We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel & great location”
Review of Cozy Corner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cozy Corner
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here recently, initially for 2 nights and ended up staying for 5! We arrived quite late and Cozy Corner were able to accommodate us in a nice clean and comfortable room. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and in walking distance of everything you need in the village.

They have free WiFi in the restaurant and were fine about us using that without buying food.

We thought the service in the hotel and restaurant were good, people were always happy to help when we needed it.

The food was fine, not great but not bad either. Warning...the servings can be HUGE so make sure you are hungry!

We stayed in the quiet low-season - some locals did warn us that if we stayed in the high season we may have had noise issues from the nearby Tipsy Tuna sports bar. Just something to think about but we didnt have any problems though.

Easy access from the bus - just ask them to drop you off out the front

Room Tip: We stayed towards the back around the side which was quiet - this might be a quieter choice than sta...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Cozy Corner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

I ate here twice during my stay and the food taste ok but made my wife throw up one night and gave me upset stomach. The service was the worst in my life; including 1 hour wait for food with only 3 other people in the restaurant, waitress rolling her eyes, AND the owner refusing to address my concerns himself. Save your time and eat elsewhere this place SUCKS!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Mediocre at best. Extremely annoying American waitress who will literally try to force you to purchase all sorts of stuff at all cost. "Fruit salad?, No thank you, 5 minutes later, How about that fruit salad? No thank you. Fruit juice? No. How about that fruit juice? No!" And that goes on and on till you finally leave. And the spot attracts annoying crowd of older, single white dudes, who have an attitude of plantation owners and are real irritating to be around. Skip that one.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Unit333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star resorts in Mexico. When we went to Belize, we specifically wanted to avoid that type of environment. Cozy Corner was perfect for us. We were able to relax, the staff was very friendly and helpful but not overbearing, and corrected what few issues we had very quickly (the shower head fell off :) ). Cozy Corner is ideally located, has a great restaurant and bar, with two more a very short walk away, and downtown less than a 10 minute walk.
This is the place if you want to relax, no frills, and use as a base for your adventures. If you want an Americanized resort, you will be disappointed.
We are going back at the end of this month.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cortez_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This hotel was good for what it was. It was reasonably priced for Placencia. Our room was very clean and the mini fridge is a huge plus for keeping water and drinks/food cold. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

We found the restaurant to be a bit of a rip off but the beach was incredible.

This is a good place to stay if you are looking for AC and not being ripped off. The room was very bare boned but it's all you need.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I was scheduled to stay at Rum Point Inn for a relaxing resort vacation with my mother for Christmas. We arrived only to find out the resort was closed due to the passing of the owner. We were dropped off on Christmas Eve in Placencia and told to go knock on doors. We finally ended up at Cozy Corner. The rooms were clean and colorfull. We later switched to the cabanas next door. I have been to Placencia six times since. The restaurant and bar at Cozy are excellent. The food is great and Stoney's drinks are awesome!!!! Kewl the owner is extremely nice and hospitable. If you visit in the off season, this will be one of the few restaurants open. I highly recommend this restaurant and bar. It is also a great central location as far as hotel s are concerned. It has one of the largest beach areas in the village.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PlacenciaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Cozy Corner is a great budget hotel located right on the beach. They have cabanas and lounge chairs right on the beach as well as a beach bar/restaurant. The rooms were clean and simple: full size bed, fridge, a/c, chair and desk, private bath, and a small tv with cable. The location is great and the price is right. Don't expect any fancy concierge service, however the staff is very friendly and helpful.

My room was close to the washer and dryer that the housekeeping staff uses on the 2nd floor, so it was a bit noisy in the morning, but nothing too serious.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 19 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
643 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Corner

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Also Known As:
Cozy Corner Placencia
Cozy Corner Hotel Placencia
Cozy Corner Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing