We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great captain!”

Cayequest Private Tours
Ranked #4 of 45 Tours in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want to make your own chocolate bar the Mayan way? Learn how to catch a lobster or sunbathe while your guide prepares one for lunch? We specialize in personalized excursions that carry you off the beaten path. Mark Leslie enthusiastic naturalist and culinary adventurer, leads our unique tours. Mark is also an expert sea captain. We have more than 20 years of guiding experience and customize our itineraries to give you the adventure, relaxation and exploration you are looking for.
Alert Bay, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great captain!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I wish to recommend Mark Leslie and Cayequest to anyone wanting a snorkelling operator they can feel confident with out on the water. For starters he is a gracious host and an amazing resource person under the water. He directed our attention to some delicately beautiful fishes that our inexperienced eyes would never have seen. And, when our tour delayed a tad too long on the beautiful islet he expertly manoeuvred our boat, along the rising swells that should have bowled us over several times. Always finding the sweet spot to let us get to shore safely. I live on the ocean and have spent time in many boats, Mark's seamanship is astounding. Have fun but when the captain recommends leaving now follow his judgement. :) I wish I'd gone out every day.
Thanks Mark

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Widgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    4
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placencia
1 review
“It Starts With Good People”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

An amazing time with this couple! Their welcoming nature, endless hospitality, intriguing conversation and wealth of knowledge made it...you can't ask for more when you leave feeling like you have been friend's forever...thank you guys! It was a blast. Tell Mom the coconut bread rocked.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyra S, Owner at Cayequest Private Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Tommy, fortunately we are blessed with getting good people who want to go on our tours as well! Hope the rest of your travels were great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A chocolate lover's dream come true!"”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

An amazing day from start to finish!
Having grown up on a cacao farm in Belize our guide Lyra's endless knowledge about the people the culture and the meaning of chocolate in Belize was absolutely amazing. The Ixcacao cacao organic farm we visited was so authentic and the lovely couple, Juan and Abelina who manage it treat you like family friends not tourists! They had a delicious and hearty lunch ready for us when we arrived. Then we were able to experience "hands on" traditional Mayan way of making chocolate. Then to create the perfect ending to a perfect day we stopped at the Mayan ruin site of Num Li Punit (sp). A very interesting tranquil place rich in history made greater by Lyra's vast knowledge of the area. The views from atop are stunning.
Lyra thanks do much!
Lynn and Michele
From Vancouver

Helpful?
1 Thank michele2361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyra S, Owner at Cayequest Private Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank YOU Michele for choosing us. I love chocolate and cacao and its a lot of fun to share my enthusiasm with fellow food lovers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Informative Day with Cayequest Tours”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Cayequest Tours are billed as: “Culinary, Cultural and Snorkel Tours” and in February 2013 we took part in a day trip with them in the culinary and cultural categories. They are based in Placencia Village and have a van that will pick you up to begin your journey.
Both Lyra Spang (anthropologist & food expert) and Mark Leslie (driver for our land trip but also a captain and sea guide) were informative and knowledgeable about the local cultures and traditions.
We started our day with the 2 hour drive to Ixcacao (formerly known as Cyrila’s) cacao farm in the San Felipe area of Toledo District. A wonderful experience, from start to finish; working with; learning about and sampling various forms of chocolate (copious samples!). Lunch was part of this stop and Abilina’s wonderful preparation of a chocolate curry chicken was amazing.
Then, because of Mark’s direct connections, we made a stop at a local Mayan home where the family’s lovely children took us on a hike (uphill) to see their various crops. We climbed to the top of the hill where we could see the ocean and mountains – amazing panoramic views.
From there we spent some time at the Mayan Ruins of Nim Li Punit where Lyra described various aspects of Mayan history, myths and facts.
Mark and Lyra offer a variety of tours and experiences; we recommend that you get in touch with them to set up your tour: cayequest@gmail.com

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Janice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cayequest Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cayequest Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing