We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful Breakfast Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends Near the Pier

Friends Near the Pier
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Placencia
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian Friendly, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Friends is a Breakfast Restaurant located near the pier in the Village, Placencia, Belize.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Big John and Betty will make you feel at home when you stop by "Friends". The breakfast menu is wonderful and you can actually get an endless cup of coffee at "Friends"
We will definitely stop to see Big John and Betty when we return to Placencia in 2015.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donwood65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    35
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a delicious American-style breakfast and a good cup of coffee, this is the place. Breezy, laid back cafe right near the water. Very accommodating and friendly service.

Helpful?
1 Thank mora0132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where the locals meet the tourists for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We always ended up here for breakfast. John & Betty from Pennsylvania run this super efficient diner right on the sidewalk (and close to the pier) with american-style friendliness. Before 8am local boat captains and tour guides are having their coffee and a smoke. After 8am tourist families are pouring in to be overwhelmed by the 'tropical pancakes'. Coffe is american style, no cappucino to be found here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ttg550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We ate breakfast here twice. That's the only meal they serve. It was excellent both times. Pancakes are wonderful! Service is very slow as the owner is the only waiter but we weren't in a big hurry...the weather was lovely, we were outdoors and on vacation!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rejected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Did not get to try the food here. There were only 3 table's with people. We were ignored along with another table. Gentleman walked by us at least 6 times taking care of the people that came in after us. When they put their order in for food, we as well as the other table left. There are lots of places to choose from. Looks like a nice place????

Helpful?
Thank bradsheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends Near the Pier also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Friends Near the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing