We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great mango daiquiri on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango

Mango
Ranked #35 of 65 Restaurants in Placencia
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Center Point, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great mango daiquiri on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent pizzas, fish tacos, and mango daiquiris in an open-air restaurant over-looking a beach volleyball court and the Caribbean. Reasonably priced. Served fairly quickly but without any personality or special touches. Still, we went back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pfrierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced drinks, decent food + volleyball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Aside from the Sunday night Lasagna, which is quite delicious, I think the food here is average to above average. The good news for Mango's is there is not a lot of competition in Maya Beach at this price point.

Sand volleyball court is a nice perk.

Sunday nights go off as all the locals that go to BOC for Sunday Funday at the pool end up at Mangos.

Good fun vibe.

I have to agree with other reviews that the staff is not overly friendly and seem annoyed with the customers. Apathetic at best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool spot with the best bar on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Make a point to stop at Mango's! Beers are cold, drinks are delicious, and the food is great! Frank (owner and chef) mixes it up behind the bar a bit. All the locals congregate there, and for good reason. The place is always hopping!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nclarsengso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos, however...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We dined here in February & it was casual, decent food & a good location to Coco Plum Villas where we were staying. However, when my daughter & I went to the store across the street for supplies, waitresses/staff gave their phone numbers to my husband who stayed behind to watch the Superbowl. That surprised him & negated our desire to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatherineMMedford_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos bored staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The personell acted kind of bored , apathetic but they served good fish tacos and its really nice location .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing