We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toucan Lulu was great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toucan Lulu Beach Units
Ranked #22 of 26 Placencia B&B and Inns
Independence Iowa
1 review
“Toucan Lulu was great”
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Our trip to Placencia was wonderfull. We stayed in Toucan Lulu #3. Very clean. Malcom was terific, above and beyond. Short walk to the resturants and grocery. No cable TV as stated, our children were a little disapointed as they were curious what TV programs were in Belize, but we didn't miss it..Loved the overall location but we were disapointed not to have a ocean veiw, #2 is the unit with the wonderfull veiw.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank spearfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Located at the Northern end of "main street" Placencia, Tucan Lulu is a ~2min walk from the BareFoot Beach bar, and a ~10min walk from the end of the main area. It's a great location.

We stayed in Toucan LuLu 1, which was right on the beach. This is probably the best Toucan Property for the following reasons:
1. It’s Right on the Beach
2. Is very spacious inside: has 2 double-beds downstairs, and 2 double-beds in the loft upstairs
3. Has a bar area, which is great for breakfast and/or parties
4. Has a stove, a microwave, and a large fridge, which is also great for parties
5. Has a great porch, and serves as the local gathering hangout
6. The breeze blows through the place, which is fantastic

We looked at some of the other Toucan Lulu units, which were also clean and nice, but lacked the beach view. I’d highly recommend the Toucan Lulu properties.

Malcolm, the property manager, was extremely friendly and helpful, and made us feel right at home. He knew all the good spots, things to do, and when to do them. I'd highly recommend picking his brain when you visit. Buy him a Belikin Beer or two, and he'll hook you up...

Placencia is an awesome place to chill and relax in. Don't expect anything crazy - just extremely friendly locals, some karaoke, tasty Rum Punch, fresh bananas and pineapple. Three things will sting/burn you in Placencia - the jellyfish, the sun, and the Argentinian girls. Mui Caliente...

  • Liked — Right on the beach - doesn't get any better than waking up to the sound of the ocean and the ocean breeze.
  • Disliked — Pillows were a little lumpy.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RongoBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2008

There were 6 of us (5 adults, 1 child) that stayed in Units 4 & 5 for 6 nights. The accomodations were very clean, affordable,breezy and very comfortable. Malcolm Sobers, Managing Director, was like a good friend you've known all your life. First thing he arranged was to have a couple of cases of beverages delivered right to our door. A very good start to your dream vacation. Very friendly, helpful and a wealth of information. He could set up tours, give you the inside information on the town of Placentia and even arrange air travel if you needed it. We are grateful to him and his family.

The town is very friendly and has everything you need. Don't expect an all-inclusive 5* resort...this place allows you to pick and choose what you want to do, eat when you want to (lot's of food choices from Chinese, sea-food, Belizian cuisine to hamburgers and fries) and the freedom to enjoy the full length of the beautiful white sand beach and warm turquoise waters of Placentia without worry.

I would recommend the accomodations at Toucan Lulu to anyone..from only a couple to large family gatherings.

  • Liked — price, cleanliness, friendlyness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sccoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We just returned from Placencia Village and found it to be just a fantastic experience. Placencia is beautiful and Malcolm at Toucan LuLu's made everything easy. We wanted to get away - we were not wanting an Americanized luxury place (we can get that in the US). Rather we found a simple cabana with everything we needed as well as a host who helped us with anything we wanted - whether local information, tours, or just to chat. The tours that he set up - as well as the locals that he chose for the tour - were just wonderful. We walked everywhere - met many locals, walked along the sidewalk as the children came to and from school. We are going back next year!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank marcianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2008

We had great time at Toucan Lulu, in the tropical paradise of Placencia.

LOCATION
The section of beach at Toucan Lulu is among the best on the peninsula. It is quiet, clean, beautiful. And a number of restaurants are just a 5-10 min walk down the "sidewalk". There are also a couple markets within walking distance. The neighborhood is a pleasant and mellow mix of vacation rentals and locals' homes. The whole peninsula feels safe and we found it be child friendly (ages 4,7).

ACCOMODATIONS
We stayed at Toucan Six which they had actually just finished building 4 days before our arrival! The house is on stilts and the views from the two decks (one west, one east) are great. The house was comfotable with some very nice touches and we took advantage of the full kitchen. This unit is not right on the beach like some of the Toucans but the walk is very short.

SERVICE
Malcolm, the manager, was very helpful throughout our stay. He can arrange all sorts of excursions. In general, service in Placencia from the dive shop to the restaurants is excellent but perhaps slower than many Americans are used to. We adjusted our expectations and enjoyed the "island" vibe.

It's been a month and we're all still daydreaming about going back..

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haveluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We spent two glorious weeks at the Lulu. We rented out two of the cabanas (they call it that but they really are nice beach flats almost adjoined) each with 2 bedrooms, kitchenette with everything, hot water and AC.

Place is clean, private and affordable. We had 6 persons in each flat at the same rate as if it were only two of us unbelieveable.

We got the host to arrange a tour package for our entire family and the prices we got were excellent we actually got 20-30% off our accommodation rates by taking a package and I love saving money (we checked around for prices). We went snorkeling, monkey river, Cave tubing/Zip lining & Tikal) Lots of fun and all our needs were provided.

View from the verandah in your hammock is gorgeous with beautiful aquamarine water next to golden sand, with coconut trees rocking in the background. We just drank our beliken and watch the sunset.

The village is perfect for families and they are located just out of the busy spot. Oh darn I want to go back.

Toucan Lulu I will be there again...soon...

  • Liked — The view and vacation package
  • Disliked — No pool & restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryandRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
0.0 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toucan Lulu Beach Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan Lulu Beach Units

Property: Toucan Lulu Beach Units
Address: # 2 Harbor Place | Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toucan Lulu Beach Units is the perfect family or quiet vacation location in Placencia, Belize. With 6 units that are all self catering, Pristine beach front location just in the quiet side of the Placenica village but a mere few minutes walk from the local fare. Five 2 bedroom units and 1 studio apartment makes this the ideal accommodation. If you are looking for clean, comfortable and enjoyable accommodations then Toucan Lulu should be your first and only choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toucan Lulu Beach Units Hotel Placencia
Toucan Lulu Beach Units Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing