We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent veggie pizza!”
Review of The Flying Pig

The Flying Pig
Ranked #32 of 73 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Placencia, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent veggie pizza!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

To my surprise this place has a really excellent veggie pizza. I didn't realize they had such good food, I will have to go back and drop by with our guests when we are coming back from tours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FUN TIMES”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is great, rolling through the Placencia Road, an unexpected place pops up, it's the flying pig.

Always a great atmosphere, food was tasty, beers were cold.
Anyone coming to Placencia should visit TFP

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Time at The Flying Pig”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

In need of a tasty beverage, we stopped by this road side open air bar on our way to get food and supplies for the Villa we had rented on the Placencia peninsula. After 4+ hours of fun food and drink, we finally made it to the local store, all be it a little worse for wear, to pick up our staples. Naturally, having to drive back past The Flying Pig we stopped for ‘one more’. Another 2+ hours with Patrick ensured that The Flying Pig was going to be our favorite spot in Placencia for the duration of our vacation.

Patrick is a great host and his dream bar on the ocean is sure to become a Belize landmark

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets....”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I like The Flying Pig. It's really that simple. Patrick is the owner and while the experience is casual and the food is great (pub food), you can tell he takes this venture seriously. It's generally a more mature crowd so you can expect some good conversation without yelling at someone three feet away for you to hear them. This place makes a good pit stop going back and forth during your day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esoteric_vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place for musicians in Placencia”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were invited to The Flying Pig by Fred (infamous Placencia expat musician) to join in with some local guitar picking, singing and "over all rowdiness" on Tuesday afternoon... and we had a ball. Patrick, the owner, had the audio equipment set up and ready to roll when we arrived. Steve (another local expat musician) happened to have a bass on hand, so I was able to sit in on some ole' time rock & roll and Blues picking. And the diverse collection of characters in attendance only made the experience all the more fun. Everyone certainly seemed to appreciated the Garage Band flavor of our efforts.

Patrick built the place new this past year and he's done a fabulous job creating an open-air "sports bar" atmosphere with a great Belizian feel and it was obvious to us that it's gojng to take off, so to speak. This is Patrick's dream (a thatched roof bar on the beach in paradise). Well, he's made it come true with The Flying Pig.

The music ended around 7p as the usual crowd then set up for their weekly poker game. All in all, we had a great time. Patrick is a great host and we highly recommend stopping by (just north of the airport) and checking it out.

We'll be stopping back to sample the food, which we hear is awesome. Thanks, Patrick... and we drink to your success.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pig also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to The Flying Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing