We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serenade Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belize Ocean Club(Placencia)
$262
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$90
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$119
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Placencia Villas(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveler rating
786
75
15
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
75
15
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchengolf cartwasher and dryerour honeymoonmonkey river toursplash dive centershuttle servicetwo bedroom villaplacencia villagefree bikesthe entire staffhowler monkeysbarefoot bardestination weddingresort is beautifulclose to townfish
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 877 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was our 6th trip to Belize, but our first trip Placencia. We picked Chabil Mar after reading reviews and talking to folks. Both Placencia and this place are truly wonderful. Placencia is like Ambergris Caye used to be--laid back, uncrowded, cool local places to eat, and things to do if you want and a perfect beach if you want to just hang out. We could walk from Chabil Mar to the village/town along the beach in 15-20 minutes and watch the water and feel the wind. Chabil Mar itself is charming. The rooms are beautifully appointed and air-conditioned. The grounds are not as expansive as some, but lovely. One of my favorite things was there was no real "dining room," but you could order food and have it delivered any place on the grounds. You only eat there if you stay there. The people there are the best and a true highlight of the place. It is truly a people-driven place. Darren, the bartender we saw daily for afternoon drinks, made us happy,happy. Lacho (spelling is a guess here) rescued me when I discovered I had forgotten toothbrushes. Jason (guest services) was also fun to be around. A wonderful place. I would come back again without thinking twice.

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can do it:)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkstarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chabil Mar the second week of April and had the most wonderful stay. After staying on Ambergris, we welcomed the laid-back and peaceful atmosphere of Chabil Mar. The most impressionable traits of Chabil Mar are the staff. ALL were so pleasant and friendly, so accommodating. Jason, Bernard, Deshaun, Darren, just to name a few, are just some reasons that everyone should stay here!! Having a team like this certainly makes a difference when traveling somewhere you've never been. They all made our trip that much more perfect. The grounds are simply beautiful, very tropical and well maintained. We loved the town of Placencia, some great restaurants to visit (Rumfish, Wendy's, The Secret Garden, Tipsy Tuna), and just a short stroll on the beach into town from CM. Or take the bikes for a nice ride into town, however be careful at night as we almost got runover by a crazy driver! The dock is perfect to relax and soak up the sun, you might even need to sip on a ginger mojito to keep you cool :)

If you want to go on any excursions, Jason is the best source and he will arrange anything for you! He is very knowledgeable and connected with the community so he's got the inside scoop.

When researching hotels for our trip, I relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews of Chabil Mar and only read great things. Our experience blew our expectations out of the water! One minor detail to be aware of is it is super kid friendly, so just be mindful of the rooms right next to the pools if that's not the kind of trip you are on.

Can't wait to come back to Chabil Mar!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahML1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Chabil Mar is heaven on earth! Everyone - and I mean everyone - on the staff are friendly and will do almost anything to make your stay enjoyable....the villas are spectacular, the landscaping is gorgeous, and the views from the balcony hammocks are to die for! The food is terrific - and is served (fast) anywhere you would like to dine. The beach is beautiful...the dock is great for a romantic dinner....the dive center is right across the street....the village is only a couple of minutes away by golf cart....anything your heart desires! Our two weeks there were by far the most serene vacation we've had....just laying in the hammock in the evenings listening to the waves was enough to lull me to sleep every night....I will recommend Chabil Mar to anyone who will listen....:)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have spectacular views
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you like being treated like cattle waiting in a sea of people to do the simplest things, you won't like this place. The staff at Chabil Mar is ready to meet any reasonable request with a smile and positive response. This peninsula truly is quite a playground with no crowds. You can eat when you want and always get a seat at any of the beach bars. Chabil Mar is a private resort where you are never bothered by the public or the other guests. So pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnyvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The "villas" are great two bedroom apartments with lot's of space and a nice balcony/terrace. Obviously, the ones overlooking the beach are the best. You can cook your own dinner - although the restaurant is excellent and the food in the village is delcious, too, or just prepare your own breakfast on your terrace, however, most guest just enjoy the perfect F&B service. They serve you anyway on the property. The dinner on the pier is superb - perfect for a romantic dinner or just a special night.
The service is top notch! They go beyond the obvious and expected to make their guests happy.
The entire family (we have two kids, 15 and 10) loved the place.
The hotel also books greak trips which we enjoyed. The Snorkeling/Diving at Sillky Cay is a must if you love the underwater world! Monkey River and Zip-lining were fun, too.
If you love ice cream, you have to go to Tutti Frutti in the village. It's the best Ice Cream - hand made and every day fresh - outside Italy! We were addicted and went every day :). The Rumfish restaurant right above Tutti Frutti was our favorite restaurant. The hotel has a driving service that brings you right into the village and picks you up. They also organize the propeller plan transfer to and from Belize airport as well as the pick-up at the Placencia airport.
While this place is magic and almost perfect, we would have loved to be able to get a good expresso and latte/cappucino which unfortunately, the Chabil Mar doesn't provide. Also, we would have loved to have more watersports possibilities, e.g. a Hoby Cat and Surf Boards. This is a perfect place for sailing and surfing, too.
But all in all, we loved, loved, loved this Chabil Mar! Highly recommend it if you like it upscale and a little quite, however, do not mind kids playing in the pool and on the beach. For us it was just PERFECT!
Last, but not least, let us praise Natalie and Jason who were simply outstanding!

Room Tip: If you are a couple or don't mind kids sleeping in the living room on a sofa bed, go for room 6! It's the best view by far in the entire resort!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews