We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pork ribs in Belize!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Flying Pig

The Flying Pig
Ranked #32 of 72 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Monticello, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best pork ribs in Belize!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay in Palencia brought us to The Flying Pig bar and restaurant where I encountered the best BBQ pork ribs I've ever had. They are better than Kansas City baby back barbeque ribs. I recommend The Flying Pig. It's a "must-go-to" if you are going to Palencia, Belize. Everyone in our group praised the food and the environment. Patrick, the owner, is very personable and is seeing his dreams come true!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smurfwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPigBelize, Owner at The Flying Pig, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I will be sure to share this with my chef. It will place a huge smile on his face. I hope to see the four of you again here in Belize. Best wishes - Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent veggie pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

To my surprise this place has a really excellent veggie pizza. I didn't realize they had such good food, I will have to go back and drop by with our guests when we are coming back from tours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FUN TIMES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is great, rolling through the Placencia Road, an unexpected place pops up, it's the flying pig.

Always a great atmosphere, food was tasty, beers were cold.
Anyone coming to Placencia should visit TFP

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Time at The Flying Pig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

In need of a tasty beverage, we stopped by this road side open air bar on our way to get food and supplies for the Villa we had rented on the Placencia peninsula. After 4+ hours of fun food and drink, we finally made it to the local store, all be it a little worse for wear, to pick up our staples. Naturally, having to drive back past The Flying Pig we stopped for ‘one more’. Another 2+ hours with Patrick ensured that The Flying Pig was going to be our favorite spot in Placencia for the duration of our vacation.

Patrick is a great host and his dream bar on the ocean is sure to become a Belize landmark

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I like The Flying Pig. It's really that simple. Patrick is the owner and while the experience is casual and the food is great (pub food), you can tell he takes this venture seriously. It's generally a more mature crowd so you can expect some good conversation without yelling at someone three feet away for you to hear them. This place makes a good pit stop going back and forth during your day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esoteric_vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pig also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Flying Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing