We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A wonderful destination that turned out to be a hidden gem"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Oradell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"A wonderful destination that turned out to be a hidden gem"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have just returned from taking a trip to Belize for the first time. The airport was easy to move through in Belize City and provided quick access to begin our journey. The resort we chose was the Placencia Hotel. We learned prior to our arrival that 60% of the country was jungle, so we chose to reach our destination by helicopter. This provided us with a great opportunity to see the mountains and coastline. The other two ways to get to the resort would be to drive 21/2 hours or take one of two local airlines which drops you off at a small village airport about 20 minutes from the resort.

We contracted a helicopter service, Astrum Helicopters, with a request for an older gentleman who was a veteran pilot, Gustavo Giron Sr. As this was our first time in a helicopter, we found the ride to be very smooth. We even enjoyed the music Gustavo chose to play during the flight. We learned that Gustavo has been flying for almost 40 years and is a personal favorite to many who want to see the country or need to be flown around for business purposes.

Upon our arrival we were greeted with friendly smiles and cocktails.We understood prior to selecting this hotel that the resort complex was not completely finished. This was actually one of the reasons we chose to come here. We were hoping that it would provide an opportunity to just kick back and relax without having hundreds of guests on premise.

The design, look and feel of the buildings we stayed in seemed very similar to that of the Grand Floridian at Disney World.The serenity pool was beautiful and my wife and I felt that we choose the perfect destination for relaxation. Our room was warm and inviting with a stone tile type feel. The wooden lounge chairs on the beach under the huts were very comfortable.

The staff was exceptional, friendly and always willing to help make your stay more enjoyable.

We found ourselves dining primarily on premise. The food was outstanding and if we wanted something different, again they would accomodate. The restaurant had a nice selection of wines for dining.

To our surprise, the restaurant had one of the most unbelievable expresso and capuccino machines. This truly was the "machine of machines".

We did venture outside the compund and learned a little more about the area. The area we were staying in is called Maya Beach. The actual town of Placencia is about 20 minutes away. The town is actually located on a peninsula. If you start at the end of the town and drive back to the resort, you can really get a flavor for the development taking place.

The town is a small fishing village with several good restaurants, bars and supply stores. As you proceed away from the town, there are a number of large signs with pictures of yacht clubs, resorts, etc.

The truth is that its all flash. You may see fancy pictures in brochures representing a development or one that would like to be. These offerings, when you check them out, may have one home in a development of 100 lots or two condo buildings in the middle of a jungle.

What makes the Placencia Hotel unique is the following. First, the location of Placencia in is noted for its beachside property. This is not the case in other areas of the country.Second, many of the other developments in Placencia do not have substantial infrastructure built. The Placencia Hotel has five big new buildings going up, their own well water that is purified from deep fresh water resevoirs below their property and significant investment in energy related systems. They are building what one might consider to be a 5-6 star property with the amenities expected at top ranked destinations around the world.

Unlike other destinations in Mexico, there was no beach side solicitation and the area reminded us of when Cabo was beginning to show signs of development. Compared to the Bahamas we like it better. It had a real down to earth feeling, first class construction and the serenity of a place you could go to relax.

The vacation this time was to just relax. Limited activity. Having said that, we did go snorkling. We found out Belize had the second best barrier reef in the world and the snorkling was amazing. Belize is known for its fishing, and diving. There are fanatastic opportunities to go on adventures.

Belize is a destination of choice. Highly recommeded. Placencia Hotel is the resort to go to. My wife and I would come back. We would also brings the kids next time as the other pools and build out continue to be completed.

Room Tip: All locations were good and close to the restaurant and main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorenzo280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    80
    42
    35
    28
See reviews for
63
152
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one week, it was truly one week in paradise. The staff at Placencia is the best. Your stay begins with smiling, friendly faces and ends the same way. We always felt welcomed and valued as guests. The hotel has great activities. There are also a great deal of tours to choose from that the resort will arrange for you. Do not miss zip lining. All of the tour guides that the hotel arranged are amazing. We can't say enough about it. The service was amazing, the staff were extremely helpful, attentive, and excellent, and the room was gorgeous. The property is immaculate and well-maintained, while also featuring a lot of beautiful natural views, amazing landscaping that looked like artwork. We are already planning a return trip, we can't wait to return, we had an amazing stay at the Placencia Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

First I would like to express that when we arrived they received us with tropical drinks and smiles
i enjoyed the views and the pleasant atmosphere with the most attentive staff
I loved the kid sections, you can acknowledge they put tought into the safety of our little ones!
Te staff kept on top of their chores and paid attention to detail on cleanliness.
Rooms were spacious and home warming!
They have the upmost delicious meals that will spark your taste buds in excitement
and karaoke night was very enlightening and fun!!
I enjoyed the kayaking and the group tours.........
it was a vacation i absolutely loved i look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: tip well!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDIA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have always been meaning to write a good review about this hotel. And i just got back a week ago. Almost three years ago, my wife and i spent our Honeymoon in Belize. We were told by a couple of friends of ours, that The Placencia Hotel was the place to stay. They were right. I am an avid fisherman, and i love to snorkel. that was my first trip to Belize, and the hotel was more the great when it came to providing my new wife and i a great adventure. since that trip back in late 2008. we have been back 4 times. i have seen some of the other hotels down the beach. and this is best. Great Staff, and the accommodations far exceeded our dream. Fishing is great, Snorkeling is great, even the food was of high quality. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go with the Suites, that over look the courtyard. Best views over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Pros: hotel in very good state of repair, clean, grounds and pool well kept, really quiet, good connection to local village
Cons: a little remote (trip to village takes 20-25 minutes by car), food a little monotonous and somewhat overpriced, room descriptions have to be updated to remove references to "suites" where appropriate because the room we stayed in was called a suite but was just one room, internet is not free and somewhat expensive ($5 per hour or $30 per day).

This is a very pleasant hotel in southern Belize that offers good rooms, good, if somewhat monotonous, food, and good service. The hotel is about 7.5 years old and seems to be well maintained. The pool is nice and clean. The staff are courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelTovbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We flew on for a long weekend to meet friends for a destination wedding. It is not the four seasons, but pleasant if you want to get away. We went scuba diving ( decent dive but not a top ten) hung out in town, sat by the pool, etc. Not a great beach. Thought the food was pretty good. We had the benefit of using a guest's house across the street which provided some nightlife. We went into town one night and had a good time, but don't wander far..cabs are tough to find and the nightlife rolls up pretty fast. The hotel is a long way from town, so be prepared. Glad we went. Good trip. Not sure we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaGATrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place is a dump. I just checked in here and it's an absolute dump. The decor is horrendous: outdated, well-worn, and spartan. There's a 17" old school TV here. There's no information about the hotel whatsoever available except for a ragged brochure advertising various tour packages. You would expect some stationary, information about their internet policy, a TV Channel guide, or something, but none of this is available, and by the way, WIFI is $30 USD/day. I thought they meant BZD, but no, they mean USD. I'm not sure I can stay here for the entire week. All the wood furniture here looks cheap and is badly damaged. They also decided to cheap out on the sink in the "kitchenette" aka hallway, which is outfitted with a a curtain to hide the ugliness and unfinished qualities under the sink. Oh, and you have to walk to the front desk, because there's no cab pull up into the lobby, and the bell hops weren't very attentive. Disappointing, to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenminem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Sir or Madam:

This review cam in at our low season when we are in the middle of our repair and maintenance schedule as we take advantage of the low occupancy to refresh our rooms.

The project we are working on with the villas is repainting the out side of all te buildings, replacement of the TV's to larger Flat Screens, providing a Guest Services Directory for each room and finishing the Kitchenettes which were started on last year.

Being on the seaside requires us to be constantly painting; the same would be true for our wooden furniture. We are proud of them and normally get reviews of our local handmade mahogany furniture. They will also go through sprucing up by getting varnished once agin.

I would like to forward pictures of our past guest of whatthe villas will be looking like come November.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
8.9 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
7.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
14.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Placencia Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Property: The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Placencia Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Placencia Hotel is the fastest growing Hotel in the general area offering the finest amenities and service to an ever discerning clientele visiting Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Placencia Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Placencia
The Resort Placencia
The Placencia Hotel And Residences Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing