We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for relaxation, stay somewher else”
Review of Maya Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maya Breeze Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We were looking for a place to relax and soak in Maya Beach and unfortunately Maya Breeze Inn provided exactly the opposite. Every night we were kept awake until an average time of 3:00am by the radio playing "just another gringo in belize" excessively loud and the poolside bar participants talking even louder so they can hear each other over the music.

It is unfortunate that Maya Breeze Inn has become a local party place. Not that we have a previous experience with Maya Breeze Inn but from the sounds of it, Maya Breeze Inn has not always been this way. The pool was installed earlier this year, as was the poolside bar, and I believe this is what has brought about the changes in atmosphere.

We stayed in room C and were assured it had a ocean view....needless to say you can not see the ocean nor can you even hear it during the night over the pool side bar. We had dead cockroaches in our kitchen cabinets, live ones every night in the bathroom, and a huge lizard or something crawling in our ceiling two nights. We tolerated the music by laying restless in our bed the first two nights. The third night I had enough at 2am and finally went out to ask the owner to turn the music down. They obliged by saying we were wrapping the night up anyways...not a "sorry about that" or "we apologize for the inconvenience", etc...

The ladies that worked there were very nice and friendly and a pleasure to work with. The other staff was friendly as well. One of our “guides” had a diesel motor that leaked oil and we smelled that for 3 hours each way on our drive to the zip line. We both got a little sick and I think it was from the exhaust (carbon monoxide poisoning possibly). If you smell oil when you get in a rig and its going to be a long drive, I would suggest getting out and asking for someone else or planning a different trip.

As for trips I highly suggest the jaguar preserve with river tubing through the jungle and waterfall adventures. The zip line was great but make sure you combine it with something else as the 6 hr total drive time is too much for just the zip line.

In summary…I would not suggest maya breeze inn unless you want a place to party on the beach. I am sorry to say it but we would not stay there again and I am very disappointed with our experience at Maya Breeze Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pwoens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbeangial, New Manager at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

Management apologizes to the visitor who accordingly was disturbed during nights they were accomodated by us. However, viewers must be aware that the Inn has not become a local place for partying. In addition, the liquor license policy states a specific time for closing which has been respected by this business. Furthermore, with regards to 'guides', our staff may book/confirmed tours upon the request of our visitors. Yet again, they have the option of choosing their own guides at their expense. In this case, they took the risk and select a guide who was inadequate. The Inn is not to take any responsibility for their discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I chose this place last minute when Singing Sands decided to close for a few months (we had reservations to stay there). I chose it because it also had cabana's on the beach and a freshwater pool.

I will say that the ladies working in the office/kitchen are very nice and accomodating, and the staff was nice. However we had problems which I will explain that would prevent us from ever returning.

I was told that we could see the beach from our porch in unit C, however, if you stand in the middle of the porch and look out you see a bushy plant and not the beach. The beach can be see by standing at the very edge of the porch or on the steps and looking out. So we never used the hammock on the porch due to no views. The room was basically clean other than the few dead cockroaches we found in the cupboard (we didn't cook there anyway so this didn't matter).

The pool and beach bar are nice, however I found myself never really wanting to sit out by the pool as it was typically being used by staff or other other people just stopping by to use it. I would have loved to just lay out by the pool but just didn't feel comfortable doing so (especially with the pool bar crowd). The beach bar definately attracts people from all over. It is open to the public, which is fine, if it was limited to reasonable hours and noise levels. However, the four nights we stayed there were basically sleepless due to the music being played at very loud levels until 3-4 in the morning. The third night my husband finally went out at 2am and asked that they turn down the music (which they did, but this should not have been necessary). This is just bad customer service if you are keeping up your guests all night. It o appears the owner is satisfying his own need to party to the detriment of his guests. He is a nice enough person, but it is sad because he does drink all day and night.

So, needless to say we did not find this to be the relaxing environment we had hoped and were very disappointed with these accomodations. We will not go back there and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful, quite place to stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank alynn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just came back from Placencia, and need to report that the Maya Breeze is no longer owned by Buddy and Teresa - to the extreme detriment of the resort. Instead, the owner is a man who is there 6 months of the year (in the US the other 6), the other 6 months leaving his nearly always drunk brother in charge. Although the hotel itself is pretty and in a lovely spot with a nearly new pool and beach bar, those areas are full night and day with the hotel staff - also all drunk. From the bartender to the cook to the maintenance man and owner's brother, as the afternoon and evening (and early morning - one day till 5:30 AM) drags on, the music gets louder and louder and the party rages on. The employees shower right on the beach in full view of the world - shampoo and all - and the drugs are barely concealed. This is so very much NOT Maya Beach-like. When we were there, the front desk clerk - who chose not to be part of the party - quit in frustration with this ongoing situation.

It's a shame to see this cute little place have this issue, as their reputation before this was stellar. But after a week of this going on 20 hours a day, NO THANK YOU! Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else if you want the "normal" Placencia Maya Beach experience. You definitely won't find it here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 12,272,008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to express to the Trip Adviser community what your experience was. The Maya Breeze Inn is now under new management and ownership but still respects the history and previous comments that have taken place over multiple years and ownerships and would like to keep that line of communication open. Our new management is dedicated to catering to the individual needs of every single one of our guests; and are very sad to hear that you did not have a good stay at the Maya Breeze. We would like to invite you to come back during your next stay in Belize as will guarantee that none of our staff will be showering out in the open, soap or no soap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I can honestly say that this vacation was an amazing adventure. My sister decided to get married at Maya Breeze Inn right on the beach and boy was it ever so beautiful. The hotel staff was amazing with all the help and organizing of the wedding decorations and of course they made the cake! I enjoyed my visit here with my daughter Jenny we had an amazing time. Ginger and Jenny

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AmazingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Not impressed at all. The staff was pleasant, the rooms adequate, the management was another story. Stay at the Maya Beach hotel for a better overall stay - and a few dollars cheaper.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank elizhebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at the Maya Breeze for 10 days in March 2007. It has recently changed hands, but so far, things were consistent with what we had heard from the "Buddy and Tressa Days".

Our two bedroom suite (D) was clean and comfortable, with a lovely view of the sea, 60 feet away. Tucked under a nice canopy of trees, we enjoyed a nice breeze all day and night, which really helped us Northerners acclimatize.

The beach is not great for swimming, but we did swim there daily. The prevailing winds generate a fairly hefty surf, which keeps the water cloudy. I am usually squeamish about swimming in water where I can't see the bottom, but I strapped on my hiking sandals and went in anyway. There is the odd patch of short turtle grass, but the water deepens quickly, and it was fun bobbing in the swell.

The only meal served is breakfast, which is tasty and fairly inexpensive. A definite high point is the excellent home made banana bread, and the sublime Belizean orange juice. For lunches and dinners, we recommend The Hungry Gecko, just a short walk down the road. The food there is very tasty, Belizean/Honduran and both the fried chicken dinner and fresh fish dinners were big favourites. Definitely try the shrimp quesadillas. In Placencia, eat at Yoli's Bar, outdoors over the water. Their fish is fabulous.

The staff at the Maya breeze were wonderful, our rooms were spic and span (in spite of all the sand we managed to track in). Even the Inn dogs were delightful, two friendly beasts who were always up for a tummy rub.

As this inn is north of the airport, about 20 minutes drive out of Placencia, we advise you have a rental car if you are staying here. We drove into Placencia daily for dive trips with Splash dive shop, and also did our own day trips to Punta Gorda, Lubantuun, and the Cockscomb Wildlife Sanctuary (be sure you rent an inner tube and tube down the river there, fabulous!). Having our own vehicle saved us a huge sum against booking the day trips through our hotel for our family of four, as the transport fees are hefty. And we liked the spontaneity the vehicle gave us, expensive as it was!

My only quibble, and it relates only to Suite D, is the wretched floodlight that is attached to the wall of the suite opposite. A very, very bright floodlight, it shone directly into our bedroom all night long, most annoying. We got used to sleeping in the glare, but it meant sitting on the deck at night was horrible, with this big light shining in your eyes. Management should relocate this light or at least make it motion sensor only (presently it goes on at dusk and off only at dawn, horrible).

Aside from that, a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank westernwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

Our family of 7 spent this past Christmas in Belize at the Maya Breeze Inn, Placencia. The Maya Breeze Inn is all it is advertised to be and more. The cottages are very comfortable and roomy and they are in fact right on the beach. The beach is clean, the water is clear and never crowded.
The owners of Maya Breeze, Buddy and Tressa Olson are the nicest, kindest caring people you would ever want to meet. Buddy took my grandson fishing twice and Tressa played basketball with him. Buddy would come down to the beach ,sit with us and tell stories of the local flora and fauna and of course a lot of fishing stories. I was very sick the last two days we were there and they could not do enough for me. They made arrangments to have their doctor come to the Inn to treat me and they checked in with my family many times during the day to see how I was doing.
All those on the staff are a joy. Joyce and her cleaning, cooking and waitress staff are the best, always a big smile and cheery hello. Alex is the all around man on the property and what a good job he does, everthing on the property is always in good shape. Jessica is at the front desk and is a wealth of information on the area. She can make all your adventure reservations and will steer you in the right direction on restaurants and other local attractions.
The May Breeze Inn and the Maya Breeze people are high on our list of great vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranguana Caye Cabanas
Ranguana Caye Cabanas
#10 of 27 in Placencia
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenade Hotel
Serenade Hotel
#18 of 27 in Placencia
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Placencia Villas (formerly One World Rentals)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Breeze Inn

Address: # 5 Maya Beach Way | Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: $94 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya Breeze Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Breeze Inn is located on the Placencia Peninsula in Maya Beach, Belize, Central America. Maya or Tropic Air Airlines service the Placencia area several times a day or you can rent a car and drive from Belize City. The Inn consists of four beach cabins (for a total of five units) facing the Caribbean sea, a main lodge with the Inn's office and four guest rooms on the Placencia Lagoon, all with air conditioning,cable tv, refrigerators, hot water, fans, lock boxes and private balconies. The Inn has internet service for those who need to check in back home.Maya Breeze Inn caters to those guests who are looking for active adventure tours. Scuba diving, snorkeling and prime fishing grounds are found only a few miles offshore. Day trips can be arranged to explore the river, jungles, bird watching, Maya ruins, cave, peninsula tour, exploration or even mountain rappelling.You can walk the beach, swim in the ocean, play beach volleyball, go kayaking, ride bicycles, moped rentals, beach bbq, or relax on our white sandy beach with a cold beverage from our Tiki Beach Bar or sway in hammock under a palm tree. Come cool off in our beautiful Pool with its spectacular waterfall. For lunch and dinner there are a variety of restaurants and a convenience store within walking distance of the Inn or choose from a variety of restaurants that provide courtesy transfers. We can also arrange transportation to Placencia to shop or dine in local restaurants.Mayabreeze inn is presently under new ownership/management and wants to invite all its clients past and present to come experience true tropical vacation with us, once again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Maya Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Breeze Hotel Placencia
Maya Breeze Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing