We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaspray Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$175
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$197
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
$119
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chabil Mar(Placencia)
$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatchet Caye Resort(Placencia)
$350
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
128
129
35
4
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
129
35
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea sprayde tatcheconomy roomcheap roomprivate balconyceiling fangreat budget hotelsmall kitchenetteoffice stafftipsy tunasecond floor balconywithin walking distanceper nightbeach chairsfull size fridgeking bedhot water
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 309 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Stayed 2 nights here - self, wife, adult son in next room. We had the ground-floor room which has its own balcony right on the sand - nicest room I think (also the cabana has a similar position). Room not large but big enough. Well run place -Hubert is the handyman who looks after the place well and helps with luggage. Overall, particularly because of the location, this is probably the best seaside hotel in the world we have ever stayed and at only US$50 a room! - at the same time small, peaceful and natural surroundings. The sea was like a warm bath and shelved gradually. Staff will help book trips - we went on the manatee watch - fairly pricey but we had good sightings. Placencia itself is a great place - laid back with a real caribbean feel. The De Tatch restaurant is part of the Seaspray and was very good, not expensive and an unbeatable location. On our second night we intended to eat somewhere else but having looked at several others they didnt match up to the De Tatch and we went back there. The road to Placencia is not too bad for an unsurfaced road. Only problem is that you can't drive right to the Seaspray if you have 2-wheel drive, but Hubert will wheelbarrow your luggage the 100 yards or so.
Definitely a place we'd like to go back to!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymraeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We loved this little place, lots of character , beautiful gardwns , the staff was helpful and lovely ( and believe me I had a lot of questions) they went above and beyond to find the answers to all my bizarre questions.... we were in the cabana, and it was right on the beach... lots of shade.... we loved it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cubby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My wife and I arrived in Placencia on the last bus of the evening and headed for the Seaspray Hotel, based on Lonely Planet's review of the property. We were, as far as we could tell, the only guests and were given room 10, which is called a seaview room. The room was clean, but a bit small with two beds in it. The room had a refrigerator and a reasonable bathroom for the price. No air conditioning, but, as mentioned in another review, there were fans to stir up the air a bit. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay. With no other guests, we had our choice of the chairs on the beach and it was quiet in the evening. The Seaspray offers a choice of rooms. There are Economy, Seaside (the rooms at the end of the main building, on the beach), Seaview, a Cabana, and what they call the Seastar Room. We felt our room was a good value. The restaurant, DeTatch, was closed our first night there but we ate breakfast there both mornings of our stay and the service was quick and friendly. We are early risers and were glad the restaurant opened at 7 am. The staff at the Seaspray were friendly and suggested restaurants and were knowledgeable about how to get tickets for the ferry to Honduras. Placencia is a quiet place and we liked having nothing to do but enjoy the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

I stayed for 3 nights in one of the "seaside rooms". For the price the hotel was a great value.

The room was comfortable with 2 beds (a single and a double), fridge and bathroom. The shower in the bathroom was great with good pressure and lots of hot water. The room was a little hot without much ventilation despite windows on both sides. There was a ceiling fan and 2 other fans in the room which helped circulate the air a bit.

The staff was helpful and efficient. We booked tours thru the hotel (with a company called DTourz that was just a short distance away down the sidewalk) and had no problems. the hotel is also an agent for mayan air and can book flights for you if needed.

The restaurant DeThatch serves good food, however the service is incredibly slow. We waited over an hour for breakfast one mornng and eventually had to bail on our food because we had a tour booked, but they still charged us for the meal. Their dinners were good and the serving sizes were huge!

The location of the hotel is great - right on the sidewalk and close to all the amenities. The hotel is right on a nice bit of beach and there are chairs and lots of palm trees for shade. Perfect place to sit and read!

Definitely would recommend this hotel to the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We walked into Placencia without a reservation and the SeaSpray had a vacancy. The price was pretty cheap for a double room. Not bad! The room was clean and simple and even had a fridge (a Belize luxury for us). The hotel is directly on the beach and close to many great eating spots. Enjoyed this hotel very much!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intelinside5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews