We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect expereince we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tradewinds Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tradewinds Hotel
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect expereince we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

bet trip ever! Me and the lady were looking for a week on the beach with no 'resort', no all-inclusive, no tourists, etc.

This was a nice little cabin but not luxurious. When we wanted to eat we would wander into town (2-min) and eat the local cuisine (awesome and cheap).

During the day we scuba dived and did jungle tours.

By the end of the week we knew everyone in town and didn't want to leave.

A great experience - GET THERE BEFORE THE CASINOS AND TOURISTS GO!

PS - when you arrive the "taxi" they arranged wont be a the airport but there will be 3-4 drivers offering to take you into down. Instinct says not to get into an unknown car in central America but after a week you learn it is VERY safe and friendly.

  • Liked — The people you meet
  • Disliked — The coffee
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bedford, tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

We only stayed at this hotel a few hours before deciding to move on to somewhere else. We had made reservations in February for two nights in May for our 20th anniversary and had requested one of the beachfront cabins. We were given our choice of two well-worn cabins--neither of which were on the beach.

Shortly after we moved in to the cabin, things went completely sour. One of the other cabins was robbed. (The people were passed out in their room with the front door wide open.) When we went down to the beach we were surprised to find a nude couple--who later were going door to door trying to find someone willing to join them in "adult" behaviors, and then proceeded to engage in such activities, making sure everyone could hear.

We went to express our concerns to the owner who said, "Oh, those are the same people that my daughter saw having sex on the beach yesterday." She seemed rather indifferent to the whole situation, so we decided to change hotels. The owner promised that she would refund our money, but has yet to do so after several communications with her.

We moved to the Maya Beach Hotel--for the same price, we got an air-conditioned room with a private beach, charming owners, a great restaurant and peace of mind!

  • Liked — In town location
  • Disliked — Lack of safety; lack of concern by owner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

The tradewinds has a great location on the south end of Placencia. The cabanas themselves are adorable and right on the beach. The view was gorgeous and the management was friendly. We were a little less than impressed with the interior of the cabana. It was clean and basic, but a little stuffy. We didn't quite feel comfortable there. We felt like what we were getting for the price was a better value in other hotels we had stayed in across Belize.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — The quality of the room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Caligal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

The Tradewinds hotel is 6 isolated cabanas at the southern-most end of Placencia. If you want to stay in the village (which we highly recommend) this is one of the best locations. Tradewinds has the biggest beach and is in a great location for walking to the rest of the village. Our cabana had two queen beds, a nice patio with hammock and two chairs, a fridge + coffee maker and a decent bathroom. You are RIGHT on the beach and the ocean is steps from the front door.

If you're reading this, get to Placencia as quickly as you can. There is an incredible amount of construction happening and the area is changing quickly. (It was devastated by the hurricane in 2001 so the construction is also rebuilding what was already there.) We had a great snorkel trip to Laughing Bird Caye and a tasty dinner at Wendy's on the main street.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

Obviously, location is what the Tradewinds has going for it. We were in the Mermaid cabana, about 20 ft from the ocean (if that). The location is remote by Placencia Village standards, but is an easy stroll into town (you could easily walk to the other end of town in 10 minutes). The view is spectacular, really feels like paradise. You have your own hammock & 2 chairs on your porch.

I never thought this would bother me, but when it was windy, it was really loud. Between the surf right outside your window, plus the palm fronds whipping around, it can be hard to sleep at night. Also, you're just a few feet from your neighbors, and you can hear everything that goes on in each other's cabanas. And I mean everything, so honeymooners, listen up.

The cabana was simple and clean, with 2 fairly comfortable beds. There's no dresser, or any sort of drawers, so you really need to use the 2nd bed as a place to put your suitcase. A refrigerator, coffee maker & (bad) coffee is provided, along with cups & utensils. There's not A/C, but between the breeze/wind & the ceiling fan, you won't need it.

The bathrooms are small, but clean. The water pressure/ temperature is touch-and-go. Sometimes it was warm and strong, other times it was a lukewarm dribble. It might depend on how many other guests on the property are showering at the same time.

Thefts are common at the Tradewinds, especially from the cabanas right on the beach, so it's best to keep your valuables tucked away.

Janice, the owner, is laid back and can be helpful. She's practically royalty in Placencia, and knows everyone & everything. Unfortunately, our experience of her is that she was a bit condescending. For instance, I told her I had been very sick, and she laughed and said it was all in my head (it turned out I had Dengue Fever, not so funny. Trust me).

But generally, I think this is probably one of the better low-cost locations in Placencia Village.

  • Liked — Location, view
  • Disliked — Small bathroom, inconsistent water pressure/temperature
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizPdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2007

Loved the Tradewinds! Stayed in one of the bigger cabana's set back from the beach. We moved there after our first night in one of the smaller ones on the beach. The second cabana was fine for a family of 4. Although it was set back we had a direct veiw and VERY short walk to the beautiful beach.
Janice was very laid back and helpful.
Walked to town everyday, sometimes many times a day.
Great spot for older children who are independent and want to explore on their own.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bigger cabana could use a fan over both beds
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltlakerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2007

Located right at the end of the penninsula and on the doorstep of the ocean. Almost fall out of bed into the water. Great spot. Very peaceful and yet only two mintues walk to everything Placecia Village has to offer. Our cabana had 2 beds so four could stay or a family but no closet or drawer space so we used second bed as our dresser . Friends had cabana right next to us. Each had coffee maker and small fridge. Located great bakery and lots of fresh fruit available so we had breakfast and lunch fixings in fridge and ate dinner out . Janice Leslie the owner of TW was a fountain of info and always willing to help. We took the bus from Belmopan to Placencia $16 total. Would not reccommend it as it was an awful road. Better to take the Punta Gorda bus, get off at Independence and catch the water taxi across to Placencia. We flew back from Placencia to Caye CAulker -- great flight and there are lots of them you hardly need to book, just show up and you could almost always get on the next one it seemed.
Loved Placencia.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank flyinduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.1 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Hotel
Address: Placencia Bay, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing