We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chabil Mar, Placencia is exceptional”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chabil Mar, Placencia is exceptional”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The entire resort ... the gardens, the 2 pools, the private beach, the delicious and beautifully prepared food, the spacious unit with full kitchen and large outdoor patio, meals delivered to where-ever you want(in room, patio, poolside tables, outdoor dining areas,on the covered wharf), and the ambience, and especially the friendly and accomodating staff that will help arrange anything you want/need promptly and without hesitation...made this the most relaxing vacation we've had in many years. If we venture back to Belize , this is the only place we'll consider.

Room Tip: The upstairs units have better views if you like to just veg on your covered patio/porches overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Trimmer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    67
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
217
391
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from split week package combining this hotel with Chaa Creek. First let me say that Althea was a delight to work with. All the staff could not be more helpful. We came home in the blizzard and they helped us with the airlines. Room are large beautiful and spotless with great A/C. The kitchen makes this place unique. While there is no restaurant they dish up great meals any where you want to eat on the property. The beach and 2 pools are stunning. The only negative to this property is that you cannot walk into the tourquoise sea beachside of extensive sea grass.Access is through a ladder from a pier. There are manny jelly fish and both my son and I were bit. We loved Belize and its friendly people. 2 tips take the massages she was a great masseuse. Monkey River trip is over rated and boring

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Too notch. All service personal bend over backwards for the guest. If you want an unforgettable pampered experience, then this is your only choice. Not cheap but so much value.Bikes are free to use, golf carts are for the owners, but rentals are offered.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived for a wedding and week stay at the resort and had a wonderful time. From our initial greeting and tour of the property to the staff attending to every little detail to make our experience wonderful. Shane and Merli were fun and provided great services. Jose and DeShawn provided exceptional service.

I can't wait for our next trip.

Room Tip: Second story rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I did a lot of research and decided on Chabil Mar instead of Turtle Inn for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. We stayed from January 15-22nd. The reservation process was excellent. I probably had 10-15 emails with Althea while she worked to answer all my questions and get our honeymoon package perfectly customized to what we wanted. The resort, which comprises villas that are privately owned, is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds are maintained to perfection and there are beautiful flowers, palms and topiaries everywhere. The pictures just don't do it justice! My wife was giddy with excitement as we arrived and walked the grounds and she is not easily impressed! Our villa, #11, was upstairs on an end next to the bar. It was beautifully decorated and had vaulted ceilings with granite countertops everywhere, hardwood floors and all the amenities you could want. It had a full size stacking washer and dryer, dish washer, stove and fridge so you could easily cook all your meals should you like. It also had an amazing wrap around deck with table and chairs where we ate most our meals and chez lounges outside the bedroom. It also had A/C which we needed the first couple days it was so hot. It was all very high end and oozed luxury.

The staff are really what makes this resort. From the moment you arrive you feel like they are catering to your every need. Shane brings you on a tour of the grounds and explains all of the amenities of the resort while you sip a freshly made limeade and you wrap up at your villa where your bags are waiting. Merli and Shane are the concierges and they make sure everything for your tours and excursions are handled to perfection. Deshaun and Jose are fantastic bartenders and you are never without a drink! They run a happy hour everyday from 4-6 as well where they have a daily signature drink that never disappoints! The rest of the staff make sure your meals are where you want them whenever you want them and will literally cater to whatever your need is.

I was a bit nervous with there dining situation (there isn't a restaurant - they cook everything in a restaurants kitchen and you can eat your meals anywhere on the grounds). This turned out to be spectacular! The food was really good and they had a good selection of american and belizean food. We really enjoyed breakfast on our balcony every morning and loved our dinner on the pier our last night. But if you don't want to stay on the resort for meals you can find amazing restaurants in the village. We wished we hadn't gotten as many of our meals in the package only because we wanted to try so many different restaurants.

The restaurants we ate at were Secret Garden, Pickled Parrot, Rumfish, Wendy's, Purple Space Monkey and Omar's. We heard from others that Cozy Corner, De-tach, J-Dees and Dolce Vita were really good as well. I'll be writing separate reviews for each restaurant so look for them if you want to know more.

The tours we took were the southern ruins, monkey river and snorkeling. The southern ruins were great and very informative. If you are looking for a lot of history this tour is great. If you are looking for massively impressive ruins, the tour that goes near Guatemala is probably better suited to you. The southern ruins you drive about 1.5 hours to the first and you have to walk up a fairly steep hill to the site entrance and then you hike around the various ruins while your guide gives you very detailed historical facts. Then you grab lunch at Colemans (a really cool local spot in the middle of no where) and then you drive 10 minutes up the road to the next site and get more historical facts while walking the site and then you drive back 1.5 hours. We were back by 3pm where as the other tour was 3.5 each way in the car!

The monkey river tour with Alex was great! You see awesome wildlife - every bird imaginable, crocs, iguanas, turtles and howler monkeys. Just make sure you have bug spray and wear long sleeves/pants if you can tolerate the heat. The mosquitos will be on you by the hundreds as soon as the boat stops on the edge of the jungle. But man are the howler monkeys awesome. You stop for lunch on the way back and then go look for manatees and dolphins. Again, we were back by 3pm.

Snorkeling on laughing bird caye was awesome. We saw so much I can't even begin to describe. We went on a cloudy day be cause we didn't have the greatest weather but there was no problem seeing everything. I highly recommend this tour!

We also rented golf carts. This was a really great way to see the village. We went down a road by the soccer fields that took us out past Yolie's and Paradise Resort out to Sunset Point. We also took them north to the other really cool village Seine Bight and drove around. Also, it is really easy to walk. There is a sidewalk a few hundred yards down the beach that is in the guinness book of world records as the smallest main street. You can also walk down the road about a mile and it is really easy.

I don't know how else to convey how beautiful and amazing this place is. They will take complete care of you and having looked at other resorts while we were in Belize I can tell you this is the place to stay. The staff is the best in the village and the grounds are like no other. There was a wedding while we were there as well and it was beautiful.

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there is a bad villa in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Reservation process with Althea was excellent and she worked with me to find space after the holiday season and her recommendation was perfect. We stayed in unit 11 which was not oceanfront and right next to the bar. It was basically the only unit left. This is a very popular place so book early. Things were quiet at the bar so it was fine. I would, however recommend an oceanfront to get the maximum breeze and tropical feel right on the water. Grounds etc. are beautiful and well maintained and the pools very nice. This is a very family friendly place and books many weddings. You can ask what is planned during your stay. Condo was very comfortable and even thought this was not the hottest time of year a/c is nice at night. Town is close and they will give you a ride on a schedule or if you are lucky Althea will be leaving and she will give you a lift. She is such a nice lady and can answer any questions you have in advance or once you are there. This is a very well run place and my impression is they want your stay to be the best possible. You can trust them to arrange any excursions. We only had one lunch there but heard many comment that the food was good and as mentioned so often you can have it anywhere. The beach is okay but lots of seaweed which they clean daily. At least when we were there did not look very swimable. Just being curious we visited Turtle Inn one evening and while it is so exotic and beautiful many of the units have no views and no air except ceiling fans. That could be rough for many people. We were happy we chose Chabil Mar and thank previous reviewers for all the good information.

Room Tip: go for the oceanfront if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

WONDERFUL, relaxing, fantastic food, beautiful views, beautiful beaches, great pools, everything you need for a worry free vacation. Very clean and well kept. Beautiful landscaped grounds. Perfect location for quiet, private vacation, but just close enough for easy access to stores in town and airport for transfers. Staff is so friendly and helpful, ALWAYS smiling :) and always ready to help you plan an excursion, or just explore the tiny village of Placencia or Seine Bight. Since this was our first time bringing our daughter out of the US, there was some apprehension about safety. Felt very safe here. This was the third trip to Belize made by my husband and I, (Ambergris Caye, San Ignacio regions before) but the first time to Placencia....We WILL be back! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor (#8) Great views, quiet, clean, washer/dryer, micro, etc. Side faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#5 of 19 in Placencia
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing