We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find in Belize”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Denver Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Belize”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We absolutely loved the Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro. John and Ellen are the perfect hosts. Ellen gave us great advice in planning our snorkeling, jaguuar reserve and Monkey River trips and was on hand at dinner time to see how our trips went. John and crew at the Bistro spoiled us with the wonderful food and excellent service. The fish stack and pork burger were especially good. The kids loved the pizza and smoothies. You can't wrong with anything you order really. We tried other restaurants in Placencia but the Bistro surpassed them all by far.
If you are looking for a barefoot beach vacation with gourmet food in a laid back atmosphere this is it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    95
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
119
326
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

After several days of high adventure in San Ignacios caving, zip-lining, and exploring Mayan ruins, we settled into Maya Beach for sun, snorkeling, quiet and pool time. John and Ellen are excellent hosts who assisted in making arrangements for snorkeling trips, our flight back to Belize City and a very special birthday dinner. We were graciously upgraded to the upstairs Dreamsicle from our booked room, as it was vacant during our stay. The spacious rooms, cool air-conditioning, and beautiful views from our front porch were the perfect cap to a wonderful vacation. The staff was very friendly and quietly efficient in every way, never obtrusive. Maya Beach is the perfect mix of luxery, dining experience and yet very personal service. No corporate cookie cutter experience here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valcom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I thought I had already written this review

Maya Beach is terrific. Wonderful spot, great food and the owners really really know how to provide great service. Let me give one example of great service - we had a slight misunderstanding on booking diving trip - Ellen saw the need to fix this and did a wonderful job to correct it - really went out of her way to correct.

Highly recommend Maya Beach (and I'm very very picky).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim30549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

My best friend and I stayed at the Maya Beach hotel recently and we had a fabulous stay. We stayed in the Coconut room which had it's own balcony with ocean views. The room was quite large and kept spotless. The hotel restaurant is one of the best in the area (even the locals told us) and we enjoyed a delicious meal on our first night in Belize. Maya Beach is a quiet area- very relaxing with an amazing view of the ocean (especially at night with a full moon!). Their staff is extremely accommodating, especially Ellen, who helped us book a last minute tour to Monkey River Town and made sure we had an enjoyable stay. FYI, the beaches in the Maya Beach area are narrow and not ideal for laying out. If you are looking for beaches, you may want to head down to Placencia for the day but definitely make sure you drop by the Maya Beach hotel to stay or at least for dinner! On the upside, this hotel does have a pool!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joonebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Ellen at Maya Beach was so helpful setting up tours for us, and the tours were absolutely wonderful - to the jungle to search for scarlet macaws, to Cockscomb Nature Preserve, and to go snorkeling. If we go again, we will definitely stay here. Very romantic and beautiful. The restaurant is fantastic and the service was too!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Owners John and Ellen made every moment of my 10-day stay personable and a delight.
The restaurant bistro has exceptional and imaginative food offerings; and the wine list is researched and extensive for Belize.
Don't miss the generous fresh fish stack followed by key lime pie!
Or that breakfast burrito!
Hotel rooms are tastefully done but simple; and feature local artists.
Service staff have become members of a functional, happy family and the result is excellent customer service.
Say hello to Oscar and Jerry for me!
I've traveled a fair bit of Latin and South America - and Maya Beach Hotel is a real value gem.
Kayaking out to False Key is a perfect (and very safe) afternoon adventure from the hotel beach - and snokel gear is available on site.
As is e-mail and a modest but representative gift store of fine Belize products and crafts.
Typical guests tend to be fellow Canadians, Americans, and a welcome scattering of interesting Europen clients - many returning to their favourite barefoot Belize resort.
But colourful and fun local characters do drop by - and this makes the Maya Beach Hotel experience all the more rewarding.
Perhaps that Grownup Milkshake at the cozy bar is the draw?!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmeeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway Twp, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I had the most amazing time at this hotel. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. But more importantly, IT WAS PEACEFUL. I had a wonderful, relaxing time and would recommend it to anyone who wants to veer off the beaten path.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelisdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
369 reviews
16.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Property: Maya Beach Hotel
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing