We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa At Last(Placencia)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chabil Mar(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaspray Hotel(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ranguana Lodge(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
498
119
24
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
119
24
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquarterdeck restaurantminiature golf coursequarter duckone bedroom suiteinfinity poolmonkey river tourhobie catocean viewfull kitchensailing tripplacencia villagenice poolseine bightfront officerented a carmayan ruinsthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 657 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The resort is perfect for relaxing, enjoying activities, and getting that one-on-one attention from all of the staff members. My daughter and son-in-law were married in Belize on November 22, 2008 and Laru Beya hosted them, their guests, wedding preparations, and a wonderful reception. The wedding took place on our beach down the road, but everything else occured in and around the resort. Even though the reception was to take place around the picturesque pool overlooking the sea, it rained!! The staff quickly moved the band, the tables, the entire operation upstairs to their covered restaurant. We all fit wonderfully--it looked as if that was the plan. It was amazing. The staff were so very accommodating--all of the last minute requests, i.e., lunch preparation for the men's fishing trip, transportation to and from snorkeling, were handled efficiently and made the entire operation for 17 guests from the states very memorable. I recommend weddings and receptions at Laru Beya. The attention is very personal and you feel very special. They know how to please.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tordway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Laru Beya from Feb1-12/09. Everything about the resort was top notch. The staff was very eager to help when we needed it. Lizbeth set up my husbands fishing excursions which he thoroughly enjoyed and I soaked in every relaxing moment both by the pool and on our balcony in the hammock. A truly relaxing experience.

I have worked in travel industry for 24 years and I have inspected many hotel properties. This resort ranks up there with the best of them. We stayed in a second floor Junior Villa. The rooms were spacious and very modern and clean.....fresh flowers were an added touch every day. The pool was spotlessly clean as were the grounds. There were kayaks and other water toys for us to use.

The restaurant had good food and there were also other restaurants available within walking distance at the neighboring resorts (try the pizza at Millars Landing...yum).
If you want to go into the village there is a local bus that travels up and down the main road ($1) or you can let Ramona or Lizbeth know and they can make arrangements for you. A taxi ride back from the village cost 10USD.

Thank you to everyone at the Laru Beya that made our stay so enjoyable....Lizbeth, Ramona, Ian, Raoule, Victor, Pop(sp?) and the housekeeping staff....you are all wonderful people! We look forward to coming back next winter.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My wife and I recently took our honeymoon in Belize and we stayed at Laru Beya, and they made sure it was a memorable experience. We were greeted by fresh flower petals in our room on our first day, and the ocean view from our room was gorgeous. The staff was terrific and very helpful with advice on local shops, restaurants, and attractions, and they were all quite personable. Here is a quick breakdown:

Cleanliness- The room, resort, pool, restaurant, beach, and everything else at Laru Beya was meticulously clean. All very impressive, considering the leaves and sand that could have easily accumulated around the area.

Location- Absolutely beautiful, by any standards. Scenic ocean views, gardens on the grounds, thatch roof restaurant, great pool, and many local attractions in the village always kept us wide eyed.

Rooms- Our second story villa was very spacious, with a nice kitchen, sitting/living room with satellite TV (no need for much TV watching with everything else in the area, though), comfy bedroom with a great view, large bathroom and shower, and balcony with a hammock. It was exactly how the pictures on their website looked.

Service- Top notch. Quick, friendly service no matter where you were. They had terrific food at their restaurant, and they scheduled our events for us (snorkeling at Laughing Bird Caye and the Little Monkey River tour, both highly recommended). They called cabs for us to the village, and we could use their water toys out in the ocean, which was a lot of fun.

Value- Incredible value with all things considered. The scenery, staff, accommodations, and local attractions made it an incredible experience for the both of us.

If you happen to go to the local village, definitely try out Wendy's, La Dolce Vita, and the French Connection restaurants. All of them have tasty food and some great backstories.

All in all, it was a fantastic honeymoon, and we plan on heading back to Laru Beya in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed nine days at Laru Beya Resort in Placencia, Belize and I have to say that it was Paradise. The staff was fantastic and they went out of their way to assist us in arranging our excursions. The Ocean front Villa we stayed in was wonderful and my wife loved the fresh flowers and Laru Beya Robes in our Villa. We would highly recommend Laru Beya if you’re looking for relaxation in Paradise! We will definitely be back soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandKErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

My husband and I are just now writing as we are daydreaming of Belize and Laru Beya! The setting of the hotel is spectacular. We stayed in a junior suite right on the ocean. It is just a 15 minute ride from the town of Palencia and if you let Pieter or Petro know that you are going, they are willing to accomodate you and give you a ride to town if possible.
They know all the best restaurants and hidden attractions. we took a day trip to the Mayan ruins. My husband went scuba diving several days while I relaxed at the hotel and one day a boat picked us up from the hotel's beach to go snorkeling at one of the cayes. We ate at some local restaurants that were delicious. The food at Laru Beya has a Belizian flair so if a person does not like the food of the country, they can walk next door to Roberts Grove for American food.
You cannot miss this hotel, it has a personal touch and is truley a hidden jewel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocnsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews