We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Each year we return to Laru Beya for our family vacation and couldn't find a more perfect place! The accommodations are comfortable and immaculate. The restaurant is always delicious with a great blend of local and continental cuisine. We spend our days at the beautiful pool enjoying the bar service, or using the on site activities that are offered such as Hobies, Kayaks, and Mini-Golf. We've also had wonderful tours that Laru has set up for us to Monkey River or for a day of snorkeling or fishing. The bottom line here is that there's something for everyone and the staff is always happy to come up with new ideas. Laru Beya is also a short bike ride, or golf cart ride into Placencia which is always a good time. The bottom line here at Laru Beya is that we look forward to heading back each year and seeing the same smiling faces as we "settle in" once again. Thanks Laru Beya and all of our friends there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sknotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    106
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
127
292
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our family of 4 (12 & 16 yr old boys) decided to spend our Winter break in Belize. Drawn there by the fantastic diving, we felt even luckier that we choose Laru Beya to make our headquarters for the 9 days we stayed. From the minute we arrived, (actually for the weeks before when we chatted on Facebook and email) I felt like we were staying with friends. You could not get a better staff who was willing to not just meet your needs, but exceed them! They suggested amazing trips and had knowledgeable tour guides. The ATM cave tour is an experience our family will never forget! They organized our dive adventures and even suggested a trendy spot for dinner when the boys said they wanted STEAK for dinner!!! We had a fun family competition on their mini golf course, sailed on the complimentary sail boats, and the groundskeeper even cracked coconuts for the boys to drink and eat! Having an yummy in-house restaurant/bar was great, especially on the days you wanted to get that last bit of sun in, and don't even get me started on the fry jacks for breakfast!!!!. My only regret is that I did not have time to take the chef up on the offer to teach me how to make them!
We highly recommend this resort and the destination, and can guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivahmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family of 5 recently returned from an amazing week at Laru Beya. The incredible staff (Rene, Vernicia, Valene, Vincent, Rosendo, Luigi, etc.) helped us plan our activities and made everything about our stay pretty much perfect. The suite was really spacious and comfortable, the beach was beautiful, the pool was AMAZING, the restaurant was very good, and everything was sparkling clean. We chose Placencia instead of Ambergris/San Pedro because we wanted a more laid-back vibe, and that's exactly what we got. Everyone at Laru Beya and in the village was friendly and relaxed, and because we went the week before Christmas, we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves! We split our time between activities -- Nim Li Punit (ruins), snorkeling, horseback riding, Monkey River tour and jungle hike, and ziplining -- and just relaxing on the beach and by the pool. Most activities are half day, so we were lounging around by the afternoon. We often rented a golf cart and went into Placencia for dinner. Laru Beya is in a perfect spot, halfway between the village and the Maya Beach resorts. We initially wanted to stay at Maya Beach, but I'm really glad now that we didn't, because it's pretty isolated up there and is mainly vacationing westerners. I can't recommend Laru Beya and Placencia in general strongly enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Upon escaping the dreadful snow of the New York December, our third and final leg of our destination touched down gently on a small airstrip in Placencia, Belize. Exiting the small Tropic Air terminal, we were greeted by the Laru Beya taxi driver, with a warm smile and welcome, as though we were old friends.
After a ten minute drive, we pulled into a secluded driveway, with lush tropical vegetation that gave the sensation we were arriving at our own private vacation home. Upon checking in, it became apparent the staff loved their jobs, as they were as calm and welcoming as I've ever experienced. Within a stone's throw of a walk down a winding pathway, we arrived at our accommodation, which happened to be the penthouse, situated only feet from the shoreline.
The accommodation is much more than a standard hotel room, in fact it's anything but. What we walked into was a fully furnished apartment, with a gourmet kitchen, stocked with cooking utensils to prepare a full dinner, if you so choose. The huge sliding glass doors, give way to a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea, which allowed the warm tropical air to rehydrate my winter laden skin.
The furnishings are all custom handcrafted works of art, forged by local artisans who use the indigenous hard woods such as mahogany and rosewood. The King sized bed was the most impressive, as it looked as ancient and elegant, as it was comfortable. Being only feet from the shoreline, a constant rhythmic cadence of waves gently washing ashore, lowered my blood pressure to a state consistent with meditation.
The dining experience was on par with the rest of the resort, as the restaurant and bar sit under a tropical thatch roof, that allows for a gentle breeze, and views to the sea through tropical vegetation. The service was again impeccable with soft spoken servers intent on fulfilling your every dining and drinking desire.
This was my first experience in Belize, and having been treated like Royalty, I would recommend Laru Beya Resort to anyone who desires the Royal treatment in a tropical paradise away from it all.

Room Tip: We chose the penthouse apartment on the North Corner. Absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Manitoba
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stepped off the local bus about 8pm and walked up this lane and into a marvelous resort. With no reservation (2 couples) we were pleased they had availability. We enjoyed a very tasty late meal in the restaurant then off to our quiet and comfortable room. Back into the restaurant for breakfast (delicious),so we decided to stay a 2nd night and took a tour to Monkey River, arranged (on our request) by the resort. Our tour operator (Jason) was excellent and we'd highly recommend the resort to continue with his services. This was a great stop on our back packing holiday in Belize.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I love non chain original hotels like Laru Beya . We were sailing in Belize and visited this place before our sail and stayed there afterwards. It's a great place. Just 4 miles from Placenia and right on the water. The room I had was a one bedroom apt with full kitchen and porch with a hammock a few feet from the ocean. They have a nice pool and a tiered tropical restaurant with really good food. The staff if really helpful and friendly especially the manager. He greeted us every time we came and went and provided us with lots of useful info.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at Laru Beya and I can't say enough positive things about our experience. From the moment Valene picked us up from the airport we knew we'd made the right choice as far as hotel choice. The entire staff went out of their way to see that everything about our stay was pleasant.
We chartered a boat for 7 days with Moorings which is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel HUGE BONUS. When spent 2 nights at the hotel before our stay and another night after our sail there as well. When we returned to the hotel after the sail it was almost like coming home. The staff remembered our names and each inquired about our sailing journey. The food at the restaurant was excellent, and the pool and beaches were very clean and well manicured. I would highly recommend Laru Beya if you're traveling to Placencia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Property: Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing