We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene Location with Best Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Serene Location with Best Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chabil Mar the second week of April and had the most wonderful stay. After staying on Ambergris, we welcomed the laid-back and peaceful atmosphere of Chabil Mar. The most impressionable traits of Chabil Mar are the staff. ALL were so pleasant and friendly, so accommodating. Jason, Bernard, Deshaun, Darren, just to name a few, are just some reasons that everyone should stay here!! Having a team like this certainly makes a difference when traveling somewhere you've never been. They all made our trip that much more perfect. The grounds are simply beautiful, very tropical and well maintained. We loved the town of Placencia, some great restaurants to visit (Rumfish, Wendy's, The Secret Garden, Tipsy Tuna), and just a short stroll on the beach into town from CM. Or take the bikes for a nice ride into town, however be careful at night as we almost got runover by a crazy driver! The dock is perfect to relax and soak up the sun, you might even need to sip on a ginger mojito to keep you cool :)

If you want to go on any excursions, Jason is the best source and he will arrange anything for you! He is very knowledgeable and connected with the community so he's got the inside scoop.

When researching hotels for our trip, I relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews of Chabil Mar and only read great things. Our experience blew our expectations out of the water! One minor detail to be aware of is it is super kid friendly, so just be mindful of the rooms right next to the pools if that's not the kind of trip you are on.

Can't wait to come back to Chabil Mar!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahML1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    63
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
199
378
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Chabil Mar is heaven on earth! Everyone - and I mean everyone - on the staff are friendly and will do almost anything to make your stay enjoyable....the villas are spectacular, the landscaping is gorgeous, and the views from the balcony hammocks are to die for! The food is terrific - and is served (fast) anywhere you would like to dine. The beach is beautiful...the dock is great for a romantic dinner....the dive center is right across the street....the village is only a couple of minutes away by golf cart....anything your heart desires! Our two weeks there were by far the most serene vacation we've had....just laying in the hammock in the evenings listening to the waves was enough to lull me to sleep every night....I will recommend Chabil Mar to anyone who will listen....:)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you like being treated like cattle waiting in a sea of people to do the simplest things, you won't like this place. The staff at Chabil Mar is ready to meet any reasonable request with a smile and positive response. This peninsula truly is quite a playground with no crowds. You can eat when you want and always get a seat at any of the beach bars. Chabil Mar is a private resort where you are never bothered by the public or the other guests. So pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The "villas" are great two bedroom apartments with lot's of space and a nice balcony/terrace. Obviously, the ones overlooking the beach are the best. You can cook your own dinner - although the restaurant is excellent and the food in the village is delcious, too, or just prepare your own breakfast on your terrace, however, most guest just enjoy the perfect F&B service. They serve you anyway on the property. The dinner on the pier is superb - perfect for a romantic dinner or just a special night.
The service is top notch! They go beyond the obvious and expected to make their guests happy.
The entire family (we have two kids, 15 and 10) loved the place.
The hotel also books greak trips which we enjoyed. The Snorkeling/Diving at Sillky Cay is a must if you love the underwater world! Monkey River and Zip-lining were fun, too.
If you love ice cream, you have to go to Tutti Frutti in the village. It's the best Ice Cream - hand made and every day fresh - outside Italy! We were addicted and went every day :). The Rumfish restaurant right above Tutti Frutti was our favorite restaurant. The hotel has a driving service that brings you right into the village and picks you up. They also organize the propeller plan transfer to and from Belize airport as well as the pick-up at the Placencia airport.
While this place is magic and almost perfect, we would have loved to be able to get a good expresso and latte/cappucino which unfortunately, the Chabil Mar doesn't provide. Also, we would have loved to have more watersports possibilities, e.g. a Hoby Cat and Surf Boards. This is a perfect place for sailing and surfing, too.
But all in all, we loved, loved, loved this Chabil Mar! Highly recommend it if you like it upscale and a little quite, however, do not mind kids playing in the pool and on the beach. For us it was just PERFECT!
Last, but not least, let us praise Natalie and Jason who were simply outstanding!

Room Tip: If you are a couple or don't mind kids sleeping in the living room on a sofa bed, go for room 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

After arriving by plane at the small Placencia airport, we were whisked away on a less than 5 minute ride to Chabil Mar. Immaculate grooming and tropical plants, along with a tropical drink and a choice of rums greeted us.

We were given a tour and some information about the property. Not only is the ocean beautifully green/blue, but the staff was amazingly helpful. Frankly, it was weird getting used to that high level of service. Darren, Dani, Sho, Jason and all of the staff made sure we wanted for nothing.

It was a truly wonderful Honeymoon and the best vacation I've had yet.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HiHeyHowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We loved Chabil Mar. Absolutely one of the friendliest places we have ever stayed. Top-notch service and comfort. Everyone in our group of 7 had a great time (4 adults and 3 kids from 3 to 13). I would highly recommend to families and couples alike!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had such a great time the first week in April. We were there four nights and wanted to stay longer. We had been up in the jungle for a few days prior and this was a great way to finish off our stay in Belize. As most of the reviews state, the management was great, as were the staff from the servers, shuttle driver and all. The tours (half day snorkel and half day Monkey River tour) were planned by the concierges (Jason and Merle) and all were great and just across the street. We enjoyed the food at the resort and being able to have it delivered anywhere. The maid service was fantastic. We have thought a lot about our trip since returning home and Chabil Mar and Belize are definitely on our immediate list of places to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleTravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing