We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”
Review of Lydia's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lydia's Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our time here. Simple room but very clean. The well equipped kitchen (by hostel standards) enabled us to cook yummy meals. Also good place to connect with other travelers. I'd recommend an upstairs room if possible for better view and air circulation, though our downstairs room was nice enough.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank heartdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Lydia's for one night in a house the had 4 bedrooms with 2 shared bathrooms and a refrigerator. We occupied 3 of the 4 rooms, and the rooms all had their own locks, but it was not what I was expecting. I thought we each had a private bathroom, etc. I think Lydia does offer some accomodations that do have private bathrooms, so just be sure you specify your expectations. Lydia was very nice, the rooms and shared bathrooms were clean, and it was a great value($25 US per night). The rooms we stayed in did not have A/C but did have a fan and the windows opened and were screened. I woudldn't stay here during the summer months. Nice location right on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Be sure you specify what you are wanting to rent as I think she has a variety of accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelleydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

OK, no big comfort, but what do you need comfort for, when a sunny beach is almost right at your doorstep? Guest kitchen available, free Wifi, hammocks (a bit run down, bring your own if you want more comfort) and friendly owner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Exiloecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Lydia's guesthouse for 3 nights and it was a very nice stay! Lydia was very nice,the room was nice and especially the veranda was
nice to chill on :-) there was even a kitchen and free purified water! So nothing to complain about,except for a few ants,but I guess you have to cope with them when you want to basically sleep on the beach! :-) so,I would always come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a bit of a walk up the sidewalk but worth it. The rooms and shared bathrooms were clean. Lydia can help you book any tour or flight. There is a shared kitchen to put your food in the fridge or cook your own meals. It was a geat place to talk to other travellers. Bottled water is included from the main kitchen area. It's just a short 75 yard walk down to the fantastic clean beach. I will definately be back!

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the guesthouse if your a light sleeper so the front door doesn't wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank multitravelorrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel had a nice balcony overlooking the sea (well through a couple of houses). Owner was friendly. Clean, but nothing special room. Would come again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomMaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Booked a room for Easter, basic private room with a double bed. Room was small without AC, but has a fan and was everything we needed. Price 50 Belize dollars, i.e. 25 USD per night.

There are two shared bathroom for four rooms, so one was always available when in need. There is a bathtub and relatively good space in the bathroom. In the corridor there was a fridge just two meters away so one could have cold drinks, yoghurt kept close by etc.

In the building next door there was a kitchen, should one need to cook a meal. Supermarket is close by too. Free wireless internet also available, works inside the room and on the porch.

Owner is friendly and helpful and would gladly come again to stay in this place. Not spectacular, but then again price is less than half of what you would need to pay in a nearby otel, so I really think this is a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.1 mi away
Serenade Hotel
Serenade Hotel
#19 of 27 in Placencia
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydia's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydia's Guesthouse

Address: North end of Placencia village, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: $31 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lydia's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydia's Guesthouse Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing