We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches and Dreams Chabil Mar and Thatch Caye resorts”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at Chabil Mar as part of a "Beaches and Dreams" vacation package they arranged with Thatch Caye. We loved every moment there! Here were the highlights for us: the food is so good and served wherever you want it! We arrived around 2pm from Dangriga and were hungry. Within 15 minutes of checking in, our lunch was served on the beach and was delicious. Almost all our meals in Chabil Mar were included as part of the package, and we had no regrets. We definitely recommend the Friday evening beach barbecue. Our package included two excursions - we did the Monkey River tour and the Cockscomb Jaguar Nature preserve. Both were fantastic! We were with three others on the Monkey River tour and on our own with a guide at the Cockscomb preserve. In addition, Chabil Mar arranged a couple's massage on the beach, again fantastic, champagne poolside, all part of the package. From arrival to departure, they could not have taken better care of us. Everyone who works at the resort is so friendly, makes you feel welcome and cared for. Our final dinner was out on the dock, the perfect way to end a week-long vacation to Belize. This was our first trip ever to this part of the world and we loved every minute! Highly recommended. See our review on Thatch Caye for more details on the first three days of our package.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room if you want a better view of the water.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
There are newer reviews for Chabil Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 778 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was a great place to stay! We almost felt like we were the only guest. The view of the water was just beautiful and there is a pier on the water (see pic) where you can read and have your dinner served if you like. They also offer free kiyaks which were great for an early morning trip on the water when the dolphins were around:) Natalie at the front desk was such a wonderful person and was very helpful. Definitely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went there for our honeymoon and our expectations were more than met. The grounds, dining, staff and other guests were all wonderful. Have Deshuan make you one of his ginger mojitos. Dining out on the dock is not to be missed and the food is excellent. It's an easy bike ride to town - don't miss Yoli's.
A nice trip inland is to the Big Fall zipline and then a refreshing inner tube down the creek. If your into fly fishing have them track down Mr. Eloy for you - one of the best guides in southern belize

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas_sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I were looking for something different in a tropical destination as we had been to Hawaii many, many times in the past. We are also very adventuresome and like to experience new cultures and different adventures. Belize and Chabil Mar did not disappoint ! Completely and totally different from Hawaii - in a good way in my opinion. Very unassuming and REAL. First, Chabil Mar - we stayed for seven days. After speaking with some of the staff, we had come during a slow week which was perfect for us as we pretty much had the place to ourselves, which made the stay that much better. The staff was no less than amazing. Tiffany, Tony, Dany, and Deshaun were amazing. Coordinating any adventures we wanted and having our food delivered exactly on time when we wanted it. It was great to have to free bikes to take into town anytime we wanted or to have one of the staff take us down in a golf cart after dark due to the sketchy drivers on the road at night. The shining star here is - you are in BELIZE - this is an amazing country with amazing people and an amazing culture. A lot of time was spent with the locals - eating, drinking, talking, and learning from these people. From San Ignacio to Placencia - everyone is friendly and kind. Take the time out of relaxing at the pool or bar to go to a local restaurant and enjoy some stewed chicken and red beans and rice. The resort is beautiful, the staff kind, attentive, and wonderful. You will be treated like kings and queens of the Mayan empire ! We will most definitely be back ! Thank you Chabil Mar and staff - you are much appreciated by us and would not change a thing about our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatheFunnyKittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Chabil Mar - 8 days from May 5 - May 14, 2012. We loved every aspect. First the people - the staff and the guests. We were all in paradise so everyone was nice, fun and charming. The accommodations are beautiful - and our first night was very special because they covered every inch of our room in flowers for our honeymoon. Highlights for me were dinner on the pier followed by a moon-lit walk on the beach. Highlights for my husband were bone-fishing (but he suffered thru the romance part just fine! ;) ). What I like most is they make everything so easy. You want to got to town, no problem use their bikes OR they will take you in their golf cart AND pick you up when are finished (all free). They brought ice cold bottled water to us as we sunbathed. They coordinated our adventure trips. I really liked that we could have room service delivered anywhere on the property. And for one day, they packed us a great cooler filled with lunch, fruit, chips & salsa and a few beers to take with us on our fishing trip. We went to happy hour every day and while they can make any sort of drink you like, the Ginger Mojito quickly became our favorite. We met different people at the bar every day and really had a great time with every group. Trust me, the value is there and Chabil Mar does not disappoint. Money well spent.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room our first night (we messed up our reservation and realized we needed an e...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 9 nights at Chabil Mar (April 28 - May 7). We had travelled to Belize 2 years previous and spent 2 weeks in Ambergris Caye. Placencia is quite different and very relaxed.

Chabil Mar is close enough to the town to walk or take one of the bikes which are available at the hotel. When we arrived our luggage did not -- the front desk staff, all of whom are outstanding, made arrangements for us to be driven to the town to pick up some essentials to get us through until our own items arrived the next day.

The service and the facilities of Chabil Mar are outstanding. We had a one bedroom unit which was very spacious, immaculate, and full outfitted including a washer and dryer. We had two meals at the resort and the food was very good. We ate other meals in the town of Placencia only because we like to go to the town to explore.

I very much hope that I am able to return to Belize and especially to Chabil Mar in Placencia.

Room Tip: Room 14 is just steps to the infinity pool and has a clear view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My stay at Chabil Mar can best be summarized by the thank you note I penned to them upon my return home. To wit:

"Just a short note to thank you all for making our visit so enjoyable. The site was idyllic, food and service were great, and the people were so nice. Special mentions to Natalie, Deshaun, and Silvino.

You will see us again."

I have stayed in many different places throughout the world. This was simply the best.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Placencia
91 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $292 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing