We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want luxury, service, beauty and relaxation Chabil Mar is the place to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“If you want luxury, service, beauty and relaxation Chabil Mar is the place to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

This was our first (I hope) annual Mother-Daughter holiday and it was fantastic, the food, service, staff, rooms, location, relaxation and tour availability made the trip perfect, with wonderful memories ... we would love to come again! ~Melinda (South Australia) & Sue (Bend, Oregon USA)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    63
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
199
378
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

Chabil Mar was a very pleasant surprise ..... exceeding our expectations in many ways. Like it's name says, it is very beautiful and quiet. Accommodations are top notch as are the staff. We wondered about not having a restaurant but after experiencing Chabil Cafe, we are left wondering why we would ever need a restaurant. This is because the Cafe has a full menu for b'fst, lunch or dinner and it is served wherever you wish it - on your deck, at the pool, on the pier, at the beach - you name it. It was wonderful.
Often as we travel we wonder about investing in a condo resort property. This establishment is at the top of our list should we decide to reduce our exploring and visit regularly to one place. My wife absolutely loved our time at Chabil Mar and the Placencia peninsula!!! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-B-CANTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a TRUE VACATION at the Chabil Mar. DO NOT go there unless you want to truly relax and take a break from the world! The staff is outstanding and they will do everything to make your wishes a reality. From diving, to snorkeling, to fishing, to tours, to sailing, Chabil Mar's Staff will accommodate almost any request that you have.

The property is gorgeous and the Villas have all the modern amenities and conveniences. You never have to leave Chabil Mar to enjoy the relaxation and solitude of Belize. From the immaculate pools to the colorful gardens, it really is a respite from the everyday world.

We like to explore, so we used the bicycles that Chabil Mar provides and rode everywhere. We spent many hours in Placencia Village experiencing the locals and everything they have to offer. While the Chef at Chabil Mar prepared excellent meals for us, we also found that the dining in Placencia Village was outstanding as well. From Dolce Vita, to Rumfish, to the Barefoot Bar, (the grilled shrimp quesadilla was our favorite snack), to Brenda at the end of the main street, the food was phenomenal.

Everything is so fresh! The Seafood, Fruits, Vegetables & the Rum, are exceptionally fresh and full of flavor. We bought a lot of fruit from one of the vendors who happened to be in the Village that day and thoroughly enjoyed mangos, papayas, oranges and a new one for us; Sapadillys (sp?). It was like eating sugar cane shaped like a peach. Awesome!

Placencia Village is a throw back to simpler times. This is an undiscovered gem to many, including us, (until now). It is very rough around the edges, but the people are friendly and the experiences we had were very memorable. From the surprise of the excellent dining that I mentioned to having libations at several venues including Tipsy Tuna and Yoli's.

Chabil Mar's Staff can set you up with Splash Dive Center, Percy's Monkey River Tour, (Only go with Percy - he's the BEST), Sailing with Rob & Cathy, Fishing, Mayan Tours, it's almost endless. If you get tired of riding or walking, you can rent Chabil Mar's golf carts as well.

"The Ferminator" is the resident Mixologist at Chabil Mar. Follow his recommendations for his daily special drink or whatever he comes up with for you. This is NOT fastfood bartending. The freshest ingredients and preparation are worth the short wait. I have never had cocktails this good in all my travels. You must try Fermin’s Ginger Mojito! Excellent!

I cannot say enough about the Chabil Mar and it’s staff. Our last day there, we visited with two local Lobster Fisherman walking down the beach to go catch lobster. On their way back, John showed us his catch. Four Spiny Lobsters that were as fresh as it gets and large. At our request, John offered to sell us three of them, (he needed one for his lunch), and Dany immediately took them to the Chabil Mar kitchen for safekeeping until we decided that it was time for our last meal at Chabil Mar. The Chef prepared them to our request of grilled and they were done to perfection.

Althea, Patti, Fermin, Dany, Albert, Amin and all the others at Chabil Mar make a return visit an absolute MUST for us. I cannot say that I have ever enjoyed a vacation more than this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Chabil Mar is a truly special place. The villas are beauitful - spacious and comfortable (with air conditioning!!) with lovely outdoor space. 2 infinity pools plus a great outdoor bar run by Fermind - the best bartender ever. The staff of Chabil Mar from Danny to Althea to Natalie (apologies if I missed anyone) all go above and beyond to ensure a great stay. Placencia is an idyllic beachside village and we loved that we could hop on a bike or golf cart to get around. And it's very true in that even when all of the villas are occupied, you still feel like you have the place to yourself. I would also like to note that we had to push our stay at Chabil Mar back by 5 days due to the x-mas blizzard in the Northeast and they were completely understanding and accomodating. Chabil Mar is absolutely wonderful!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Outstanding service, accomodations, food and location. It is more of a toes in the sand drink in your hand type of place. Perfect for relaxing and taking things easy. Don't expect a big nightlife or party scene. Its not here although there are couple of places in town where you can find a good rowdy crowd if you're up for it.

We stayed 5 days/4 nights and would have stayed longer if not for having booked a second leg of our trip elsewhere.

We're already planning our return next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yt1300f150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Chabil Mar Villas in Placencia, Belize and have to say it was truly amazing. We stayed in a one bedroom partial sea view and it was beautiful. The villa itself was fabulous. It was truly more than I imagined it would be- large living area, modern appliances etc. Having a washer and dryer was an additional bonus. The staff were exteremely attentive and so very kind and helpful. The food amazing! I would recommend this place to stay to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We loved our stay at Chabil Mar. The suites are fantastic, spacious, luxurious beds, full kitchen, wonderful views from private large decks. The food and drinks are equally great, served anywhere you like - your deck, the pool, or the lapa on the pier. Staff are phenomenal and take excellent care of you. We celebrated my husband's birthday there, and they surprised us with a birthday cake after our romantic dinner on the pier.

The excursions planned for us by the staff were WONDERFUL! The Monkey River trip with Percy Gordon, "King of the Howlers", is a must. We saw lots of birds including a toucan, iguanas, crocodiles, manatees, howler monkeys and thoroughly enjoyed our day with Percy, who grew up in Monkey River Town and knows the river and jungle as only a native could. Our other excursion was a trip to Red Bank village with Basilio Mes to see Scarlet Macaws. We saw lots of Macaws and appreciated Basilio's knowledge of all the many birds we saw. He grew up in Red Bank and knows how and where to find the Macaws. If you do this trip, we would recommend that you make it a full day. Bird watching is great and the Swazey River was beautiful & looked like an inviting place to poke around.

The beach at Chabil Mar is beautiful, and there is plenty of beach for long walks. The village of Placencia is a short bike ride or golf cart ride away and has some fun bars, restaurants, and a good grocery store (Walden's). Our favorite was Wendy's for breakfast and the Barefoot Bar for a margarita and an afternoon snack.

We highly recommend Chabil Mar and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1andD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing