We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Battle Ground, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to Stay!”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and stayed at Captain Jak's in Feb 2011. We loved it! The location is perfect and Lucky/Erin are friendly and fun hosts. Captain Jak's location is a 3 minute walk to the beach and right on the lagoon. The grounds at Captain Jaks have very pretty gardens with cool talking parrots. Also, there are restaurants, grocery stores, local shops, etc within walking distance. A car is NOT needed if you are staying here. Lucky/Erin have bikes that you can rent along with kayaks. They are also able to arrange your tour on Monkey River. Make sure you ask for Percy as your guide. We recommend Omar's for dinner and a nightly visit to the gelato stand.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGWATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
66
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Captain Jaks for 12 days and loved every minute of it. Lucky and Erin are very accommodating and very pleasant folks. The cabanas were very comfortable and sit right next to the lagoon. 3 minute walk to the beach and a market right across the street. Oh! and did I mention they rent golf carts and bikes to get around town!? cant beat that! Oh! and they let you know whats going around town throughout the week (just because)!! A++++will return soon!

Jesse and Liz

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgar0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Although I didn't stay with Erin and Lucky at Captain Jak's, I was impressed by their services and knowledge of Placencia. Erin was quick to make friends with my girlfriend and me and give us a run down of things to do while in Placencia. Their services and dock access are outstanding. I walked through a few of their cabanas and they look wonderful. Everything in town is easily within walking distance, but they have golf carts and bicycles if you prefer quicker modes of travel. When I go back to Placencia I'll definitely stay with them. I've already enthusiastically recommended Captain Jak's to many of my co-workers.
Go see Erin and Lucky and ask about Percy and his Monkey River tours. They also have some of the best landscaping in Placencia. It certainly makes a great impression.

Room Tip: Two story cabana near water has best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmwinston38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Sharing with hundreds of local folks over Easter was hilarious and something everyone should share. Captain Jak's is in the north end of the tiny town on a mile-long strip with lagoon and ocean access. Wonderful hostess Erin and staff Jason. I didn't get to meet Lucky. Friendly visitors and local people all around. Recommended fishing, snorkeling, and nature exploration guides were top notch. The cabana was comfortable with a super shower, fully equipped kitchen, and an ipod docking station /clock that kept the time with power failure. Explore in their plush golf carts and shiny bikes. If you want peace and quiet mixed with socializing and water-related activities, this is the spot! Very safe for a female solo traveler. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelawareSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Once again, I have to speak up and rave about my 4 day visit with Erin and Lucky at Captain Jacks. While this is not my first stay here (each one wonderful), I cannot help but notice all of the little upgrades that are consistently done to keep this little and have to applaud them wholeheartedly. It is very apparent from the moment you meet this wonderful couple, that they have a love and a passion for their facility. Always smiling and going out of their way to make my stay a perfect experience, I truly and highly recommend Captain Jacks for your next vacation dwelling. Close to all ammenities, safe, spotless clean, with lovely landscaped grounds and accomodations, no doubt you will understand why this little gem truly deserves a high standard of recognition. GREAT JOB, Erin and Lucky... can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blondieinbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We have been to Captain Jak's all of 3 times. The first year we went, we were very impressed by the property - it was so nice and clean, not to mention the friendly and accomodating owners Lucky and Erin. Our Cabin was perfect from the moment we arrived. Comfortable and spacious with a spectacular view of the grounds and the lagoon.

Captain Jak's is in a perfect location. On the main road close enough to all shopping, restaurants and bars but just far enough if you need time to get some rest and sleep peacefully. When its too windy for the beach, the lagoon front at Captain Jak's will do the trick. You can still have that beach feeling without being on the beach.

We are looking forward to our 2012 trip again next February. We love Captain Jak's and all it offers. Thank you Lucky and Erin.

Room Tip: You MUST check it out.....
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BradysLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent 10 days at Captain Jak's in celebration of our 30th year anniversary, and it was absolutely wonderful. Erin and Lucky were great hosts and helped us plan several adventures. Not only do they have the contacts, but they are so gracious to assist in the planning, and they know who to contact for particular types of outings. We stayed in the main house at Captain Jak's, and every morning we had a spectacular view of the ocean and all of Placencia from the second floor screened-in porch overlooking the property. We went on a tour of Monkey River as well as sailing, snorkeling, fishing,and biking [rented those from Captain Jak's too]. The property is overflowing with lucious, vibrant color in all of the gardens, and the sand couldn't be any whiter at the beach. We are looking forward to staying at Captain Jak's again on our return visit. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungatHeart48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
6.2 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jak's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jak's Cabanas

Property: Captain Jak's Cabanas
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from one of the tropical garden private cabanas, two-story cottages, and/or private villa. Captain Jak’s offers accommodations for the back packing adventurer, couples, families, and/or small and large groups. Captain Jak’s is a hidden oasis, while still being located only steps away from the village and the Caribbean sea. Captain Jak's has its own private marina which allows you to leave from your door step for diving, sailing, fishing, Caye hopping, kayaking, or snorkeling. Zip lining, Mayan Ruins and cave tubing aren’t far away either. The owners of villa resort live on the property and they are some of the best hosts you will find in Belize. Make sure to ask them about their sailing trips. There is nothing like sailing with Lucky and Erin on the warm Caribbean Sea, anchoring at sunset and BBQing the fresh catch of the day while drinking their famous rum punch.You must experience Captain Jak’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Captain Jak's Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jak`s Cabanas Hotel Placencia
Captain Jaks Cabanas Placencia
Captain Jak's Cabanas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing