability to actually climb to the top of the temples for very nice views. This was not the case at other ruins we visited. I think the total excursion is about 6-7 hours with 2 1/2 hours at the ruins (with lunch).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
248 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lamanai”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Took a trip to the mainland with Searious Tours on 10/26/13. Went to The ancient Mayan city of Lamana'in. Aka Lamanai. Awesome day. A 1 hour boat ride up river to the site after disembarking from our vans. The site itself is breathtaking. Our guide Ignacio was extremely informative, attentive and ensured that we understood the "lesson" lol. This was my first tour of anything in the Mundo Maya.

Helpful?
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomira, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get to know”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fascinating trip. Came to know about the Maya all the more.
We were fortunate and the cruise ship tourists weren't there,
so the jungle was peaceful and easier to imagine life back then.
We are birders, the river boat ride there was great.
Saw most of the habit that resides along the river.
The guides are so informative, humble, happy.
They feed us before we left.
Trogons and Howler monkeys were entertaining.
We went the end of Feb. '13 no bugs, not hot.
We stayed at Crooked tree.
About a 4 hour tour.
Including transportation to boat, up the river, explore Lamamia, lunch, and back. Great morning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank colleen_mike33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamanai Archaeological Reserve also viewed

Belize District, Belize
Belize City, Belize District
 

Been to Lamanai Archaeological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing