We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good budget hotel”
Review of Akihito Hotel

Akihito Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akihito Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel offers pretty much every travel necessity. It's cheap, and pretty convienient. price ranges from 8 bucks a night for shared bunk beds to some really expensive rooms with private jacuzzi and AC. (don't remember the price)

The hotel is close to the bus station, and there are several restuarants and general stores near by. There are internet /wifi in the hotel with computers in the lobby if you didn't bring your own. they have pretty nice showers. and even jacuzzi if you don't mind paying extra for the more expensive room, There are cable TV featuring HBO's etc. You can make international calls, do laundry, cooking using microwaves, beers, cigarettes. etc

the hotel people will help you book trip to lamanai for free.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maja_Rymsza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

I stayed in there with my partner (Kamateblackwiki) for 6 days, The hotel is very clean (which, unfortunately cannot be said about some of the other budget hotel in town that we checked out), it's VERY cheap (16 belize dollars, a night), The rooms are very spartan, but it does come with cable TV and fans, they offer wifi access,and you can rent bikes from them

hotel is owned by a japanese man, he speaks ok english but one of the staff cannot speak English at all and if you need something you might have to draw it on a peice of paper or wait until the owner shows up.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexia_namski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed there a week while me and my partner went exploring in Lamanai, the place was extremely cheap (8 USD per night), and the room was spotless, in fact it even have cleaner than the "5 star" place i stayed in in Cancun. (the hotel exterior was ugly and dirty though, it's not even fully painted). Hotel has very powerful showers, high speed wifi (and computers if you didn't bring a laptop), cable TV, laundry, and it's fairly close to the bus stations, there is also a restaurant and a convenience store next door .

And i should mention, the owner was extremely helpful:.I had an acute asthma attack in the middle of the night, and he drove me and my partner to a private clinic and stayed there with us for several hours. (the public hospital are understaffed and generally offer slower service in emergencies). The owner is also queer friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KamateBlackKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Baklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank surfhikeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielBerhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Walk hotels
0 mi away
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
#2 of 2 in Orange Walk
49 reviews
0 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#2 of 8 in Orange Walk
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akihito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akihito Hotel

Address: 22 Queen Victoria Road, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range: $21 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Akihito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akihito Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing