We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maya Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$259
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$197
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laru Beya Resort & Villas(Placencia)
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chabil Mar(Placencia)
$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatchet Caye Resort(Placencia)
$350
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Village Inn(Placencia)
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
585
101
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
101
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjaguar roommaya beachcreamsicledreamsicle houseking conchhibiscus roomjoya del markingfishhotel bistroowners johnaqua villafalse cayeevery mealbelize cityhotel guestsbeautiful beachprivate pool
Filter
Updating list...
629 - 634 of 702 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We chose Maya Beach Hotel based upon other Trip Advisor reviews and photos and I'm pleased to say that all of the wonderful things others have said are true.

The property is very well maintained, the room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is literally steps from the ocean on a white sand beach.

All of the staff were lovely and accomodating and the owners, Ellen and John, were always on site and happy to socialize with their guests. The restaurant also had very good food-we ate there every night.

The hotel is about a ten minute drive to the town of Placencia along a very rough dirt road. Cabs to town cost about US$20 each way so it's not terribly convenient if your interest is in spending lots of time in the town itself.

We ventured into "town" a couple of times, including for a great snorkeling trip arranged by the hotel and were otherwise quite happy at the beach on the hotel property. The hotel was pretty well-booked when we were there but we pretty much had the beach to ourselves during the day. The beach actually looks like the Corona TV ads, complete with a thatched roof deck and palm trees.

If you are looking for a nice, friendly and clean little hotel on the beach- away from the hustle and bustle of the "tourist crowd"-I would highly recommend the Maya Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I travelled and worked in Belize 2 years ago and promised my wife that I would bring her back for a holiday. After travelling around Belize and visiting friends in Belize City for our first week, we spent 3 wonderfully relaxing days here in paradise. Ellen and John even arranged our flight from Punta Gorda and internet access was much appreciated. The rooms were spotless and the meals were tasty and very well presented.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MansfieldPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Our stay was wonderful. The rooms are clean and accomdating. The beach is steps away from the hotel and the rooms. All our tours and even a in-house massage was booked right through the hotel. The food at the Bistro is amazing, even a little life changing. I loved the temple of chicken. I highly recommend scheduling some time to just relax at the beach and enjoy the food.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aprilWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This is definitely the place to stay in Maya Beach. The hotel is terrific and the bistro is outstanding! When you stay there, you tend to look forward to each meal. There are several 'must have' meals such as the Sassy Shrimp and Cocoa Pork. There are also some wonderful breakfast dishes. Basically - you can't go wrong. There are also some terrific specialty drinks that you can get at the bar. You can see the menu at the hotel's web site.

We stayed in the Coconut room which has a huge deck overlooking the ocean. It was a big room that more than met our needs. We took several day trips while we were there (which the hotel arranges for you) but our favorite activity was lounging around the hotel in one of the many hammocks.

The hotel made for a wonderful trip. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank layer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We picked the Maya Beach Hotel based on reviews here. There was not one surprise when we got there. We stayed at the lower Dreamsicle apartment and it was extremely roomy, close to the ocean and the pool was a great extra for the kids. The evening breezes made for a very comfortable nights sleep.

The staff all make it a point to learn your name and greet you whenever they see you. We grew fond and friendly towards them all. They were extremely accomodating. Ellen, the owner, always made a point to chat with you while you were waiting for your food.

We heard so much about the Bistro from here, that we never ate anywhere else. Not, that there were many choices near the area in walking distance...but we were always content. We were drawn to the fresh snapper daily. To die for! The breads were always freshly made and my son couldn't get enough of the cinnamon rolls.

The only thing we didn't really get use out of was the ocean. The water was cloudy (along all of Maya Beach) and not really inviting. If you take out the kayaks into deeper water, then it clears up. The gazebo over the water was wonderful at night!

Overall, we loved the hotel, the staff and had a great time on the tours we chose. It was exactly the adventure trip I wanted for the family!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chateaupl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews