We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ranguana Rocks!”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ranguana Rocks!”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My friends and I spent 7 nights at Ranguana in early August. We rented the 3 beachfront cabanas and positively loved them! Rita took fabulous care of us the entire week and made sure we were comfortable and happy. The location is ideal and we walked everywhere at night around town. The cabanas have a refrigerator, microwave, and cable TV (which we never used) and 3 of the 5 cabanas have air conditioning. There is almost always a breeze off the ocean there but, in my opinion, you need A/C in central america any time of year... We could not have been happier and feel like we definitely picked the best place in Placencia town to stay for the location and the money. I highly recommend it! Happy travels!

  • Liked — Location and quiet beachfront
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom and limited kitchen utensils
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kketch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

From what we saw, this is the best place in all of Placencia Village. Seriously.

(Okay...maybe besides Coppola's Turtle Inn ;-))

Definitely stay here!

We had a beachfront cabin. It was just perfect - clean, cool, and best of all: RIGHT ON THE BEACH. Also, it is walking distance to everything and is in the best location! I really have nothing bad to say about it - except that the sea grass is a bit much :) And keep your food put away - there are ants. But that is what the fridge is for!

We absolutely loved Placencia! We took a snorkeling trip to Laughingbird Caye, where they made us lunch right on the beach. It was so delicious. We had drinks and snacks every afternoon at the Barefoot Beach Bar and stocked our fridge with Belikins and snacks from the Everyday Supermarket. We had a wonderful dinner at Turtle Inn, if you feel like splurging. The only restaurant that wasn't good was Sunrise - right down the Sidewalk. It was pretty terrible, actually.

Oh yeah....and prepare yourself for the drive! The road to Placencia is heinous...but as my motto in Belize became, "at the end of every heinous drive is something fabulous!" And it's definitely true here!

Don't expect Cancun...mainly because in Cancun you don't get your own private beach! :)

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rosalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

My husband and our 2 children ages 12 and 7 spent 3 wonderful nights in the angel fish cabin, it was WONDERFUL!!
Joy and Rita were so friendly and helpful.

The beach is unforgettable, a wonderful breeze coming right off the ocean just feet away.

We were there during 07 lobsterfest, which was just a few yards down the beach from our cabin. we loved it, every night after the kids were asleep we would go sit on our pourch and listen to the live band. it would go untill 3am everynight....if you don't like party music book another weekend.

The best food at the best prices was at the De Tatch it was 2 doors down from Ranguana.
Our cabin had a frig, microwave, coffee pot and AIR! but with the wonderful breeze you don't even need it!

I can not say enough great things about our stay they are way to many to list!

We will be going back next year same time same place.

  • Liked — so close to the ocean, so clean, such friendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prissieKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2007

we have just returned from 2 weeks in belize. our first stop was in placencia, a little village in the south. we found the ranguana lodge in the lonely planet guide (love it) it was their first choice and ours now too. upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely brenda, so helpful and warm. our cabana had a kitchen, private porch with hammock and hot/cold shower (never needed the hot is was VERY warm there). joy and brenda were always ready to book a tour, help with our laundry and brenda even got a phone card for me AND made us reservations up north in caye caulker...

the ranguana is very close to good restaurants and fun bars....
the locals are really fun in placencia as well

we will (hopefully) return there one day...

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

Cabanas are beautiful, gorgeous grounds w/ tons of flowers, right on teh beach (get a beachfront cabana), comfortable bed, right in town but still quite. After seeing other accomodations in placencia, i was so glad i had stayed at ranguana.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eminzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We stayed in Ranguana Lodge for 6 nights. Placencia is the best. The Cabanas - we had a garden one - was about 20 feet from the beach and what a beach. Small by international standards but clean, white sand and gently shelving shore. No rocks or shingle and very very long. You can stand up in the water up to about 20 feet in. Even here huge starfish and fish abound. It has some of the best snorkling and diving to be had in Belize. I would recommend diving with Splash Belize. Pati was a great instructor and took us to some great places.

In our three weeks in Belize we stayed in the mountains, Belize City, Corozal, Placencia and Caye Caulker, Placencia was by a long mark far and away the best place. Very friendly locals, even other guests say "good morning" as you pass its that infectious, great food at great prices, well priced drinks. Not many restaurants or beach bars but what there is is great value. We felt safe and carefree the whole time.

The lodge was basic but clean. It was cleaned every morning with clean sheets and towels provided every day. It had a coffee machine and microwave and full sized fridge with freezer. Joy had great and friendly staff. The area had lovely flowers all over the place most visited quite regularly by humming birds. The beach was never full and you could walk the length of it, right to turtle point and beyond, in the surf, even at night. We walked back from Turtle Inn to Ranguana - 40 minutes - and felt safe the whole time.

I cant name any one bar or restaurant because we didnt have a bad meal the whole time we were there. The only thing that varied was the size of the meals. Be prepared to wait up to 40 minutes for your meal (depending on what you order) as everything is made freshly. That means the rice has to be boiled or the chicken has to be cooked.

The sandflies were not in evidence and the mozzies were negligable. A little "Off" applied and you wouldnt know they were out.

Mrs Beuala does the best "Bun" and "Creole Bread" in Placencia. She bakes and sells it in her own kitchen. A little sign indicates the way. Try it fresh after 10:00am every morning with butter. Brilliant with a coffee from the Secret Garden just across the way.

Dont by your hammocks here, if you can buy them in Belize City Tourist area, much cheaper.

If there is a down side its after dark when the local hoods try to sell you weed. We were not offered anything stronger so that was a blessing.

All in all a very pleasant experience. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Ranguana Lodge or Placencia. We are going to go back and we will be staying here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, daily clean towels and linen, full size fridge/freezer, coffee maker, microwave
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go with an open mind, enjoy the local food, dont take weed, take pleny of sun lotion, leave your shoes in the cabana, get up early, go to bed late
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Sun_tan_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la honda, california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2007

Just stayed six days in the Parrot Fish cabana of the ocean front Ranguana Lodge on the sidewalk in Placentia, Belize. Since we stayed here after reading tripadvisor reviews, we wanted to put our two cents in.

At $84 per night total cost, this was the bargain of our vacation. The room is simple, but virtually spotless and the location is unbeatable. We never got tired of walking up and down the sidewalk or just sitting in the beach chairs or hammock on the front porch. The oean and sand are literally your front yard. The huge refrigerater, microwave and coffee maker in the room allows you to take care of the basics, but we frequented the many restaurants for everything.

We had considered staying at fancier places up the road and are glad we went here. The manager Joy and her assistant are terrific. They recommended tour operators for excusions (Nite Wind at the harbor), handled our huge pile of laundary and booked our flight to Caye Caulker (book the Seaside Cabanas there, more expensive but worth it).

One tip. Book the ocean front cabanas to be closest to the water (
the two on the outside are best).

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank merrypranksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.7 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Property: Ranguana Lodge
Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing