We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bare bones experience”
Review of Manatee Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manatee Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
orange walk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bare bones experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2009

this is a very low end, bare bones property. you're better off just pitching a tent on the beach. had to beg to have bedsheets changed. asked for some chairs to sit on, and only one was brought. for a few dollars a night more, there are much better places to stay than this.

  • Liked — proximity to town
  • Disliked — consisted only of bed, bathroom, fridge.. and that's it.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellinastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
38
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

The Manatee Inn was very comfortable and friendly. We stayed for 3 nights. Jarka was very helpful with helping us book adventures as well as places to see and eat.

  • Liked — eco-friendly and thoughtfully decorated
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank msquareArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We recently stayed three nights at the Manatee in Placencia - we chose it based on their website, low prices and after speaking with them on the phone. We were immediately comfortable - the room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Although the room was tiny, the bed was big enough for both of us and the mattress was comfortable. Sheets, towels and everything were very clean. The bathroom was separated by only a curtain, and the shower was only large enough for one person, but as mentioned before - it was clean and plenty for our needs. The room was serviced daily, as soon as we left in the morning to get breakfast, it was always clean and made up when we returned. We left several valuables in our room including a laptop and camera with no problems whatsoever, we felt very safe. There is a small fridge for storing leftovers and drinks, and we frequently used the hammocks that hang right outside the rooms, with a view of the ocean.
The owners gave us many recommendations for restaurants (Cozy Corner became our main hang out) and activities, and they were always available to answer questions. We also took advantage of their laundry service which was very reasonably priced, and excellently done - not to mention quickly. If we return to Placencia we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The cleanlieness of the room
  • Disliked — The pathway walking back at night was through an alley and unlit
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackfromBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Manatee Inn was an excellent value for basic accomodations. Well located a one minute walk from the beach, it was simple, clean, quiet and really ideal. I'd recommend it to a friend in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I just returned form our stay at the Manatee Inn. Upon arrival, we were met by Slavik and welcomed to the property. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The location was a stones throw from the beach. We were very pleased with our decision to stay at the Manatee and recommend it to others. Also, if you are looking for a fantastic meal in Placencia eat at De'Tatch. It is home to the best food on the island and the thatch roof restaurant faces the beach. We would recommend trying the conch fritters as a starter, you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiashco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2006

we stayed at the manatee inn for 6 nights hospitality was an understatement slavik made us feel as if we were old friends the property is pristine and just far enough down the sidewalk to wake up tired legs on the way to breakfast the water is a 2 minute walk from the inn we couldnt say enough about the place or our host if you need cnn or hbo in your room this wont be your cup of tea if you want to relax in simple comfort stay at the manatee inn

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — nothing wrong at all
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SyracusePhoenix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2006

Me and my wife Gwen went down to Belize in October and we stayed in Belize city for 2 days, then we rented a car to explore the country. It was a great experience and a real adventure
to see all the Maya-culture, the fantastic nature with the waterfalls in the jungle, the spectacular islands outside Placencia and a memorable stay at the Manatee Inn hotel. A cozy, really affordable little Inn with great hospitality from the owners who takes care of the place themselves. Its a genuin and calm place very close to the beach and the lovely little village of Placencia. If you dont want to spend a lot of money on luxury and still want to stay at a great place with a homy feeling for a very good price i can recommend Manatee Inn. We will for sure come back.

Jack Prutt

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank cobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lydia's Guesthouse
Lydia's Guesthouse
#11 of 27 in Placencia
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatee Inn

Property: Manatee Inn
Address: 639159, Placencia 12345, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatee Inn is a very clean, well priced, 60 yards from the beach 8 roomhotel run by a young Canadian/European couple. The Inn is located inthe north quiet part of the Placencia village and yet a short 4 min.walking distance to the much busier center of the village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manatee Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing