We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Milpa Field Station
Nearby Hotels
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Akihito Hotel(Orange Walk)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Chan Chich Lodge(Orange Walk)
$310
$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$236
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador Hotel(Corozal Town)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Hotel(Corozal Town)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
64
6
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
6
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrio bravoresident crocodilewhite tailed deerbelize citymayan ruinsflush toiletsbird specieswealth of knowledgenature preserveeco tourismtake pictureshummingbird feedersconservation areahot water in the showeramazing birdseaten alivenight walk
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 73 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights at La Milpa. Our time there was the highlight of our trip. I have read through the other glowing reviews and I don't know what more I can add but for the one aspect of our stay that needs further elaboration. Our experiences with Vladimir as our guide made our visit to La Milpa all the more enjoyable. His knowledge and enthusiasm for the flora and fauna at Rio Bravo, sharing extra insight and experiences, patience with our many questions and treating every question with respect and thoughtfulness made such an impact on us. He has become our gold standard of a naturalist guide. From the incredible wildlife, well-kept and very clean cabanas and dorms, friendliness of the staff and to the delicious food everything was exceptional. On top of all that, our dollars went to support the non-profit Rio Bravo's conservation efforts!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in La Milpa for three nights and it was our final stay of a two week trip, which turned out to be an excellent way to conclude a perfect vacation. The cabanas were exactly what we hoped they would be and the grounds were wonderful landscaped in a very natural way. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the guides are top notch. We particularly enjoyed Melvis as his knowledge of wildlife and archeology was amazing. The trails are easy to follow and well marked and lead through a variety of different environments which enhances your chances of seeing wildlife. The Mayan site of La Milpa was a moving experience for us. We hiked there early one morning seeing an ocelot along the way and were the only people at the site. While there we saw spider monkeys and truly felt the presence of the Mayans.
We greatly appreciate the conservation efforts being made at La Milpa and would encourage anyone going to Belize to plan a stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

La Milpa is a peaceful haven for wildlife lovers. I spent about five days here and another five at Hill Bank, the other eco-tourism site within the reserve. I couldn't believe how much wildlife we saw; spider monkeys, a herd of white-lipped peccaries, a grey fox, a paca (or royal rat), and over a 100 species of bird...a highlight for me was spotting a pair of Jabiru - the tallest flying bird in Latin America. While we were there the staff even saw a jaguar on their way home - amazing! The naturalist guides were lovely and had great wildlife knowledge - they were superb at bird spotting. The eco-lodges are comfy and the food was brilliant. This is the perfect place for anyone who loves nature and wants to support conservation.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a month in Belize and found this place to be peaceful and extremely educational. Visitors have access to trails and birding areas that are outstanding and the services of a guide named Melvis who is highly educated in both ornithology and archeology and the Maya culture. We walked through ruins that have been left untouched (with the exception of looting in the 1930's and 1940's and some US college student research that takes place for a month or two each year now). Friendly and respectful college and high school students sometimes come on field trips on weekends, but during the week the place is so quiet except for the sounds of the diverse birds and occasionally a very distant monkey call or two. We saw 4 different kinds of trogans, spider monkeys, many different species of hawks, a fox, and dozens of other rare birds and animals and learned so much about Maya culture as well as the more modern history of Belize during our walks and during our delicious buffet style meals. If you want to learn about the wildest and most peaceful part of Belize and get great value and professional guiding for a very modest price, ths is the place for you.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are newer but they all are spacious and many would perfect for a family or group of friends. Ask about the number of rooms and beds if you are in group.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Milpa and it was a wonderful experience. They arranged pick-up and drop-off from Crooked Tree and Belize City, respectively, and it was all easy, fast and simple. At La Milpa, we found a beautifully appointed research station. I've stayed at a lot of field stations and this one is like nothing I've seen. It's immaculate with a great aesthetic while being very comfortable. No problems with hot water and drinking water is provided in the . Meals are basic but good, healthy and plentiful (fresh-squeezed juice every day!), and they were able to accommodate dietary restrictions. The station is set up to attract birds with hummingbird feeders and fruit stations, so there are plenty of views while you enjoy an outdoor meal on the patio. There's a beer/pop fridge with self-reporting to facilitate your relaxation. There was a small class from the US and only 2 other guests while we were there, so no issues with crowds at all. Students were self-absorbed and not an issue. Absolute highlight of the trip was hosting by station director, Vladimir. Rainforest birding is difficult and he was amazing at id by sight and sound; I learned a ton from this man. Book as many trips as you can to maximize learning. He had incredible patience with us, answering our myriad questions, and he worked with warmth, humour and humility. Vladimir is a class act. Trails are all easy walking so light hikers are fine. Do bring a head lamp and some insect repellent (but expect to get some chigger bites in surprising places anyway...they don't hurt, just itch after). Do expect to tip staff. They will deserve it and this station deserves more support as a non-profit helping conserve this beautiful forest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews