We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Manatee Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manatee Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and the missus stayed here for three nights in low season, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to suit our budget!

32US a night for big spacious room, en suite, terrace with hammock, fridge, strong fan and hot shower. It is close to town and the beach, but nice and quiet at the same time. The owner Slavek is a real nice guy too and was happy to help in any way.

Would definitely recommend, wish we were back there!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubbURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    21
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
38
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockdale, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent two weeks there at the Manatee, and was extremely pleased with the service and room. It was located away from the noisy parts of town, but close enough to walk. The beach was located about 300 feet from the hotel. The owners were always available for information and help as needed. The room was breezy, and equipped with a good floor fan and refrigerator. The room was very clean, and linen was provided daily. I would recommend it. I addressed the barking dogs with a shout and someone must have caught on because they didn't bother me anymore!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 were comfortable and breezy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If you need more than a place to lay your head in Placencia then look elsewhere. Otherwise for the budget minded traveler this is perfect. The location is incredible because it is quiet and right where you need to be. The room can get a little warm without a/c but the rooms are airy and the ocean breeze should do you fine.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Manatee Inn while diving out of Placencia, and the family who run it went over and above in terms of helpfulness - we arrived and left at odd times, and they also assisted us with making out travel plans back to Belize City. They were the highlight, but the room was quite nice for a budget hotel. It isn't the ideal location if you are diving and need to be up early in the morning, in that there is some noise from the street, but a) we were there during the Easter holiday, so it may have been unusual circumstances and b) we were so tired from diving it didn't matter! It is an easy walk if you take the water taxi from Independence, and a very short walk to the beach as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very accommodating owners...Simple and very clean room. However, if you cannot tolerate barking dogs through the night.....Look elsewhere. The neighborhood dogs were the ONLY obstatcle....and after several sleepless nights we moved to another location. BUT....without the disturbance of barking...a clean and affordable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dJoyg1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights here and it was ideal for the budget traveler in Belize. We had the economy room at US$30 per night. this room is the same as the other rooms but the toilet and hot water shower are round the corner from the room rather than en suite.

Keep an eye out from the bus for the Price is Right supermarket on your right and ask your conductor to drop you off by the manatee inn sign. Otherwise you'll have to walk back (20min maximum walk from the bottom of the village).

Supermarket and atm nearby and fridge in room is ideal and the room came with a 2 double beds, hand basin, towels, soap and a fan.

The highlight however was walking down to the beach (2 minute walk) at sunrise and being welcomed by manatees 5m offshore.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robinemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was impressed by the simple, yet elegant bamboo theme of the room I stayed in at the Manatee Inn in Placencia, Belize. It is one of the most affordable hotels in the area, and the cleanest and nicest one I stayed at while travelling though Central America. The hostess was very kind and accomodating, and I felt safe and comfortable there. I would recommend it to anyone travelling on a budget who is ready to stay in a place where everything feels right.

Room Tip: I am travelling alone, and stayed in the smallest room they had. It was the first time I stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midas Belize
Midas Belize
#9 of 33 in San Ignacio
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lydia's Guesthouse
Lydia's Guesthouse
#9 of 27 in Placencia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatee Inn

Property: Manatee Inn
Address: 639159, Placencia 12345, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatee Inn is a very clean, well priced, 60 yards from the beach 8 roomhotel run by a young Canadian/European couple. The Inn is located inthe north quiet part of the Placencia village and yet a short 4 min.walking distance to the much busier center of the village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manatee Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing