We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Laru Beya for 5 nights on our honeymoon in March. We booked a jungle/beach all-inclusive package (3 nights in San Ignacio and 4 nights in Placencia + one extra night added) and it was well worth it. Tim organized everything for us and was very responsive to my questions in the weeks leading up the to trip. The place itself is great -- as others have described it, it's a small place but strikes a good balance of being intimate without you feeling like you're the only people staying there. If you're in Belize for the beach, you might be better off staying in Placencia village because, as others have mentioned, the beach is quite small at Laru Beya -- but we loved having an infinity pool just steps from the ocean, and there is plenty of space on the beach to put out chairs or a towel. The Quarterdeck food and drinks are delicious, and the menu is decently varied. The staff are all very friendly and helpful about organizing outings or getting you a golf cart to chug into town. We did a snorkeling excursion and the Monkey River cruise and, as others have mentioned, Jason is a great tour guide for Monkey River. Our room was also great -- the pictures on here don't do the rooms justice. They are spare and not huge, but are modern and have everything you need. Other reviewers recommended getting an ocean view, which we did, and it was great reading a book in the hammock while looking out over that blue, blue water. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbish0gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 628 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for a weekend in March.

The property is small but not too small that you feel crowded.

We did find the rooms a bit small, however, I don't think that you would be spending much time in the room. It would have been nice to have a small desk in room, where you can sit and send a few emails if necessary.

Food in the restaurant was good. Service was also good. There is not much of a bar, so don't expect a big bar setting; however it was quite comfortable.

Overall the stay was good. While it is not my first choice for a hotel in Placencia, I would stay again and would also recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not on the ground floor. You tend to hear persons walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashele_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our 8 day stay at Laru Beya resort couldn't have been better. We loved our 2 bedroom condo which had a full kitchen, air conditioning, very comfortable beds and bedding and a glassed in shower. Out the back door was a large deck with a hammock that was right on the beach. The pool was also great and one of the many friendly staff was always happy to provide you with a drink or anything off the menu from the excellent restaurant. We also enjoyed hopping in one of the golf carts and cruising to town about 15 minutes away. The staff was truly amazing, especially Valine, who adeptly coordinated all of our outings including snorkeling, a jungle tour, sailing, and paddle boarding with manatees (which the instructor recorded with a GoPro). We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The staff was wonderful and helpful. Our suite was spacious with plenty of storage and well-equipped kitchen with coffee supplied. The restaurant (The Quarterdeck) served great food. Bicycles were available to ride down to the village which was about 3-4 miles south. The office easily made all our your arrangements for us-from scuba diving trips to a river tour. Jason, our guide for the Monkey River Tour, was very knowledgeable and very kind to the little kids in our tour. The resort has arrangements with Splash Dive Center for our trips, equipment rentals, etc-and they picked us up. The beach in front of the resort was a bit of a disappointment-very short and steep, with quite a bit of litter (which was the case the whole length of beach).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Did a lot of pre trip research on places to stay in Placencia and after a week at Laru Beya and in the Placencia area we know we made the right choice. Laru Beya has a nice infinity pool, nice grounds, nice rooms (we booked effectively a two room suite for ourselves and our two children ages 7 and 10). Effectively Laru beyu is 2 and 3 level nicely appointed condos with nearly every room with an ocean view. the hotel restaurant (quarterdeck) was very good (especially breakfast) with virtually every table with a nice view, the service was also excellent. They set up great full and half day activities. Our favorites were half day fishing with Ivan (we caught at least 20 fish and brought home 3 big fish ( snapper, jack and Spanish mackerel) which the quarterdeck prepared in 3 different styles), the all day splash snorkel/dive which included a beautiful island with massive turtles, sting rays and nurse sharks in a beautiful setting) and the monkey river cruise/jungle tour. Great places to eat in the area (golf cart or taxi) include: maya beach bistro, rumfish, tutti frutti (crazy fantastic gelato). Belize ocean club was not good but it was in a very nice setting with great drinks. Note that Laru beyu does not have much of a beach but this seemed fairly common throughout Belize. What is also common in Belize is lots with lots of seaweed/grass close to shore and then 50 feet out the water turns crystal clear. When you dive or snorkel you are generally taking a boat out to cayes a couple of miles out. Most days we would go on a half day adventure and then come back and chill out by the nice pool and enjoy happy hour. At night the ocean is so close it was easy to fall asleep. We flew into to Belize city and took maya air into placencia (there is no appreciable difference between maya air and tropic air so you just go by schedule). Make sure you check in with your flight the day before as the flights can tend to leave early/late. Overall, in the placencia area we believe Laru Beyu is your best bet. Enjoy

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Voldar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Laru Beya was just the perfect place for our vacation. Not big, but intimate. Views from the balcony are fabulous. From our balcony we could see the pool, ocean and quarter deck was clearly visible. Lovely rooms, I think all the wood, furniture and cabinets, might have been mahogany. Floors are large tiles. Modern bathrooms with room to spare. Kitchen is well equipped. Didn’t need the AC as there is a constant wind, which should be noted. The grounds are well kept. Unfortunately because of this constant breeze off the ocean, even though the barrier reef is off shore, the beach washes away. The resorts on this side have to pump sand back to keep the beaches. When we were there, there wasn’t any beach to speak of, but that didn’t stop us from having a wonderful time. The staff is just the BEST!! I met the happiest man EVER. Always smiling and laughing, Rosendo. Everyone has great stories about Belize or where they came from who works there. Ask them! The food and drinks at the Quarter Deck are fresh, fresh, FRESH! I felt like we were on a farm. I think everything we ate or had in our drinks was from Belize. Oh soooooooo GOOD! The village of Placencia isn’t far and a taxi can arrive quickly or hitch a ride from the hotel van if they are going. Good food there also and it’s not over run with people. Buy some produce from some of the ladies, not the grocery store, and bring back to your room. OH! Don’t forget the CHOCOLATE!! OMG!! It’s heaven!! We rented a car after several trips to the ruins and Monkey River. Roads aren’t always the best, but worth exploring as Belize is a most amazing country. I would certainly say stay here if you were looking. One more thing, get a massage from Patricia. Lord, Lord! she is magic!! And have it on your balcony.

Room Tip: Loved our room 2nd floor pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseysuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our first time in Belize and we are so happy we picked Laru Beya as our home base for our 10 night stay!!! The views were beautiful (ocean out the front door) the suite was amazing (finished in gorgeous local woods) and the bed extremely comfortable! What more could a person ask for??? Laru Beya staff went above and beyond to look after us and make us feel welcome. The excursions they recommended were all fantastic with knowledgeable local guides. Sitting among the palms by the pool was very relaxing for quiet times. We made use of the complimentary Hobie Cat sail boats and kayaks. The water sports added another dimension to our "stay at home days" We watched the sunrise every morning and the sunset every evening. Our thanks to everyone at Laru Beya for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor (top floor) in the Jabiru (sp?) building. Stunning views of sunrise/set b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
20.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 13 in Hopkins
879 reviews
20.4 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $148 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing