We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run Family Oriented Luxury”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Run Family Oriented Luxury”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Chabil Mar is as lovely as advertised. From the first contact with reservations to the last goodbyes the staff are as friendly, gracious and professional everytime. The rooms are huge and well appointed. The resort is spotless and the food is as good as the reviews state. We visited during spring break and the resort seemed virtually empty during the day but there was a host of families with small children. This may have been not the norm but may be a concern for honeymooners or older couples wanting quiet time around the pool. The children were around especially early in am and at dinner time.

Room Tip: Rooms around the second pool were quieter than the main pool which has more shallow stairs for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepackrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    67
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
217
391
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

All the reviews that are written for Chabil Mar are very true! Believe it! I just want to add a comparison to Turtle Inn. My family stayed at Chabil Mar and my friends stayed at Turtle Inn. I felt very bad for my friends because they got eaten alive by lots of different bugs and they had no A/C. We were suppose to stay with them but they had no availability...thank goodness! We went to the monkey river and my buddy pulled out his binoculars and out jumped a 2"cockroach, that came from his hut from Turtle Inn. Everyone screamed, including him! I found a gecko in our room that my wife made me catch but other than that, no bugs at Chabil Mar. Over all... 5 star service (out of 5 stars), very clean room and pool. Had so much fun that I did not know they had a fitness center and did not take advantage of the spa service.

Room Tip: Anything ocean front is great. All rooms are good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a great laid back resort perfect for families. The service and staff are stellar. Great outings - monkey river and snorkeling - conveniently depart from the dock located across the street. The food is really great and varied. Going into town is easy via shuttle or by renting a golf cart. We loved Rumfish in town for dinner. Placencia is remote but lovely and worth the extra flight.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoAmy60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I met the marketing manager for this property a year ago and he said, "Try Chabil Mar...I think you will like it. Well, Larry, all I can say is....nothing is left out! We were finishing up a 3 week trip to Belize and had never been to Placencia. Covered in bug bites from our jungle excursions, we were happy to rest up here. They have bug control and it works.We did we not get new bug bites. I have never been anywhere in Belize that is as bug free. We did not take any tours, we were there for 3 days of rest and relaxation. We never ate anywhere else. The food was to die for. We tried every shrimp dish they had and they all were delicious. The coconut shrimp appetizer was the best! The staff was all A+. The condo we were in was upstairs with a sea view. The beds were great the décor was wonderful, and the beach was immaculate. The pools were the best I have ever swam in because they were not too cold and long. The walk to town was perfect! The washer and dryer were a life saver. We can't wait to go back.!

Room Tip: upstairs condos are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We could not have been any more impressed with our experience at Chabil Mar. Staff are courteous, friendly, and cater to your every need, and some you are not even aware of. We highly recommend this resort to any and all. Thank you Chabil Mar!!! Michael and Erin

Room Tip: Villa 1!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelpppppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here in February and loved it! The staff is wonderful, the food is great and the accommodations are amazing. It is walking distance to town, but not too close to town. It is the perfect distance! Great for morning and evening walks along the beach. A very quiet place that does a nice job making guests feel right at home. Wonderful, clean and nicely decorated units. We had an oceanside unit, but all units would be nice. I don't think there is a bad one on the resort. It is a smaller resort and perfect for a remote get-a-way. Rent a golf cart in town if you want to go in and out of the small town a lot and make sure you get the gelato in town, it is amazing!! The locals are great and it is a safe, remote place still!! I hope it doesn't change!

Room Tip: You don't need an ocean view room to enjoy this place. They are all so close to the ocean that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

my husband and I recently returned from a 5 night stay at chabil mar. we were there for our honeymoon and it was a very special week.

the service at the hotel is second to none. the servers (Junior in particular) and the bar staff (especially Darren) were so friendly and hospitable. Tiffany and Natalie at the front desk were also great. they were a huge help in answering all of our questions and helping us arrange day trips and dinner reservations.

the property has bikes that you can use for free - we took these almost every day to head into town for a quick visit. there is also a shuttle into town every evening (all complimentary) which made getting to and from town easy and hassle free.

the food at chabil mar was delicious. the seafood chowder (which I wouldn't ordinarily order) was amazing. all of the seafood was prepared so well and was incredibly fresh!

the beach is beautiful, sandy and clean. you can't really swim off the beach because there is a lot of sea grass but the pools were perfect for taking a quick dip - they are very close to the beach and are kept at the perfect temperature!

as an FYI, you should be aware that there is a 10% service fee added to all food and beverage charges at the hotel (in addition to a 12% government tax). a lot of restaurants include the taxes in their prices but the menu at chabil mar does not - so you should add 22% to every bill when calculating how much things cost. the service fee is a true fee that is given to the staff - we were happy to hear that - but it is still a significant expense when added to each food/beverage expense over the course of 6 days.

all in all, we had an amazing time and would definitely return.

NOTE: if you are prone to get bitten by bugs, bring bug spray and anti-itch lotion - there are lots of little sand flies that you can't see but will bite (especially at night), so come prepared!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan0190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing