We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaspray is my recommended place in Placencia”
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seaspray is my recommended place in Placencia”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Great place in Placencia, along the sidewalk (one of the narrowest roads in the world), straight at the beach. Rooms come in various sizes, I stayed in one of the bigger rooms, including a kitchenette. Clean, spacious, big balcony with sea view. Restaurant serves great cocktails and dito food!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterAdvices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    122
    34
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
138
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights over the New Year in Room #20 (Seaview Room). The room was basic but very clean and had a kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker, fridge and dishes, TV, ceiling fan and floor fan, a wardrobe, 2 chairs inside and a hammock and table and chairs on the balcony which overlooked the beach.

The location is very convenient for walking to any of the stores or restaurants in Placencia and the beach location is a definite bonus - just steps out of your room to one of the plentiful chairs or under a palm tree (watch out for falling coconute) for some relaxation.

Because of nightly noise from The Tipsy Tuna bar just down the beach, we would recommend taking ear plugs (we couldn't find them anywhere in town at pharmacies or hardware stores, so bring your own). The bass would pound until the wee hours of the morning. Other than this noise and a noisy neighbour horking constantly, we found the hotel to be very quiet.

Staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful with any questions or requests that we had.

Remember that you are on Belizean time, not North American time, and just relax. Food takes longer in Belize in general because it is prepared from scratch.

We ate once at De Tatch restaurant for breakfast on New Year's day when not much else was open and found the food to be good and plentiful, and the coffee excellent.

If you are a reasonable traveller on a budget and looking for a good beach hotel, we think you would enjoy Sea Spray.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I was very happy with my stay at the Sea Spray and do not understand the negative reviews - if you book a basic room (budget) room like I did, it was exactly what you should expect. The staff let us inspect the room before we booked as we had visited three or four other hotels before arriving in Placencia that day.

The beds were comfortable and although the bathroom was very basic, the shower was nice and hot! The room was clean and trash was removed each day.

I absolutely loved the beach-front location.. when you left your room you are in the sand, and Sea Spray has a bunch of chairs to relax on the beach (see picture). It was right next door to a GREAT seafood restaurant and within walking distance of everything Placencia had to offer.

I would absolutely stay there again and believe it was great value for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobalMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Rooms are hot and uncomfortable and have giant cockroaches. The staff messed up my reservation and did not apologize. The hotel's security is garbage. A creepy guy followed us to our room and stood their banging on the door attempting to get in for hours with no intervention form staff even after the front desk was informed by a friend in another room. If safety is a top concern or you are young women traveling alone, this hotel is not for you. Wi-Fi does not work. Go to the De Tatch restaurant for great Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHBOSSPlacencia, Owner at Seaspray Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Customer arrived a day early - requested accommodation unavailable. Discount expected.

Customer also had no confirmed reservation (no return of signed confirmation form OR deposit).

The individual responsible for disturbing this guest was actually picked up by the Tourism Police the first evening of her stay.

Customer herself never informed front desk staff of disturbance - was reported by another guest.

Security on staff EVERY evening. Were made aware of situation and directed to be vigilant.

Placencia, Belize is located in a Central American country very close to the equator. Temperatures are high in the summer months. Economy Room amenities do NOT include air conditioning.

Again - Placencia, Belize is located in Central America. Please bear in mind that as a third-world country, WiFi and other internet options may not be as dependable as our international guests are accustomed to. Note: De'Tatch Restaurant is part of the same facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Seaspray for 4 night of our honeymoon. From the moment we got there Christy at the front desk took care of everything for us- she booked our flight to Belize City, booked us a taxi, called around about whale shark snorkeling, and answered all of our questions about places to eat, shops to visit and so on. She was so helpful! We stayed in their Seaview room #21. It had a king size bed, private bathroom, wardrobe, shelves, t.v., kitchenette with full sized refrigerator and freezer, sink, microwave, plates, cups, utensils, and a porch with table, chairs, and hammock. The room was cleaned daily. There was complimentary shampoo and soap and their water came from a treatment plant so it was safe to drink the tap water. Seaspray is located on the sidewalk and is a 5 minute walk to the end of the sidewalk and the lagoon side of the peninsula. On the beach in front of Seaspray they had nice wooden beach chairs for their guests. It was very quiet at night and we never had any problems. This a great inexpensive place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Very laid back, great rooms for an inexpensive price. Directly on the beach, great staff, clean rooms. Pefect for most people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PirateGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed at Sea Spray's "Heaven's Gate Beach Bungalow" (www.heavensgatebeachbungalow.com) which is a 5 minute walk north of their main hotel. They have 2 thatched-roofed units; one located right on the beach, and one a little further back but still with a view of the ocean. We stayed at the one closer to the ocean and it was simply a beautiful view. The unit is simple inside with basic kitchen equipment, one queen-sized bed, a table with a couple chairs, and a large bathroom. It has a nice wrap-around porch with 2 chairs and a hammock. There are also a couple of palapas just steps from the bungalow. This unit is located towards the north end of the sidewalk so it's a quick walk into the main town area but it's far enough away that we never heard the music and nightlife, which was perfect for us. The unit doesn't have A/C but it does have a fan and lots of windows. Most of the time there was a nice breeze to keep the place cool. The bed was pretty hard but at least it wasn't saggy or springy. We did have a flat screen TV but we didn't turn it on once!

We simply love Placencia! The beaches and water are beautiful, the people are very welcoming, and it's a nice laid-back town. There is such a great variety of restaurants that in 10 days, we only visited a couple of them twice. Our favorites were The Secret Garden, Rumfish y Vino, Omar's, and The Shack. We went on several tours - snorkeling was pretty good - not the best we've seen but definitely worth the boat ride to one of the cayes; saw some howler monkeys and other wildlife on the Monkey River Tour; visited the Lubantuum Ruins and swam in the Blue Creek Cave with waterfalls which was amazing; and visited the Cockscomb Jaguar Reserve - saw no jaguars but had a nice walk through the jungle and saw some neat birds; our guide also took us to a waterfall where we walked/slid down some natural waterslides.

When we were in Belize it was the end of tourist season so there weren't a lot of other tourists. We did have some trouble booking tours since there are many tour companies in Placencia but most tours need a minimum of 4 people and the companies don't really work together to combine people. We did finally end up finding a guide who would take just the two of us (which was great to have a personal tour guide w/out the crowds!), but you may need to make friends with other travelers if you run into the same problems we did.

Other fun things we did included renting a mo-ped for a few hours and traveled up north to Siene Bight for lunch and tried to find the "chocolate factory". It's just a couple of bungalows north of Siene Bight by the Blue Crab beach. They make and sell the best chocolate, however it was closed the day we were there. In Placencia many of the shops and grocery stores sell it so we were still able to enjoy. We had a drink at The Singing Sands Inn which is a lovey property - would need a rental car or taxi cabs to stay there however since it's several miles from anything else. We also rented a kayak from Paradise Hotel located on the tip of the peninsula and toured around the mangroves. A manatee bumped our boat at one point - scary but fun.

If you go to Placencia, stay at Heaven's Gate for a relaxing, beautiful, quiet location. You won't need to rent a car as you'll be able to walk to everything you need in town. Go on some tours to see the rest of Belize; they can be expensive but trying to find some of these places on your own may not be worth the trouble. Also many of them require a certified guide to be with you anyway. Bring lots of sunscreen and bugspray. Don't bring your fancy clothes or your hair dryer. Bring quick-drying clothes, books to read, lightweight pants and hiking shoes for jungle tours. Talk with the locals who are so friendly and buy some of their handmade goods. Don't expect a fast-pace vacation here but a relaxing one you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 19 in Placencia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Property: Seaspray Hotel
Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing