We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Rustic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miller's Landing Resort
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Gary and Anne's very comfortable place. We live in Northern Belize and like to find places to stay in other parts of the country that are not all about glamour and glitz. Anne set up a fishing trip for us, then cooked our catch for us for dinner. The resort is small and has an old Caribbean feel, is economical which leaves dollars left to spend on activities. Nice restaurants and night life are close enough to go to but not so close as to be a bother.
Thank You Gary and Anne, we will see you next time we come south.b

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for the kind words, it was so fun for us to meet all of you and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was the winner of an overnight stay and breakfast for two donated by Anne and Gary of Miller's Landing for The Mistletoe Ball Event in Placencia. They graciously welcomed us at a moments notice and opened their cabanas, restaurant, bar and pool area to us. We sat around the pool and visited with Anne and Gary and they said we were more than welcome to invite other friends to join us for the day. They were very hospitable and at our beck and call should we need anything.
Their resort is very quaint, and secluded, nestled amongst lush greenery, private, clean and comfortable cabanas, with a beautiful pool area that looks out towards the ocean and their own private beach!! Paradise!! The only thing that didn't meet our satisfaction was the lack of sunshine.... Definitely would stay with the Miller's again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumn_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

You were great guest and we enjoyed great conversations, Thanks for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days at MIller's Landing over Christmas and had an absolutely wonderful time! Anne and Gary were unbelievably hospitable - along with other guests, we even joined their family for Christmas dinner. Thank you for making us part of your day :)

Anne is a fantastic cook and we had several meals there - all of which were incredible (I can't tell you how incredible her homemade jalepeno poppers were!) The price for meals was very reasonable and our bar bill wasn't bad at all (and we definitely made a dent in those bar stools!). Anne makes a mean rum punch that you can't pass up! Other reviewers commented that this was like a homestay - yes it was. Which is in part why it was so wonderful. One night we hung out in the bar with Anne and Gary and another couple - Gary pulled out his guitar and gave us a live show. He even brought out a second so my husband could accompany him. It was one of the best night's of our trip!

As for the lodge - there's a nice pool with deck and hammocks - a large open space and what is essentially a massive private beach. The rooms are simple cabin-type and are very clean, bright and comfortable. Whenever we needed anything, they were right there to help. Anne organised a dive trip for us, massages at the resort for other guests, and organised taxis to town (only 8-10 mins drive) and rapid transport to/from the airstrip (calling it an airport is a bit of an overstatement!).


To be straight up - if you're looking for fancy 5-star and lots to do, this isn't the place for you. Miller's is quaint, charming, laid-back, and about as chill as you can get :) We'd go back in a second and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Cubana East unit is closest to the water and has a lovely view and ocean breeze :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blowers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

You were both awesome, glad we got to know you a bit, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Setting is good, hosts are pleasant (but does feel like you are in someones home) but not worth the money.

Rooms are dated, linen and towels are worn, room service is sporadic, food and drink expensive (pizza US$25, beers more than at the 5 star next door).

Once you have booked you cant leave without having to pay 100% cancellation - so once you are here you're stuck.

And when we got home we were charged an extra $US50 in random credit card fees - that nowhere else in Belize seemed to need to charge us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frejacayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I wish that you had said something while here had I expected this bad reviewI would have refunded all but one day. I have been pondering what make us 1970s, flowers everywhere, healthy natural foods. To be a green leader trip advisor guidelines, change sheets every 3 days, I had to do yours every other day, every other linen change was newly purchased. We are small Eco hotel, never do I say otherwise.
As to prices, we are third lowest of all Placencia Hotels, our beers are $3, the 5 star must of been happy hour, because normally they are $5.
As to the one pizza that is $25, lobster and shrimp, with $15 of seafood on it not a money maker, but being, it is my second bad review on this, I will take that off the menu, all other pizzas are $15 to $20. With only 5 rooms, we are not normally compared with big 5 star resorts, I guess Christmas Day, we had all of our other guests, some family and friends, big afternoon buffet, I guess that gives us the home stay review head line. I charged exactly your bill, what you signed, and even I lost being American Express charges us 6%, with all the trips I set up, diving, zip line, caving, Massages on Christmas Day on the beach and the flights, I barely come out even on the trips.you will have to check your credit card fees, they often have a foreign transaction fee. I didn't add anything to your bill, most of the resorts charge a 10% service charge we do not. I am sorry that I can't really find a way to improve from this review, I can only ask future guest to please read our website, it is honest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thanks Annie and Gary for a wonderful and relaxing stay. We enjoyed the stunning sun rises, the great pizza and the hospitality provided during our 2 week vacation. Annie was always available when needed,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thanks so much for your kind word, and great to meet such awesome people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you’ve ever thought about what paradise inside paradise was like, look no further than Miller’s Landing. Located on the peninsula in Placencia, Belize, Miller’s has not only an ocean and pool with an ocean view, but they also have a lagoon across the road to watch the sunset. We arrived by bus at night after dark, which totally added to our adventure. Riding local buses through Belize is definitely worth the $5 if you have the time for travel.
Miller’s is far enough off the main road to have complete privacy and quiet if that’s what you would like to include in your vacation. The only sounds are the waves on the beach, the ocean breeze and the birds singing all day. Occasionally, music drifts down from the main bar/ eating/ meeting/ game room throughout the day. Much of our time was spent in or at the clean pool with the ocean view. What a great place to hang out and chat with your travel mate who’s in the hammock and the other who is sitting and enjoying a book and a smoke under the cabana.
My favorite time was being woken in the morning to the chorus of birds then walking out to the beach in jammies to watch and photograph the sunrise. It’s absolutely spectacular!
Our hosts, Annie and Gary Miller took care of us like we were family. Annie’s an excellent cook and considered my food issues when preparing meals. I also really enjoyed having a full bar available for dinner. Annie also arranged several adventures for us, making sure we had guides that would have as much fun as we did. All of our adventures were memorable and fun! She definitely knew who to call for us.
I definitely recommend Miller’s Landing when visiting Placencia, Belize. The prices are reasonable, the pool is awesome, food is great, the rooms are clean and it comes with the Miller’s!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thank you so much for your kinds words, your amazing people and it was so great getting to know you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just happened upon this gem of a place. The owners are lovely, down-to-earth people. Anne is a fantastic cook, and Gary sings and plays a mean guitar! We wanted to stay one night and ended up staying three nights; loved waking up to the birds singing, swam in the best pool ever when the ocean was rough, and feel we found a home away from home. We booked tours through them and all of the guides were top rate and reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptainAnne, Owner at Miller's Landing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2015

Thank you for you very kind review. We are so fortunate to have great guests, like you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
2.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
788 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
653 reviews
5.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Landing Resort

Address: 3 Miles North of the Placencia Point, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $96 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside eco-resort set in lush tropical gardens, private luxury cabanas with refrigerators & coffee makers, also standard rooms. Restaurant, bar, swimming pool, hotel specializes in groups, excellent fly fishing, sailing, snorkeling, diving, jungle trips, Mayan ruins, caving. Complimentary bicycles & kayaks.. Can book entire resort for groups, can sleep up to 17 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Miller's Landing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers Landing Hotel
Millers Landing Placencia
Miller's Landing Resort Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing