We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience in Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Experience in Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This trip was amazing. The ladscapes of The Placencia were immaculate, the beach was raked everyday. The staff was amazing! They were involved in all the activitites and they knew (by face) who we were. The breakfast service was very good, Devy (our server) was amazing. They kept the pool and pool bar open late the Thursday we were there, it had good music, competitions and swimming. All the excersions were reasonably priced, we did 3 all together. All the tour guides were very knowledgable and kept you intrigued throughout the time you were with them. also, lunch was always included!

If you go, the village is a great place to buy souveniers and Omar's Grub is a must eat!! If you have any big plans, talk to the general manager or concierge- they will help you with anything you need. I got engaged on a private a la carte meal with the assistance of the staff.

The rooms were very clean, always tided well. The room size was very good for 2 people. We had a gardenview room, that over looked the pond. Very efficient check in and check out, all services were provided with this hotel.

Overall, best all inclusive stay I have had thus far. We even got to see Ally (the crocodile) that is fed by staff- so no worrying about attacks, that was very exciting! The only change I would make, would be to the menu. There was a fairly good variety, however, too much chicken. But you cannot come into this experience thinking its a 5 star restaurant all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    81
    42
    35
    28
See reviews for
65
154
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay, just to sleep, not eat or enjoy yourself, then this is an ok place. The resort itself is beautiful, that will be a 4.5/5, however we had booked all inclusive....it's not all inclusive. The hotel is small, fairly clean, but refused clean sheets after a class of students arrived: "There's not enough sheets now." and we ended up with a bare mattress. There are sand flees on the small beach, and two places to eat.

The food comes out on a rolling trolly of about four chaffing dishes. Line up folks, because if you aren't one of the first in line, the food is gone, and that's it....you don't get to eat. It's not a buffet, as promised. It is limited, and poor quality food. I am not a drinker, but if I was, one local beer and rum is included, the rest: Pull out your wallet.

Do not book tours through the hotel. They will cancel after you show up and wait, or charge you 2.5 X the amount. The local villages and people are the best to book in. Way less money, far more reliable, and you can throw in a huge tip without it coming close to the hotel's fees, which benefits the poor people.

DO NOT BOOK WITH SUNWING OR FLIGHT CENTRE. We landed and our agent was to book us on a connector mini flight and didn't bother to. We had to miss 2 half days to take a taxi in the heat and dark (an extra 600.00) to get to Placencia.

SUNWINGS response: It's a 3rd world country, and there's food and laundry shortages. Let me tell you, we had to leave and eat in the villages. There was NEVER a shortage of food or hospitatlity.

The country is beautiful. Visit Monkey River for sure. And Caye Caulker. If you've been to Mexico or seen other Mayan ruins....I'd do something else. They look nearly the same.

I would go to Belize again, but do my own thing with locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Benita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Placencia during a relatively quiet week for them -- just before March break. The staff are friendly and attentive without 'hovering.' The food was great; even though there were fewer people than they were accustomed to, they still managed to provide some variety. The shrimp ceviche was especially good, and the fresh fruit and vegetables -- in what back home is still the middle of winter -- were much appreciated.

Tour options were good and the two tours we took were both really well done. A couple of people thought the all-day one was pricey, so they rented a car and went off to do it by themselves...by the time they added up everything it cost them, it cost them just as much, and they missed a dedicated, knowledgable guide, and a great local lunch. Moral of the story: the tour prices might seem a bit high, but you can't really do it cheaper yourself, and you really do miss out if you don't take in at least one or two of the tours.

The water in Belize is perfectly good and safe, and the official language is English. I'm surprised more Canadians don't go. It does take a bit longer to get there, but our trip there and back was smooth sailing, even with the transfer to the smaller aircraft at Belize City.

We had a great time; I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We had a sea view junior suite; the balcony overlooked the pool and the ocean. Loved the balcony opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

During our visit to Belize in the summer of 2012 we also visited Placencia and stayed at this gorgeous hotel. We loved it. The rooms are great, beds are comfy. Its like a mini apartment that we all enjoyed. The have a TV with cable if you want to enjoy a show or movie at night or for our case when the kids wanted to watch their cartoons. We spent most of our days by the pool area and the beach. The pool area has a place for the small kids which I loved cause my two year old was able to enjoy it. They have a pool bar so there is no need to go anywhere to get a drink you can swim right up to it. We got hungry while at the pool and it was so convenient that we could call the kitchen and ask for appetizers such as wings or ceviche to eat. The hotel is also on the beach so we walked the beach. The restaurant was great, we had a restaurants to choose from and the food was great. My kids loved the mini pizzas and their ice cream was delicious. I must say this place is very relaxing and enjoyable. During our time here we had an excellent time with great service. Everyone is so accomodating and I definitely want to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms on the hotel, but I would definitely recommend getting a cabana by the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VCM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Im going to start by saying we were worried about going here because of the bad reviews and am happy to say the reviews were very wrong in our case, we travelled with a group of seven and had a blast. Placencia is beautiful and so are the residents, they are very friendly people. The Placencia Resort is a beautiful clean resort with beautiful grounds, wonderful staff, beach was beautiful to look at and sit at but not really for swimming, they have a huge pool with a large swim up bar, it is a quieter resort as its small, they do have nightly entertainment at the pier bar, (kareoke, live band, Mayan dancers) pool party etc, we had a great time and i would go back, the only thing i feel they could improve on is maybe to sit down with sunwing and either make the resort all inclusive or have sunwing change description to all local rum and vodka and local beer included as imperial drinks are not included other than that this is a great resort thats getting bad reviews, we had a blast

Room Tip: we upgraded to a sea villa (room 136) the room was huge had a full kitchen and a living room area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annb154985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Took a gamble on a inexpensive package tour, and were really impressed with the resort, the service, and the value.

We had an all-inclusive package, and found the food to be mostly very acceptable. Most of the meals are served out in the bay at the end of the jetty, under the palappa. A nice gentle breeze from the ocean most of the time, which makes for a really very pleasant way to spend a few hours. The staff were very friendly, and there was no shortage of rum etc in the drinks (unlike some resorts...) Our room was wonderful, with a very comfortable king size bed, and a great balcony with a nice view over the pool area.

The pool itself is great, very large, with a very convenient bar. The beach is great for sun-bathing, but the water was disappointingly weedy - seems the whole of the Placencia "cape" is weedy on the East side, and the lagoon on the other side is not really somewhere you would want to swim.

We were there in early March, and the resort was actually very quiet. Suited us in every way, but if you are younger and looking for a more lively environment, you would have to venture down the road to Placencia village in the evening. Placencia itself is worth a visit - and I recommend taking the local bus. It may not be very frequent, but it's a great experience meeting the locals, who are all very helpful and friendly. For a dollar each way, it's a fine way to see what's going on.

There are numerous trips/tours for ~$109 each. You MUST go snorkeling at Laughing Bird Caye, and the trip to Monkey River is a blast. We also visited Xunatunich, which is a great day out and totally worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Travelled to this resort in late April 2012. The purpose was simply to enjoy the country and activities of Belize and not stay eachday poolside at a resort.

ROOMS - FANTASTIC - EXCELLENT - you get what you pay for. (hence the 4 star I gave it - but the only reason I gave it)

FOOD - all organic - fantastic. However - this isnt a typical All Inclusive - so be prepared for limited variety. The one A la Carte is more a restaurant - personnally being the a la carte lover - I would pass and stick to buffet.

POOL - awesome.

BEACH - ICK ICK water. Beach is beautiful, water - not so much at all!!!!!

Would I go back - yes - in a heart beat - but simply because I used the resort as a base for activities outside the resort. I couldnt ask for a more comfortable place to stay.

I was actually fortunate enough to talk to two owners of this hotel. I was honest and said my peace. This isnt a place where people travelling expecting "All Inclusive" will return. If they return its for the same reason as me - to enjoy the ammenities off site. Basically, they know the issues, appreantly are working on them, but were also honest in saying that long term - this will not be an all inclusive hotel. They have a package to get people interested in the country etc. This "All Inclusive" isnt making them the most money investment wise and will end at some point.

If you go - BAREFOOT RENTALS - get a car. Travel. We got an SUV for the week for around a hundred bucks. Went EVERYWHERE!

DO NOT do excursions through the resort - trust me - there is so much variety in the town of Placencia - would will enjoy EVERYTHING they have to offer.

There's a restaurant in town called RUMFISH. Do not miss out!!!!!!!!!!!!! Run by expats. AWESOME - CHEAP! Just wonderful - cannot say enough!!

At the end of the day - this is not an All Inclusive. You will not be happy if you expect this to be like every other place you have travelled to of the same nature. YOU WILL be happy if you venture out and enjoy your days off site. We spent a couple days of 7 poolside just talking and meeting people (really taking a break) - So happy we didnt have any more days than that!

WARNING - lonnnnnggg travel day!

Room Tip: Any room pointing toward courtyard. The back side of the building lacks any real scenery or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MandyMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
8.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
7.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
14.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Placencia Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Property: The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Placencia Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Placencia Hotel is the fastest growing Hotel in the general area offering the finest amenities and service to an ever discerning clientele visiting Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Placencia Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Placencia
The Resort Placencia
The Placencia Hotel And Residences Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing