We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the little cabana!”
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Loved the little cabana!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights in the cabana, and just loved it! The cabana sits slightly forward, so the view from the front porch is completely unobstructed in both directions down the beach. It is just a few steps to the water. There are 4 beach chairs, a small table with two chairs, and a very nice hammock. Just can't be beat.

Inside there is a pretty full kitchenette, hot plate, microwave, and fridge, plus all the utensils needed to cook a pretty fair meal. The extremely clean cabana has good beds, great linens, lots of pillows, and an excellent shower. There are louvered, screened windows on all 4 sides, 2 fans, but no AC. We found the December weather perfect, and only used the fans a couple of times. Even though we were close to the restaurant, it seemed to quiet down very early. Of course we were well forward of the kitchen area.

There is a full service grocery store, and a fruit and veggie stand, within a block of the hotel. There is also a bank, golf cart rental, and laundry in the immediate vicinity.

We didn't have a car, instead used taxis when we needed transport. Everything in Placencia is pretty much within walking distance. We spent three days on tours with Eagle Ray Tours - loved them! We fished the first day, so kept enough fish for two nights dinners in the cabana. Of all the places we stayed in Belize, this was my favorite. While it's a long haul out to the reef, you just can't beat that fabulous beach. I would very highly recommend this destination, and the Seaspray Hotel!

Room Tip: Cabana was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    122
    34
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
138
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Davis, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in one of the seaside rooms at $60 per night. They have clean, comfortable rooms for as little as $25 US. Lots of palm trees, lots of sand on a very nice, well kept beach on the Caribbean. Had A/C, full kitchen, and a great front porch facing the sea.

It was a little noisy in the late evenings as our room was within 20' of the back door of the DeTatch restaurant (owned by the same family). Restaurant staff was very loud until closing, as the restaurant is open and the kitchen back doors were open.

Parking is strange as the hotel is on the "Placencia Sidewalk", not on a main street. However, vehicle on street a block away was not harmed nor damaged in anyway.

Room Tip: Get a Seaview room, but get it away from the restaurant, or maybe on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob79734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed a week at the Seaspray. We stayed in the seaview room with air. The rooms are clean with a kitchenet and most eveything we needed. Walking distance to all you want to do in Placencia. Full size frig and market is just a block away. The Staff was all very friendly. You could see the sea from our room it was a abstructed view. It had a nice big balcony. Which we enjoyed reading on our down time. The biggest negatives that we have is the hotel is very noisy you might want to bring ear plugs if you want a good nights sleep. Also the beds are very hard. We did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room closer to the sea and maybe wouldn't be so loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labaker026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is simply the best deal in Placencia. I have been bringing groups to Belize since 1990, and we always stay at the Sea Spray when we're in Placencia. The restaurant next door, DeTatch, is pretty much the best food deal in town, too...

Room Tip: With the constant sea breeze, the few rooms with air conditioning are not necessary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BookbagSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLONIAL HEIGHTS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We took a TradeWind vacation and had to find a place to stay when we got off the boat. Some of our boat mates had stayed here. We walked over and booked the room. Hammock on the front balcony, ice box, coffee pot and microwave, clean bathroom, direct tv, big fan, it was very old fashioned and neat. We hung our wet clothes on the close line outside of our room. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Met the owner and her little dog, she was very nice. Hotel is for sale.

Room Tip: bring your own coffee and buy a can of condensed milk for your morning coffee. Lots of local grocer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BONNIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I am surprised Seaspray isn't rated more highly on the Trip Advisor scale - as we wandered around Placencia it certainly seemed to be one of the nicer ones. Nicely situated amongst palm trees and right on the water's edge, we wished we had more time to spare at the end of our Raggamuffin cruise. Rooms were cute and very clean, and I've never been provided with so many towels at a hotel! Great little toiletries provided too. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the little book exchange corner is a nice touch too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We always enjoyed our stay at the Sea Spray. The rooms are clean and the staff very obliging.
Our first stay there we came without a reservation and were warmly welcomed however I would recommend a reservation.
The view of the water. is second to none and falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the surf is the most relaxing experience.
I would stay there again.
Judy and Lorne Tilson

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalo2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 19 in Placencia
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Property: Seaspray Hotel
Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing