We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

I have just returned from one of the most amazing weeks of my life! My daugher wanted a destination wedding and chose Chabil Mar Villas as the site after much research. All of my worries and concerns just disappeared with each and every day there. We were greeted at the airport and transported to the property. All of the necessary paperwork for the wedding certification was available the moment my daugher and fiance stepped off the plane. The arrangement of the villas allowed the guests to be part of all of the activities, but separate enough to have some privacy during the week. Two beautiful pools provided plenty of space for our party as well as other guests on the site. Robert, the property manager, and the entire staff catered to our every need with smiles and shared excitement! They took care of scheduling guided activities and expeditions. They made recommendations about places to visit in the village. Robert even took my daughter and fiance into the village to preview some of the places to visit. Daily we were able to order delicious and reasonably-priced food and beverages and have them delivered promptly to our rooms, the porches, the beach or wherever we requested. On the morning of the wedding, staff members scurried about to prepare the pier location of the wedding by decorating it with gorgeous flowers and lush greenery from the site. Fully participating in the effort was Diane, the property developer! The veranda where the reception was held was also beautifully decorated. The veranda was arranged in such a way as to give the feel of complete privacy for our special event. The reception meal was amazing! Most of the items such as the seafood, vegetables, and fruits were from Placencia, served fresh and presented artistically. During our stay my daughter and guests could avail themselves of on-site manicures, facials, massages, etc. At no time did I have any concerns about the safety or security of anyone/anything. Before we arrived, I was mentally prepared that some details of a destination wedding would have to be overlooked or short-changed, but I can truly say they thought of everything - and more! My only negative emotion from the entire experience is the mother-of-the-bride guilt because Chabil Mar made the wedding experience so very easy for me and for everyone. Basically, all that we did was show up and enjoy ourselves for days! I highly recommend Chabil Mar as the site for a wedding or for a visit to Belize. They will make your stay an amazing one from start to finish!

  • Liked — The excellent service!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LJBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    63
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
199
378
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for my sister's wedding party. There is nothing bad to say about this place, the grounds are awesome, and the people working there take care of every fine detail. I have never been in a more fancy villa or hotel room for that matter. I had a canopy king-sized bed, everything was amazing. The staff keeps you abreast of different activities and options for the day such as snorkeling, diving, monkey tours, etc. The staff is extremely friendly as well, I was ill one night and the front desk called a doctor who made a "house visit" at 9:00 PM, and then the hotel payed the doctor bill!! What hotel would do that? Once again I recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LBrownHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

This was our first trip to Belize. I searched the internet for a place that would accomodate 5 people and Chabil Mar popped up. The price was a little more than we had anticipated, but we booked it anyway, and boy were we very happy. The grounds were well kept and the people very friendly. What made our day was after getting off the tiny plane at a very small airport in Placencia, we were picked up by a taxi (paid for by the hotel), and greeted at the front door by the most friendly staff. They offered us a complimentary drink and then showed us around the grounds and to our villa where our bags were waiting. Our master bedroom was very spacious and the bed extremly comfortable. The second bedroom was small, but very nice. There was a loft to accomodate my other two adult children and they loved climbing the rustic ladder to get to their beds. All in all, a very, very lovely experience and we would return most definitely..

  • Liked — Lots of room and very clean and air conditioned.
  • Disliked — No restraunt on site.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nea55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

The two of us stayed during the first week of April (2007) at Chabil Mar. It was a mostly positive experience, the main drag being the so-so weather and choppy sea conditions that kept the dive/snorkeling boats in harbor. This, of course, is no fault of the resort. We stayed four nights, and the weather cleared up enough to book a whale shark trip through the resort on the third day (snorklers didn’t see whale sharks but I caught a glimpse as a diver). Placencia doesn’t have great beaches, and this includes the ones around the resort—for beach snorkeling and swimming, the Cayes are a better choice.

When the weather/sea conditions are poor, there is not much to do at this expensive but amenity-light hotel, or in Placencia, a nice Caribbean town to hang out and walk around for a day, or two at the most. We didn't explore the nature areas in the district because we didn't want to endure the rough drive in and out of Placencia---we had already driven our 4wd rental through many backroads in the Cayo District and had had enough of bumpy dirt roads.

There is no restaurant at the resort, but there was friendly room service, just like all service by staff was good, pleasant, and friendly. Food is okay but forgettable....but it was actually better than the two dinners we had at Turtle Inn, down the street. That resort had a better ‘wow’ ambience, hotel lobby and restaurant, but we were glad to have chosen Chabil Mar’s modern rooms, especially because of the weather.

Our superior oceanfront suite (two bedrooms/two baths, loft, washer and drier, full kitchen, cable, air conditioning) was nice, new, and airy. Very big for just the two of us. They are like time-share condos you see around the Caribbean built for families with children, which seemed to be the main type of guest at the hotel. I wouldn’t recommend the place for honeymooners for this reason…main balcony is shared and open, private balcony is not that private…there were always kids around, in the pool, on the small beach…which is fine, unless you’re looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Travel_Opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

Most beautiful spot in Placencia! Staff went out of their way to be accommodating. Full service resort. Peaceful. Walking distance to everything you would ever need, but you can take the golf cart. It's more fun!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2007

My husband and I just spent two weeks at Chabil Mar Villas. The Unit we stayed in had a fantasic view of the ocean, the food was excellent
and quite reasonable, and the staff was friendly and efficient.

The consierge arranged tours to the monkey river, snorkeling, and the
Mayan ruins. They were all fantastic!

Dining under the hut on the pier was quite different, and the fresh water pools were large and not ever crowded.

We had the vacation of a lifetime, and will be back.

  • Liked — Everything newe and beautiful
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Snorkeler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2007

Chabil Mar is terrific! The accomodations are first class, the staff is friendly, and the food is terrific. We would highly recommend Chabil Mar to our friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, professional staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IguanaCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing