We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Only planned to stay one night but extended stay as this is a wonderful little hotel. Could have stayed all week so I could eat everything on thier menu but alas had to go back home. Ellen the owner is a lovely person...I accidently slammed my finger in the door here and she attended to my finger personallly. My room was clean and nice...could use alittle cosmetic updates to make it charming vs just nice but with the ocean view...my own personal hammock ...it was paradise. You'll love it here.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Jaguar room...comfy bed...the rum punch drinks at happy hour probably helped too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyLynnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    92
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
115
317
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went back to Belize for another fortnight this month and spent 6 nights at our favourite place.

Travelled with partner, son,and grandson.Spoiled ourselves by booking both Upper and Lower Dreamsicle.Well worth the money.

Other much more expensive stays before and after.We can't help judging them against Maya Beach,and none matched up for accommodation and, especially, food.The combination of excellent food,and presentation are outstanding.I don't know how they do it at such reasonable prices!

Thoroughly recommend the Monkey River trip. Plenty of wildlife, including Manatees and 9, yes 9, crocodile sightings!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The quality of our stay exceeded my highest expectations. Every person was beyond friendly and accommodating. The food was absolutely amazing. Ellen and John have an exceptional resort to relax in. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This small hotel isn't grand, isn't luxurious, isn't pretentious, and it doesn't aspire to be any of those things. It is un-fancy and un-fussy, though on any given night in the open air Bistro there will be a few marvelously dressed dinner guests and the look of the place, with the dark woods and pedestal wickerwork chairs and tables, has an understated elegance. The breeze from the Caribbean ruffles the air and the staff is dressed in crisp black uniforms. You definitely feel that you have arrived at someplace special and intimate, and then the food comes -- and you have one of those moments where all seems right with the world.
My wife and I took a risk and booked 8 nights at Maya Beach. We'd never been to Belize and usually don't commit to a stay that long unless we know a place, but we were not disappointed. Within a day we were on a first name basis with a dozen people at the hotel, from owners Ellen and John (who lent us a book) to Becky and Leo and Avi and Lola and the others in the Bistro who were full of spirit and fun and also performed their tasks with dispatch and decorum. I won't try to describe the food except to say that we did not, as we had planned, go to any other restaurant for dinner during our stay. We didn't want to miss a single chance to dine at the Bistro. One or both us ate fish every night -- fresh fish, perfectly prepared, unbelievably exquisitely delicious (the two preparations on the regular menu are nut-encrusted fish and fish with roasted vegetables, and they are both superb). Ellen keeps the place running smoothly even when it is jammed, as it was nearly every night. The good vibes in the Bistro are something you'd like to bottle to bring home.
The rooms at the Maya Beach are plain -- actually, there are lots of different kinds of rooms, so when you are booking, I suggest you talk to them to get an idea of what's available. The people at the front desk, Cleve and Marlon, are patient and informative. Special props to smiling Marlon, who spent hours juggling our various tour options with times for pickups, last minute cancellations because of weather, etc. And kept smiling. As we did during what turned out to be an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We reviewed many places before selecting Maya Beach Hotel, and found it to be a great choice. We arrived late in the evening, and were greeted warmly. Owner Ellen was concerned we were hungry, and kept the restaurant open to feed us before checking in.
The restaurant staff is fun and friendly, and the chef's menu is delectable and delicious. Plus a very extensive wine selection. We decided to take a half day snorkel trip with all arrangements made at Maya Beach, shuttle to and beach dock return were provided plus all the gear.

Room Tip: Higher floors get nice breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The owners are wonderful and helpful, staff is fun and efficient, food is to die for. The Caribbean was so beautiful to watch as we ate. There is an intimacy about this place that one does not find often. Prices suited us to a "T".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I recently visited Maya Beach with my two twenty something sons for 5 days. We had a great trip. The Maya Beach was awesome. Our apartment was spacious and comfortable. The staff was wonderful. They helped set up a half day bone fishing trip (we caught a ton of bone fish at a caye 14 miles off shore) as well as a trip to the Mayan ruins along the Hummingbird highway. We biked into Placencia which is 8 miles each way on the hotel's bikes which was a great way to gain perspective of the various areas and rhythm of life. The Jaguar Bowling Lanes were right across the street-great fun-went there twice. There is a grocery store within walking distance so that you can stock up on Belikins, etc. The hotel food way good as was Mango's which was a short walk down the road. the Purple Space Monkey in Placencia was also great. We had an excellent trip and will be back. I will continue to look to trip advisor reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
7.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
557 reviews
4.4 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Property: Maya Beach Hotel
Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach
Maya Beach Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing