We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right on the beach”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very cute cabanas with beautiful grounds. Some noise from adjacent bar, but usually quiet fter 10 pm. Enjoyed having the fridge and coffee pot. We brought a hand blender and fixed fresh fruit smoothies for breakfast. Very clean. Although we couldn't swim right off our beach, a 20 min. walk brought us to a wonderful sandy swim area. Nice to have the safe in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jorgys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We spent 1 night and had a great time. Very spacious and on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriSue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

These little cottages are the cutest place we stayed in Belize. They have a front porch and plenty of space. We stayed in Triggerfish and had two beds, fridge, toaster and coffee pot as well as a microwave. The bathroom was decent. The location is great for walking and you can't beat that ocean view. One word of caution...the wind really was blowing when we were there - kept us cool but was a bit much. We happened to be there for the "fireman's ball" at the Tipsy Tuna and did hear some noise into the wee hours...we left the party before it was over. However, we turned on the A/C and had no trouble sleeping!!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank auntkake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

In writing a review, one cannot blame nature in the overall experience. However, since early February, the shoreline of Placencia is about 30 feet deep in washed up sea grass. It's impossible to enter the water from the beach in front of Ranguana. We accepted this to be the fault of climate and storm fronts that had washed it in and simply camped out on the pier side, near The Shak during the day. Here the water clarity was remarkably improved (but with a dangerous current), and starfish and needlefish could be seen from the shore.

The Angel Fish cabana we had booked was set in from the two adjacent beachfront cabanas, which was misleading from their online site. This section is wind-battered and the wind howls at gale force at all times (those in the garden suites appreciated the windblock). This is why we also found the shelter of the Shak beach area more of a respite.

The wooden chaise lounges provided by Ranguana have no cushions, and no beach towels are provided. They weigh about 200 pounds each and are in the shade of palms by midday. However, landscaping staff are meticulous and rake and manicure the property each morning.

The cabana itself offers 2 Queen beds, TV with cable, microwave, toaster and fridge. The space is large, but could use a bit of a scrub. Housekeeping does come by daily, to replace linens and towels if necessary.

Aside from the seagrass, our greatest disappointment was in the THUMPATHUMPATHUMPA music that carried on well into the night from Saturday to our departure on Wednesday. The Tipsy Tuna and DeViner's bar (located directly beside the Ranguana) have live drumming, karaoke or music blaring each night until well past midnight. Even the sea breeze couldn't diminish the sound of the blaring music. A couple that had planned on staying at Raguana for 10 days packed up because of the music (even when told they would not receive a refund unless someone else booked their cabana). It was like sleeping with a nightclub operating in the livingroom.

Complaints to management were voiced and apparently they have been battling with town council with other local businesses to reach a joint agreement. Clearly, weary travellers have complained about this in the past. As this was the end of our two and a half weeks in Belize, we couldn't be bothered to pack up and try and find another place. We made ourselves scarce (music started at 5pm) as long as we could. No compensation was offered, just a shoulder shrug.

Under different circumstances (no Tipsy Tuna and DeViner's invading the otherwise peaceful sanctuary), it would be a great place to lay your head, but, be forewarned. If you are looking to party and booze well into the morning, then, you may not notice at all.

Cost: $360US, 4 nights
Taxi to Maya Island Air 8BZ (less than 10 minutes from air strip). Easy, punctual 35 minute flight to Belize City.

Room Tip: All cabanas have shaded verandas, Adirondack chairs and hammocks. The garden cabanas do not have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jtorti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Ranguana Lodge for 4 nights in January/2012. We paid $90/ dollars a night for the cabana in the garden. It was spacious, clean and had 2 beds so it could easily sleep a small family. It also had a kitchen with pretty much everything you needed. We didn't end up needing it but had we been staying longer it would been put to good use. At first we were a little bummed out about the garden suite since they have ocean front ones but in the end we were happy for the privacy and a little shelter from the wind at night. We could still see the ocean from the hammock on the porch so it was still a nice view. The office staff were helpful and mostly pleasant and they don't overcharge to have your laundry done. The cleaning staff were great, the only complaint I have is they don't seem to clean behind the bed. I think that should be done every time someone checks out. Overall it was good value, centrally located and a comfortable stay. If we go back we will definitely stay here again.

Disclaimer: My rating of very good is based on the fact that it isn't expensive, it's clean, and cute, centrally located and on the beach. If you are looking for something high end then this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

voir commentaires en français

You will be amazed by Placencia !
You will feel like a member of the community of this charming village !
Everybody greet you hello ! It is safe and quiet !
If you want to eat local : everything can be take out !
Here is an average : 3 meals a day for 2 persons : +/- $ 50.00 canadian.

- M & J ( the little red restaurant on the sidewalk beside the Tipsy Tuna ) :
It's Miss Miri - she is the QUEEN OF THE FRIED CHICKEN !
Even better... you can order your meal a day in advance, if she can, she will cook it !
BBQ chicken, pork stew, etc...
Real home cooking, clean kitchen !

- JEE & DEE'S on the main road : Lobster tail, Beef soup !

- OMAR'S on the main road : one night we had fresh Baracuda and Crab !

- GRILL & GO on the main road : Boil Up : vegetables soup with pig tail, Ribs on real wood charcoal !

- Rum Amateur : Real Good ! write us, will tell more !

- Cigars : fake cubans :(

- Beach amateur : This is not Cuba or the Dominican Republique. It is a unspoiled beach !
Pure ! Golden brownsugar sand, clean, long, and with see weed...yes...it's natural to find see weed in the sea and on the shore !

- Day trip - Xunantunich - the maya temple : private guide for the trip and the visit !
( recommanded by Joy and Shelly ) Write us, will tell you more...

- And the cabin : 50 feet in front of the ocean ! Balcony to take your 3 meals and enjoying the sea view !
Of all our 12 vacation trip we made over the last 20 years ( Bahamas, Cuba, Turk and Caicos, Caymans Islands, Dominican Republique, Chili, Mexico, Jamiaca, Venezuela, Costa Rica, Colombia, Honduras ) which were all great, none is compare to this one !This is the destination we allways dreamed of !

- Write us with pleasure ! if you want to know more...there is too many beautiful things to share, to write about this place..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank micnicmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I spent a lot of time reading reviews before our trip to Belize. You always wonder whether you are going to make the right decision. However, with Ranguana, we most certainly did. I have to add that we cycled from Placencia village all the way to Maya Beach (which is 7 miles from the village) and this is by far the best hotel within the village. Yes, there are other pricier hotels, but given their location you don't get to sample all the different restaurants/bars the village offers and taxi's are virtually non-existant. The cabanas itself were basic, but comfortable, clean and RIGHT ON the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful, free wifi, aircon, loungers outside your door (we stayed in Parrot Fish) and even fresh water outside the cabana to wash your feet before you go into the room. The ultimate relaxing atmosphere at sunset on your hammock people watching.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5 for aircon and get a villa facing the beach. Parrotfish room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marilyn123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#15 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $70 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing