We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Milpa Field Station
Nearby Hotels
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Akihito Hotel(Orange Walk)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Chan Chich Lodge(Orange Walk)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$236
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador Hotel(Corozal Town)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sea Breeze Hotel(Corozal Town)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
64
6
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
6
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrio bravoresident crocodilewhite tailed deerbelize citymayan ruinsflush toiletsbird specieswealth of knowledgenature preserveeco tourismtake pictureshummingbird feedersconservation areahot water in the showeramazing birdseaten alivenight walk
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 73 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Milpa and it was a wonderful experience. They arranged pick-up and drop-off from Crooked Tree and Belize City, respectively, and it was all easy, fast and simple. At La Milpa, we found a beautifully appointed research station. I've stayed at a lot of field stations and this one is like nothing I've seen. It's immaculate with a great aesthetic while being very comfortable. No problems with hot water and drinking water is provided in the . Meals are basic but good, healthy and plentiful (fresh-squeezed juice every day!), and they were able to accommodate dietary restrictions. The station is set up to attract birds with hummingbird feeders and fruit stations, so there are plenty of views while you enjoy an outdoor meal on the patio. There's a beer/pop fridge with self-reporting to facilitate your relaxation. There was a small class from the US and only 2 other guests while we were there, so no issues with crowds at all. Students were self-absorbed and not an issue. Absolute highlight of the trip was hosting by station director, Vladimir. Rainforest birding is difficult and he was amazing at id by sight and sound; I learned a ton from this man. Book as many trips as you can to maximize learning. He had incredible patience with us, answering our myriad questions, and he worked with warmth, humour and humility. Vladimir is a class act. Trails are all easy walking so light hikers are fine. Do bring a head lamp and some insect repellent (but expect to get some chigger bites in surprising places anyway...they don't hurt, just itch after). Do expect to tip staff. They will deserve it and this station deserves more support as a non-profit helping conserve this beautiful forest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at La Milpa with friends from South Africa at the end of February 2013. Sadly we only had one night available but even so it was a wonderful trip and I was really struck the the professionalism of the service - the warm welcome, the wealth of knowledge of the bird and animal and plant life as well as the history of the area and the willingness to share it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. As a resident of Belize it is good to have such a great place to recommend to visiting friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just spent 4 days at La Milpa with our guide Melvis and had a fantastic time. Lots of birds (Melvis is an excellent guide and knows all birds by sight and sound), monkeys, and adventure. The accomodations, food are good - basic but very nice but its the hospitality of the staff and guide that make this place. Plus there is so much to do if you are into wildlife, Mayan ruins and exploring the many trails and old logging roads around the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Crooked Tree. We asked a guide where we could experience a natural jungle experience within a day trip. He commented that Lamanai was nearby, but somewhat touristy. He offered to take us to La Milpa. It was a two hour ride from Crooked Tree. But, well worth the drive. The drive to La Milpa is an educational experience as one passes through several different regions. The route takes you through the Menonite area where the agricultural mastery of the Menonite people is clearly apparent. The route follows the border between Belize and Mexico. At one point, one side of the road is Mexico and the other side is Belize. The facilities at La Milpa are very appealing. The main lodge is rustic, but solidly built and clean. The surrounding gardens are beautiful. We hiked on a number of trails in the jungle with our guide. He took us to the unrestored Mayan city. It was incredible to stand in the jungle covered square of the city that was once an advanced civilization in the distant past. We were in awe of the natural beauty of the jungle and all of the wildlife. Our favorites were the Howler monkeys, the incredible variety of tropical birds, and the leaf cutter ants. There were no annoying insects during our hikes. After experiencing a small part of La Milpa during our day trip, we decided that when we return to Belize, we would like to stay in La Milpa for several days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Concordriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights in January. Having travelled to pretty much the middle of nowhere via roads that weren't that great, we were astounded by La Milpa!! Beautifully kept and the rooms were of a good standard - plenty of space and (not that common in many out-there lodges) hot water and electricity. The location is excellent for bird-lovers, especially the hummingbirds that were permanent visitors to the feeding stations. And surprisingly we even had wi-fi!!

Probably the best asset to La Milpa was Vladimir who took us on the various walks and was in effect our host for the stay. Passionate, knowledgeable and guest-focussed, he made a pleasant stay into an exceptional one.

My only criticism was the lack of other guests - this did not bother us but I very much want La Milpa to thrive as it does such valuable work. If it is to attract more tourists, a simple name-change might help - La Milpa Eco-Lodge ??!! This is, after all, what it actually IS (as well as a field station, a reserve, an archeological site and more).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews