We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding resort experience!”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very personable service and the resort setting is lovely. All on property meals were delicious and that's saying a lot coming from a foodie! If you want a break in the resort food, the town of Placencia is five minutes away. Quite even though the villas are in a tight setting. The grounds are perfectly groomed with lush vegetation. The ocean is at your doorstep via a stunning deck and pier. Will definately return again!

Room Tip: Not a bad view in the resort!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Chabil Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 778 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lucky to get to visit Chabil Mar again this winter Love this place and it is addictive....you want to keep coming back:)! Scenery & Resort is amazing - not a bad view in the place!! Love all the recent upgrades to the property....the bar and seating area is so relaxing, also love the addition on the dock by the palapa.

The part I like best is even if the resort is at capacity, you feel like you are the only guests.No comparison to the mega resorts where you need to line up a chair at 7 AM in the morning.

Staff is wonderful starting from the booking with Althea to arrival with Natalie and Tiffany. The wait staff is great - Deshaun just makes you want to smile with his positive attitude!

The food was great (the best so far...new chef?) and really enjoyed the Friday night beach barbecue. Was very fun! Love the dive shop across the street, Splash. Nadia and Patty really know their stuff! Town seems to be growing with Placencia adding a new dock area in town........hoping it keeps it 's quaint appeal!

Based on my latest trip...... my addiction is growing:)! I will definitely be making another visit to Chabil Mar!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just returned from a week at Chabil Mar, and we are already planning our return trip! Shane and Tiffany were outstanding and went out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful. The staff quickly learned our names and were very attentive to all of our needs and wants. We had a minor mishap with scheduling, so we would recommend verifying any trips you book before you go. I woke up ill one day, and they were very understanding about rescheduling a snorkel trip for the following day. They checked on me a couple of times throughout the day to ensure I was feeling better. The reason we gave it a four out of five is a few miscommunication issues with different members of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

From beginning to end, the staff was exceptional. They unexpectedly picked us up at the airport and returned us when we were ready to leave. The staff met us with drinks and delivered our luggage. While at the property they were genuinely friendly and met our needs and wants. On the day we needed to check out, we went on a tour and when we returned, the staff allowed us to use another room to shower. This was exceptional service and greatly appreciated. The property is tranquil and lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I attended the destination wedding of our niece at Chabil Mar in February, 2013. In short, ABSOLUTELY GLORIOUS!!!!!!! The employees of Chabil Mar were OUTSTANDING / TREMENDOUSLY ACCOMMODATING!!!! We were ALWAYS greeted by name and with a genuine smile when interacting with the staff at Chabil Mar. Any request for service was attended to promptly and completely. When our motorboat became lodged on the beach and then failed to start, staff at Chabil Mar SPONTANEOUSLY came to our rescue -- resolving the mechanical issues requiring a several hour commitment of their volunteered time and expertise. We were TREATED with DELECTABLE meals prepared by the chef(s) at Chabil Mar multiple evenings -- CONSUMING F-R-E-S-H fish with TASTY complimentary side dishes beneath the romantic star-filled/moonlit skies of Belize. Our accommodations were EXCELLENT: CLEAN / WELL-MAINTAINED / WELL FURNISHED / C-O-M-F-Y!!! LOVED / LOVED / LOVED the usefulness and convenience of the stacking washer/dryer within the condo!!!! The grounds at Chabil Mar were well manicured and FILLED with INVIGORATING color having come from the winter browns and grays of Nebraska. We THOROUGHLY ENJOYED (and recommend!) the palapa: RELAXATION AT ITS FINEST!!

The folks at Chabil Mar put forth EXTRAORDINARY EFFORT to go beyond the expectations of the wedding families (with quiet humility, significant resourcefulness, wonderfully friendly interactions). The wedding guests were PAMPERED with impeccable service packaged within a resort brimming with nature's beauty at its VERY, VERY, VERY BEST!!!!

An aside: when staying at Chabil Mar, T-R-E-A-T yourself to multiple visits to the GREATEST gelato shop EVER = Tutti Frutti (Placencia)!! WAY, WAY BEYOND SCRUMPTIOUS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I just returned from a fantastic trip to beautiful Chabil Mar. We stayed in villa 20 which was right on the ocean. We often sat on the balcony overlooking the sea and enjoyed the sounds of the water lapping at the shore. The villa had lots of room to spread out with a fully stocked kitchen, a dining area, and family room with large flat screen TV. There were two full bathrooms and two bedrooms. The balcony was huge! The unit is kept very clean. No problems whatsoever.

Chabil Mar has beautifully maintained landscaping. The flowers were varied and lovely. There are SO MANY places to sit and enjoy the property! Tables, lounge chairs etc are set up on the beach, by the pool, and on the pier which jets out into the water. My favorite place was on the pier under the palapa in the shade. I loved to read out there in the cool breeze.

All the people who work at Chabil Mar are so friendly and helpful. Everyone always cheerfully greets you and makes you feel welcome. Bikes are free to use and we biked into town several times. It is not far. Chabil Mar is the perfect place to relax and escape your every day life. I can't recommend it highly enough. I hope that someday I am lucky enough to go back to enjoy it again.

If you have any questions I'm happy to answer them.

Room Tip: Staying on the ocean is awesome but all the villas are wonderfully located. We loved villa 20.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kpgclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A couple of friends and I were only there for two nights, but during that time the staff was SO accommodating. Shawn, "Lacho," and Junior especially stood out in my mind, but everyone was very friendly. We only ate two meals there, and both were very good. The room, pools, and grounds were very clean. Every time we needed to be somewhere (in town, the airport, our cruise) the staff was always willing to help us out and drive us where we needed to be. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're going to Placenica.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAndrewWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Placencia
91 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $292 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing