We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Robert and I enjoyed the Lamanai Riverside Retreat. Our rooms were wonderful, also had A/C for you A/C lovers. Food, and spirits were excellent. The location was perfect. Mr. P and his family have it going on. Saw lots of wildlife(manatee&morlet's crocidile), and enjoyed the boat ride to Lamanai ruins. We will be back. Good people...

Room Tip: This is a great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmySchmersahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were travelling on tour bikes at this point so we didn't stay in their rooms but camped next to restaurant in the grassy field. The staff here are exceptionally nice and look after you well. Rowell the owner and his whole family helped us out a great deal and never hesitated to give a helping hand or a helpful hint while we had some trouble with out tent around this time.

Their location is hands down the best in town. Right on the Lamanai River and away from the busy town. Their grounds are spacious and secure. The restaurant here deserves a special mention because their food is truly the best in town. Everyone comes to eat here who can pay for it, the locals, the workers from the sugar mill and ofcourse the tourists as well.

The tours they organize (or at least the tour guides they work with) are the best in our opinion. They really took us on an excellent tour of the river and the Lamanai maya site itself (Indian Church), which is breathtaking and completely unique in that it is the only one designed along the edge of a body of water.

The only downside for staying here is that they like to get their karaoke love on, so it can be a bit loud until fairly late. But why not just join in? Rowell has been in a band his whole life and the man can and does sing very well (and loves it too). Don't look elsewhere as the other options are nowhere near as good, besides everyone ended up eating here or moving here after staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoundTheBendProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Before going out on tour to Lamanai I placed my smartphone in a zipped-up pocket of my backpack in my room at Lamanai Riverside Retreat.

The moment I came back from the tour I reached for it, but the telephone had gone missing. No signs of break-in so somebody with a spare key has been in the room. There's is one person in the hotel who's seen my phone the day before (when helping out with getting the hot water shower to work), no one else saw or knew there was a phone.

I feel very disappointed with this, because the rest of the stay here was good: we could use the owners phone earlier on to contact hotels for our next place to stay, breakfast tastes good, rooms are not bad and the tour to Lamanai was arranged perfectly.

Too bad not everybody can be trusted around this place......

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalterAdvices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I loved this place, but I've got to say -- it's pretty rustic, and not for everyone. If you're looking for the Hilton, this ain't it, but if you're at all adventurous, you'll love it. They only have 3 small rooms, so it might fill up pretty quickly in the high season. They've got a decent bar and restaurant, with AMAZING homemade tortillas. I'd go back just for more of those! The whole place is right on the edge of the Dzuluinicob ("New") River, which is nice for atmosphere, wildlife (we saw a small crocodile on the far shore!), and convenient if you're going to see the Mayan site of Lamanai -- the boat picked us up right in front of the restaurant!

Don't confuse this place with the Lamanai Outpost Lodge, which is much pricier. We had considered staying there, but I'm delighted we found this place instead. About a 5-10 minute walk from the field in Orange Walk where the buses let you off and pick you up, but ask directions -- you have to go down a strange little unmarked driveway to find the place! Orange Walk is ok, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else in town, and the one time we went into town to eat, we wished we'd stayed & eaten at the Retreat restaurant. There is A/C and fan in the rooms; it's a bit muggy so things always felt a bit damp (e.g., bedding; also I washed clothes in the sink & after 2 days they still weren't dry); and the plug-in shower head, I must confess, wigged me out a good deal. But I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My partner and I showed up here by chance on Easter Friday. They were actually closed at the time we showed up but were glad to help us into a room. The restraunt and bar were great places to hear local flavor and relax on the riverside. Raul is also active with documenting the crocodile population and might show you videos if you ask. Raul and his family were incredibly sweet and accomodating. One of the sons took us out to a disco for Kareoke which is very different there from what you see in the states or Asia.

The rooms were very clean. Simple but clean and not too much more than we paid to stay other places that were in much worse shape over the same trip. I would return here or send my parents here if the were to travel to Belize.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebirdpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed here just by chance in May 2010. We went on the Lamanai Ruins tour which departed near this property. As we were boating by on the New River we saw the restaurant and decided to stop after our tour to have a meal.
The staff and owner was accomodationg and the service was great. There was a function going on in a banquet room off of the bar/restaurant and it was so fun to watch the local families celebrating a child birthday. We felt like we were part of the occasion with these beautiful, friendly people.
We ended up staying in the rooms off of the bar/restaurant (noise was NOT a problem since we closed the place at around 10:30p) The rooms are standard but have air and hot water. Two items that are not prevailent throughout Belize in the moderate to standard room category.
The owner Rowell was a gracious host that got up early so as to have hot coffee for us before we departed on a long road trip. He has great knowledge of his beloved country and had numerous recommendations for us.
This property is not for everybody. But then again, Belize is probably not for everyone. I left there thinking that the Belizeans were the most friendly people I have met throughout the world. And I have travelled to alot of places.
I would go back and stay with Rowell at Lamania Outpost Resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Faire le Lamanai Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thierrylanoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Walk hotels
0 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#2 of 8 in Orange Walk
228 reviews
0 mi away
Akihito Hotel
Akihito Hotel
#7 of 8 in Orange Walk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamanai Riverside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamanai Riverside Retreat

Address: Lamanai Alley, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orange Walk
Price Range: $47 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lamanai Riverside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamanai Riverside Retreat Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing