We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place ...delicious dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place ...delicious dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My unlucky was did not had more time to enjoy it.
Nice room, a good place for running at morning on close the sea; but the better was the dinner. Amazing plate and the chef very kindle and professional.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Palma-CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    80
    42
    35
    28
See reviews for
63
152
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We never stayed here, but almost did. Wechanged our mind 2 hours after we sent in the credit card authorization because we found a place we liked more. No confirmations were sent from them, no contact was made after we sent in payment other than our cancelation 2 hours later. A few days after we requested a cancelation (which was under complete compliance to their rules) no one had contacted us yet and when we called or emailed, no one could help. They sounded like they were avoiding it and leading us in circles. 5 days after the cancelation, the money was taken out of our account. 5 days afterwards! Anyways, long story short, they wouldnt help us at all and were completely flakey and unprofessional after they found out we wanted to change hotels. After 20 days we canceled our card and filed fraud. We needed our 2k+ dollars back! Not sure if our card company is still trying to settle or not, but we do know, we will NEVER stay here no matter how nice it looks. Please be careful!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank cory j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlacenciaHotel, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We would like to respond to the above Fraud on credit card claim.
If this customer feels that he was in anyway inconvenienced
we do appologise. The credit card was immediately charged once it was received as previous emails had stated.
The Placencia Hotel has since then refunded that credit card for the total amount previously charged. We ask that the customer review his bank records to verify what i have stated is true. We hope you enjoy your vacation where ever that maybe and have a wonderful Belizean experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 9 days at the Placencia Hotel and we absolutely loved it. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. It seemed everyone we met remembered our names. The grounds are very well kept. The restaurant is amazing. Very clean, very comfortable place to stay. Be sure to book a tennis lesson with Tennis Bob, he is a great instructor and an overall pleasure to be around.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BachSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have been to this resort twice. We found it to be quite enjoyable. The condo we stayed in was gorgeous and very clean. The pool is large and warm and gorgeous. We loved the swim up bar!! The food in the resturant was very tatsey. The peir bar was great!! The beach was nice. The water wasnt as clear and blue as other places we have been but it was very warm. The grounds are gorgeous. The staff are very nice and helpful. We booked a couple of snorkel and dive excursions that were great!! Belize is the best snorkeling we have ever had. The Mayan ruins were fabulous also. We had a great stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SnorkleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Room is a little spartan, but everything is functional and clean. Good tv in room. Beautiful pool and beach area. The thing that makes the experience great is the new chef, Laurant. Not only is he a great French chef, he is Mr. hospitality. He makes you feel like you have your own private chef. Mariano, our waiter was also wonderful and provided excellent and professional friendly service.

Great people make a great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have traveled to Belize 6 times now, and i will not stay anywhere else. The Placencia resort is definitely the safest and cleanest place in Belize. Like i tell everyone of my buddies about Belize. Don't expect a senior frogs filled with college students passed out on the floors. Belize is not a party driven tourist country. Its a pure, untamed part of the world that offers beauty, culture and history beyond your imagination. And The Placencia is the perfect launching place to experience that. If you want to experience a world that doesn't have a McDonalds around every corner. The Placencia staff will help you get there. If you want to get lost and away from the daily rat race. Belize is the best place for that, and the Placencia Hotel is where to do it. Their Staff is awesome, the resort is clean, and with security walking the perimeter, i always feel safe. I love the reviews about the food and restaurant. I have never had a bad meal there, not to mention. At least they aren't serving Chicken, beans and rice. Cause as soon as you go on the Hiking trips, Mayan Ruin climbing and or visiting some of the local areas. Chicken, Beans and Rice are all you are going to eat. The Placencia Hotel has great food, and great service. I have met the owners a few times and their goal is to offer the best that Belize has and make sure your family and friends are as comfortable as theirs. I highly recommend the Monkey river trip. you will understand how living in a jungle can be really tough. I love the Placencia hotel, and im trying to get down there for new years 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I we've spent a week at this fantastic resort and we've not experienced any single discrepancy. After placing our reservation we've been through some comments here so we've been travelling with the fear to be experiencing problems during our vacation.
Our doubts were immediately vanishing after the very first day of our stay.
We've been astonished by the luxurious gardens that we believe are maintained meticulously, the friendly welcome at the front desk and the attention they've reserved to us.
We've reserved a master and the room we've been accommodated was great. Big living with kitchenette facility even though never used. Ample bed room with king size bed full of light available through windows facing the big balcony and far beyond the gorgeous swimming pool.
Our biggest concern was related with the food. We've been through several post before were the comments were not exactly positive. On the contrary, we've been experiencing one of the most delightful cuisine in a long time. The touch of the French chef Mr. Laurence it's simply superb and he's really honoring to the worldwide known French cuisine. For some reason we've felt something was not matching the previous posts so we've been investigating a little bit and we've discovered he joined the resort back in March. We can only sympathize with those visiting this resort before that were unable to experience the reasonable improvement they've made.
A special mention to the other staff member at the bar, dining room and pool bar. They're always ready and attentive with a smile on their face let you feeling pampered. No request of our was not fulfilled timely and professionally. During our stay the number of guests was not so big. However we have to consider this is the low season and even if you go to the village, you don't see that much of people as well. As far we are concerned, this is a plus for us. We don't like crowded places therefore the level of noise and of shouting and screaming people was perfect! The village itself is an approx 1000 people village but you can find practically everything you might be looking for. Restaurants, small souvenir shops and places to chill out at night sipping a drink are available. We chosen not to take any tour....we're not that much into adventure but the staff at the front desk they were plenty of info about available activities and tour available upon request. The only disappointing issue was the moment we've been forced to leave this piece of paradise. We will definitely pay another visit to this resort.

Room Tip: The level of comfort and the complete lack of any noise at night wouldn't make any difference to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
8.9 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
14.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Placencia Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Property: The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Placencia Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Placencia Hotel is the fastest growing Hotel in the general area offering the finest amenities and service to an ever discerning clientele visiting Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Placencia Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Placencia
The Resort Placencia
The Placencia Hotel And Residences Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing