We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye-opening, informative and fun for both adults and children!”

Bunches of Fun Banana Farm Tours
Ranked #4 of 42 things to do in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bunches of Fun Banana Farm Tours are set on Sagitun Farm, just minutes away from resorts on the Placencia Peninsula and a quick drive from Dangriga and Hopkins. We are Belize's original banana farm tour. Signature Tours run Monday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday at 8 am, 10 am and 2 pm. Field Tours run on Tuesdays at 8 am, 10 am and 2 pm. In the occasional event of a packing schedule change, a Field Tour will be offered in place of a Signature Tour.
2 reviews
“Eye-opening, informative and fun for both adults and children!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This was so much fun! They show every step of the process while explaining why. The amount of work involved for quality bananas makes you appreciate food and has inspired me to compost and garden! Thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    6
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
2 reviews
“Totally Fascinating”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Evin Zabaneh of Sagitun Farms, a banana farm at the end of a long, servicable dirt road, will show you the ins and outs of the fascinating banana plant, you get to watch her crew harvest them, load them onto the really clever zip lines that lace the farm and move them to the on-site packing house. Evin made Lynda and me feel right at home and we could feel her enthusiasm for the enterprise she is such an important part of. If you take this two hour tour, which starts off with a great video she produced and ends with some tasty gifts, you'll never look at a hand of bananas in your supermarket again without thinking of the incredible, complex process that brought that hand to your checkout stand and household.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantantic”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The banana farm tour was one of the highlights of our trip. It was very interesting, educational, fun, and a delicious treat at the end. I'll never look at a banana the same way again.

Thanks so much for the great tour.

Susan Munro, Dundas, Ontario

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I had know idea how much work and attention every banana plant receives until I took this informative tour.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The tour is 2 hours and every minute is filled with up close and interactive information. Kids and adults will enjoy. We took the grand kids ages 2 and 6. They both enjoyed it. The road to the farm is rough but can be driven on safely. You will love the surprise at end.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very well done tour”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Like others have stated I never really thought what went into where bananas come from. I will say I will never take for granted this fruit again. The whole process is done by hand, which to me is fascinating.

The tour is done by the owners wife, and you can tell she is passionate about her job. She is highly informative and funny. She was able to work around our schedule, and answered all my questions. The tour ends with fried banana chips, the perfect ending to a great outing. This tour is appropriate for all ages, and I highly recommend taking an hour or so out of your trip for this tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunches of Fun Banana Farm Tours also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Bunches of Fun Banana Farm Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing