We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect :)”
Review of A Belizean Nirvana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Belizean Nirvana
Ranked #1 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I really don't know how I can put into words our overall experience with Nirvana. From the moment we first met Evan at the Airport to Carolyn bringing us fresh coconuts and Barb dropping us back off to say goodbye, it was an unforgettable time. They are there for anything you need, yet you still have the feeling it is your place as well. The best part of it all is this place could be in the middle of nowhere and you would still feel you were at something special. You get to enjoy a beautiful uncrowded beach, spectacular peaceful ocean view, and wonderful culture literally all around you. Well done, we will never forget it and thanks again from the both of us for all your hospitality. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your nice review - please come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stop looking for other options NOW. This is Nirvana. Fabulous location right on the beach (on the side with trade winds to cool you off) just a few yards from the sidewalk, which is where you want to be in Placencia. Beautiful décor and spacious rooms. Great owners--Barbara and Evan are wonderfully hospitable.

Room Tip: For a couple the Morning Glory Junior Suite gives you plenty of room and a fabulous veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A-Pittsburgh-native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Great guests makes it easier to be a good host. You are welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nirvana is an extremely clean and beautiful vacation resort. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Which made us extend our visit. You have a spectacular beachfront view from your porch and the morning view on the ocean is breath taking... Evan goes out of his way to make you feel at home. We will definitely return to Nirvana in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RhondaBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

our goal is when you come stay with us we will make you feel special. Thanks for choosing Nirvana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nirvana was truly an oasis in this little town of Placentia. The area is still a bit rough around the edges, but the owner and manager of this little gem were wonderful. We went to Belize on a business trip and had a few extra days to ourselves. We were able to find this gem to stay in on short notice and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Placencia is a village with a great pulse and our location lets you enjoy the village and get away from it. An Oasis Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nirvana is located on one of the most beautiful sections of beachfront with a spectacular view, right in the heart of Placencia Village. We spent the last night of our vacation there and wish we had found it sooner. Everything about Nirvana is first class, beautiful and immaculate. The suite was beautiful and well appointed. We went shopping at the local stores and barbequed diner on the rooftop, then walked to the gelato shop for dessert. Evan was the perfect host taking care of all our needs and even making breakfast for us the morning we departed. Staying at Nirvana was one of the highlights of our trip and we hope to come back again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies with incredible view of the beach. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really enjoyed hosting you at our hotel, come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

It is difficult to briefly summarize the enjoyment experienced in our 11 day visit to Belize and our stay at Nirvana. Evan and Barbara are not just excellent hosts, but are the type of people you would love as friends and neighbors. The accommodations are first class with an excellent staff that felt more like family by the end of our trip. On two mornings, when there was light rain, they even delivered breakfast to our rooms.

Since our two children entered college, we have made annual, 2-week holiday trips overseas, for the last six years, including trips with A&K, Wildtrek Safaris plus self-designed adventures. This trip ranks very high. If we return to Belize, Placencia is where we would go and Nirvana is where we would stay. The village is safe, charming and everythiing is within walking distance. Our time was filled with 2 days of fishing, snorkeling, driving trips to Mayan ruins and national parks, the Monkey River tour pluis plenty of time for relaxing. Thanks to our extroverted kids, I think we met half the population of Placencia, who are among some of the friendliest people we have ever encountered in our travels. (P.S. Be sure to ask Evan about the weekly karioke night - what a blast!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEBYSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you!! - you and your family were wonderful, we enjoyed your stay with us and yes, it felt like we had friends visiting. You gave us great feedback that we can build upon. Evan and I are looking forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

When you walk down the concrete path from the main street of Placencia to the Belizean Nirvana, you definitely know you're not in Miami Beach! But when you get to the Inn on the beach at the end of the path, you really have reached Nirvana!

Evan and Barbara, the owners and managers, were the nicest, most welcoming inn owners we've ever encountered. They were incredibly accommodating and more than generous. We stayed a night each at the beginning and end of our trip to Hatchet's Caye in between. The rooms we stayed in were luxurious, incredibly clean and well appointed - there was an almost full kitchen - just without a stove - in one suite, and the other suite (the Namaste) had a full, deluxe kitchen and two baths, one including a huge jacuzzi tub. We also loved the great balconies with views of the water and beach. The balconies also had great hammocks and comfortable seating that we had complimentary breakfast on one morning when it was raining.

Barbara and Evan are ex-pats from New Jersey. Evan used to run a catering company in NJ, so when we brought them some Wahoo he did an awesome job grilling it up with some barracuda from another guest (dnruth22) along with veggies, etc. They are so generous too - we had only intended the fish for Barbara and Evan, but they hosted a dinner for all of the inn's guests with that fish. Another example of their generosity was that they gave up their own apartment - the Namaste - for us when they got overbooked.

The NIrvana was also well located on the beach on Placencia. It was an easy walk up the beach to several beach side bars/restaurants. This was also one of the pluses for us as the other hotels or resorts in Placencia required a taxi ride to get to town or the beach. The Inn also had kayaks to use, beach chairs and showers on the beach to wash off - as well as bicycles that their guests could use.

Placencia itself is more of a 3rd world developing village, but it gives you a real feel for how the locals live and they are all very friendly and the town felt safe.

We highly recommend the Belizean Nirvana to anyone visiting Belize!!!

Jackie & Donna

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfung77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Owner at A Belizean Nirvana, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

You were both wonderful guests, sharing that great wahoo with us - the meal was great. Please come back and spend a longer time at Nirvana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
245 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Belizean Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Belizean Nirvana

Address: Westby Way, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range: $170 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana offers five individually furnished suites/studios each with wide verandas that are separated by removable lattice partitions for privacy. Nirvana also boasts the first elevator in the village, provided for the accommodations of our guests that need assistance with getting to the second floor or the rooftop.At Nirvana you are on the beach, and after you have enjoyed your swimming in our pristine waters, you can rinse off with the outdoor showers available before you step onto your veranda to relax and enjoy your hammock.Nirvana has a rooftop deck that gives you a panoramic view of the Caribbean Sea to the east, the beach in front where the surfs never stops breaking and the Maya Mountains to the west bathed in a wonderful blue-green background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Belizean Nirvana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Belizean Nirvana Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing