We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaze Balls!”
Review of Miramar Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miramar Apartments
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amaze Balls!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A huge group of us stayed here for a wedding two weeks ago. Everything was perfect. If there was a problem it was fixed. Bula helped us keep our huge 3 bedroom "party" suite clean ad ever and our beach front view was amazing. Convienant location to everything especially to get shrimp at "Espadas Yard" ! Stay here especially if you have a good large group.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reannethecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsa74, Manager at Miramar Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you!!.....Amaze Balls :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose Miramar Apartments to accommodate our wedding party for 1 week, and we had our ceremony on the beach. Miramar was the perfect location with the perfect people running it. Rooms were very flarge and clean, adorably decorated, and had well stocked kitchens with all the utensils and dishes you could want. Good water pressure, air conditioning worked perfectly, and the private ocean-front beach is beautiful and well groomed! Raked and cleaned daily, we had some great times on this beach - lots of beach chairs and a large palapa to sit underneath if you wanted to escape the sun.

The staff are exceptionally kind and friendly, they went above and beyond for us. Ilsa has been helpful and sweet since day 1 when we started planning our stay and continued to be wonderfully helpful during our time there. Bula took exceptional care of our rooms, and Oscar was fantastic - especially on the wedding day when he took great care to ensure the beach was absolutely perfect.

A great location, Miramar is within walking distance of all town's highlights and is surprisingly quiet and peaceful at night despite being so close to town. Beautiful balconies and hammocks provided the perfect atmosphere for fun nights with friends, we wouldn't change a thing about this place. Really appreciated the cleanliness and security. Combined with great value for price and a solid wifi connection, this has become an instant favorite and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christie-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsa74, Manager at Miramar Apartments, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hi Christine,
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have your family and friends stay with us.
Ilsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just returned home last night from Placenica. We stayed at Miramar apartments and had a studio apartment on the beach. We arrived rather late, but Ilsa was there to greet us and so was Oscar, the on site security manager, he lives on the property.

Ilsa made sure we were settled in before going home; we didn't arrive until after 7pm. Oscar helped to find us a place to grab a light bite to eat after a long day of travel, and we wanted conch, he called a few places and gave us some bikes that they have on property and sent us off to "Grill 'n Go".

The staff at Miramar aim to please and they are so very wonderful to deal with. Our studio was clean and had a very well stocked kitchen, and the there were plenty of bath towels and shampoo/conditioner, soaps and beach towels. They also provide a hair dryer and and an ironing board/iron. There is a beach restaurant about 30 yards from Miramar, very convenient and very good for breakfast. They also serve lunch and dinner, but we didn't make it over there for anything except breakfast. We came in on a Wednesday and they aren't open on Wednesday's at all.

There is a market at the top of the street that probably has everything you might need or want. I really enjoyed our stay here. I only wish I could have spent a bit more time on the property! We went diving every day and we were absent all day most of the week. Oscar informed us to not leave anything on our patio, as anyone walking along the beach could easily come by and steal things. He walks the property frequently and is diligent about shooing off the hawkers and interlopers. We had no problems with anything that we left out to dry, even when left out overnight.

Great place, not fancy, but very relaxing and welcoming. If I return to Placencia, Miramar will be my first choice for accomodations.

Room Tip: studios are on the beach, the one room apts are beyond the sidewalk and not directly beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsa74, Manager at Miramar Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Annie,
Thank you and we are very hopeful to have you back with us.
Ilsa, Bula and Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a terrific place to stay. It has great views, its close to town, and it has air conditioning. We fished and dove and enjoyed both. Our diving experience was with Avalon divers. We had hoped to see some whale sharks but none showed even though we were there just after full moon in April. We did have some excellent dives on the barrier reef and a trip out to Glover's Reef. We also fished with a great guide, Ivan Leslie. He was willing to take us fishing for anything plus he gave a bonefish lesson on a fly. We caught fish to eat and released the rest. Species caught were, snapper, bonefish, grouper, African Pompano, king mackerel, Spanish mackerel, barracuda, bonito, tuna, and jack. A great person to spend a day with and find out about local culture and get great advice for cooking your catch. Miramar can put you in contact with Ivan Leslie or make your arrangements in advance for you.

Room Tip: The three bedroom suite is spacious and has a wonderful view from the deck facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shad-o-hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsa74, Manager at Miramar Apartments, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you! It's a pleasure to read such good reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrain, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room was spacious and had a well stocked kitchen and we could walk right to the beach to swim or into the picturesque town to eat or have a snack. Quiet even though you are close to town and beach and there is air conditioning if you need it.

Room Tip: There are variations in room sizes and ammenities and it is quieter on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We moved from the Manitees Inn..Elsa and staff were very accommodating. Beautiful setting....Very clean and well stocked apartment. Only thing I would change......I wish I had found Miramar apartments at the beginning of my vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dJoyg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsa74, Manager at Miramar Apartments, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I love the title....Its all about what myself, Bula and Oscar wishes to offer all our guest. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed in the upstairs one bedroom apartment for a week and loved it. They have two buildings, one on the beach and ours was on the skinny sidewalk just off the beach.
Ilsa is a sweetheart! She will take good care of you and answer all your questions. A warm and friendly staff that keeps the place very clean and tidy. We had a huge veranda overlooking the sidewalk and another off the kitchen to catch the sunsets. Big full kitchen, big full bath (no tub), TVs in both rooms that worked. Lots of space, secure and private. We originally booked a place on the beach that was very disappointing and we felt fortunate to luck into Miramar.
Next time we'd book a studio to save some money. Belize airline pilots stay here regularly.
The peace sign below the roof fits.

Room Tip: Give negotiating the room rate a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
6.2 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Apartments

Property: Miramar Apartments
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Placencia
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean Holiday Home. Miramar Apartments is a new colonial-style luxury resort consisting of 7 Suites in Placencia Village, Belize. Nestled on the finest white sandy beaches of Placencia where most people go "bare foot perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Miramar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Apartments Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing