We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach, great staff, delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, great staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We arrived at Laru Beya after a 3 day sail and we were very happy to be greeted with a beautiful property where we could relax. We arrived late at night after the office closed but security called the hotel manager who was there in 5 minutes to help us. All of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the beach is beautiful and relaxing, the pool was clean and right on the beach, and there are kayaks available to use. Laru Beya was just what we were looking for after 3 days of sailing! The hotel is about a 5-10 minute ride from town, the hotel manager or restaurant on site can call you a cab and then at the end of the night cabs are all around to take back. We had a delicious breakfast the next morning - all fresh fruit and of course more smiles from the staff. All in all a great place to stay if you are looking for a few relaxing days on the beautiful beach of Placencia! Have fun :)

PS. If you make it into town go to De'Tatch restaurant for dinner it was absolutely delicious - probably the best dinner we had in Belize! And check out the Barefoot Beach Bar for live bands and great dancing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    102
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
124
284
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had a mixed hotel stay in Placencia. A few days of local color @Ranguana Lodge and then a few days of peace and quiet at Laru Beya. I enjoyed both places for these reasons. LB was indeed quiet as it was off season and very few guests were around. Again, no problem for me! The room was simple and tasteful and well cleaned each day. The pool is lovely and the beach as expected. The staff really went to great lengths to find day trips for me. Alot of places weren't booking day trips because of the low season. The restaurant was great but a little overpriced and it was the only restaurant around. In fact that would be my ONLY complaint, Placencia Village is too far away to walk to, so if you have no car, or other mode of transportation, you have to eat at the Quarter Deck. Still it is great food and very friendly wait staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azdemocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is gorgeous. The staff was amazing. I had a real medical emergency, my girlfriend was sick and vomiting, the staff called me a doctor, and the doctor gave my girlfriend a shot to stop the vomitting and he suggested hydration and soup, but it was so late everywhere was closed.
The chef even though her kitchen had already closed for dinner made my girlfriend a chicken soup that my girfriend loved.
The worker openned up the locked store area to get me water bottles. Needless to say had I not had their help the trip may have taken a turn for the worse.

My girlfriend was sick cause we had a whole day in a hot bus from Belmopan to Placencia and the bus wouldn't let anyone get off to get water and stuff. But that's a regular bus route complaint.

The resteraunt was reasonably priced, I had been in Belmopan and had been overcharged for food so it was nice to have affordable delicious meals. We ate there almost every meal but I had to get a taste for the local stuff to and we ate at Danube, an austrian resteraunt within walking distance, and the Barefoot Bar in Placencia, both of those were delicious as well.

The hotel even arranged for our tour, and our flights, it was great not having to worry about anything.
I am absolutely positively going back someday to this hotel.

Room Tip: Why get an ocean view room? Just walk outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakoNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were family and friends for a total of four rooms for four nights... two before a Moorings charter, and two after the charter. The best feature of the hotel was responsiveness to calls and emails and an ability to accomodate reasonable changes. I liked the setting several miles north of Placencia proper and the landscaping and the white-lined concrete walks... wierd stuff. Being a short walk across the main penisular road from the Moorings was a real benefit. We all appreciated the free WiFi on premises and a decent PC in the lobby for those travelling light.

I thought the restaurant was also very nice... early coffee (local stuff called Gallon Jug Arabica, similar to Peet's Major Dickason blend) on levels overlooking pool and grounds. Wait staff very friendly, attentive and the food was outstanding. They even extended hours for us one evening due to a scheduling hiccup. The hotel arranged Belize airport pickup and drop and the driver and van were tip-top... the cost reasonable.

No phones in room kills room service and wake-ups and concierge-style planning. Some construction remains to be completed.

Room Tip: Some top flr rms have spa up a steep outside stair
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat-Sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Ten of us recently stayed here before a bareboat charter with Moorings. The Moorings / Sunsail base is on the lagoon side, and Laru Beya is just across Palencia Road on the Carib side. I have stayed in several hotels that were affiliated in some way with Moorings and Sunsail, and Laru Beya was by far the best. Lizbeth at the front desk is great, and she arranged a bonefishing trip for me that I will never forget. We loved the staff, Trinnell's cooking (the best conch chowder I've ever had), Manny's rum punches, the pool, and the low key atmosphere.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank berkeleyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

A number of us stayed at Laru Beya before embarking on a sailing trip. I arrived early and toured the country first. The accomodations were wonderful. My room was at the pool, completely comfortable and everything worked perfectly.

The bar and restaurant are basically tree houses above the ground by 20-30 feet and accessed by a lovely staircase. Since they are higher up, and open on the sides, there is always a wonderful cool breeze blowing through. And, there is a nice view of the pool on one side and the jungle on the other. Food and drink in the bar/restaurant are outstanding. We ate in town only once because the food was so much better at Laru Beya.

And the staff is the best. They arranged some great travelling for me and were completely attentive to the needs of everyone in our party. A really great spot made even better by a great staff.

Only negative is that although the resort is located right on a nice beach, with chairs, umbrellas, etc., at least when we were there, the water was pretty stirred up and so was silty and dirty with seawood and other junk. But the beach is a nice place to relax, and after a long day of vacationing, the pool is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Spent 11 days at Laru Beya and the only complaint was that the ice in my drink melted too fast. This place is great - rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The staff went out of their way time after time to make our stay even more enjoyable. Laid back with a personal approach... It doesn't get ant better. And their dive shop (Ocean Pro) is first rate. We're returning in November.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyhaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
20.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Property: Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing