We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Location, and Beauty: A Gem in Placencia”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Value, Location, and Beauty: A Gem in Placencia”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Singing Sands Inn for a week in July. We found our hosts Maya and Michael to be incredibly hospitable, chatty, and welcoming. Franklin, Dominic, and the restaurant staff were also incredibly friendly. I must give props to the chef, Domingo - we ate at a few different places including Mangoes (down the street) and the restaurant at Robert's Grove, but the BEST food was at Singing Sands Inn. If you decide to go fishing, which Maya can arrange, Domingo will also cook up the fish into a delicious fishy platter for dinner.

The cabanas were gorgeous and clean. I highly recommend the cabana by the sea: there is no air conitioning, but the sea breeze make the sea cabana much cooler at night. The grounds are quiet and relaxing as well with hammocks, chairs, and a long dock. Since we were staying there in July, we often had the grounds all to ourselves, which was wonderful.

We booked a number of activities to do with Maya as well, and the service was excellent. The trip into town is not too far (about a ten dollar cab ride), and the lagoon trip is right across the street. Mangoes is walking distance from Singing Sands and has a great bar.

Singing Sands also has a pool if you don't want to swim in the sea (I swam in both ;))

If you are looking for quiet, gorgeous intimate accomodations with your spouse or partner, I would highly recommend staying at the Singing Sands; it has all the Belizean hospitality and feeling of a rustic paradise without the expensive price tag.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    72
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
233
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The house at Kiskadee Cove is peaceful and secluded with fine views over lagoon, mountains, sunsets and gets afternoon sun, even when a breeze on beachside. Stay there and the joy is that all the comfortable, relaxing and well-maintained pleasures of Singing Sands, including very helpful and hospitable owners and staff, are available to you only 5 minutes walk away. If you're European, don't be put off by description as a 'resort' - it has, food, drink, accommodation and beach but is small and you'll have individual attention.
Other places to eat and drink within walking distance make this a gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Singing Sands is a rustic paradise with all the modern luxuries and amenities. Owners Hyon, Jean-Marc, Maya, and Michael were so warm and welcoming, which made our stay that much better. The Singing Sands is just a short bike ride to downtown Placencia and within walking distance of other restaurants and activities on peninsula. You can also kayak from the inn to False Caye for some great snorkeling.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortsiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of a 4 day stay at Singing Sands. We discovered it online and listed in Frommers Belize. Everything about Singing Sands met and exceeded our high epectations. The grounds are lush and beautifully maintained. The accomodations are comfortable, spotless, and our individual cabin near the beach was perfect in every way. The pool is well situated and lovely. To our delight, the restaurant was so excellent that we ate all of our meals there. Each dish was creative, tasty, fresh and well executed by an obviously experienced chef. The staff throughout Singing Sands were exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, ensuring that our every need was met. I highly recommennd Singing Sands.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkEisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My partner and i weren't interested in scuba/snorkeling, kayaking, or staying in an air-conditioned villa with a marble bathroom. We wanted to find the heart of the Belizean culture, and we found just that at Singing Sands. The property is intimate, and constructed with Mayan sensibility and traditions. Each cabana is perfect for two, and the cabanas closest to the water have amazing views and lovely evening breezes. While there are many choices “in town”, the restaurant on the property was just fine (SE Asian inspired cuisine), and since it was their slow season, we were able to get to know the staff and their many cultures. The owner, Maya, is an amazing proprietor with a lot of heart, and her husband Michael is down to earth (unfortunately we had just missed meeting the other half of the owners: Maya’s sister and brother-in-law). It’s evident that both really love Belize, love their life there, and only want to share it with their guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Singing Sands offered a lot more than just a typical beach resort; located away from the crowds and noise, this small hotel is a charming hideaway with surprising elegance and style, decorated with attention to details, clean and cozy. Add comfortable lounges and hammoks in the shade of palm trees on the beautiful beach - its a perfect place to relax and forget about the world left behind. this is a boutique- size and quality hotel, where guests feel warm hospitality of the owners who are striving to satisfy your every wish and need.
The hotel offers new bikes, kayaks, organizes your fishing and snorkeling trips, basically anything one may ask for, even a doctor visit to your room. At night, a cozy bar and a restaurant become a sort of social club filled with locals and guests along with owners sharing their experiences. Coctails and food are really great.
Singing Sands is an ideal place for a romantic getaway or having vacation with a bunch of friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2011

As soon as you walk through the archway into the Singing Sands Inn , you have found a tropical paradise. The grounds are emaculate - but still very much in touch with nature. The cabana accomodation is delightful, you open your front door and the tropical plants and beach are on your doorstep. Even at full capacity the Singing Sands is peaceful and tranquil, you can also find a private spot or hammock to rest. The owners of the hotel went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect and would happily organise any sightseeing or diving / snorkelling trips we required - also giving an honest opinion on those trips prior to booking. The restaurant serves lovely breakfasts , lite luches and scrumptious evening meals - the seafood and key lime pie is to die for. The staff are fantastic - helpful, polite but not intrusive. We really hope to return to the Singing Sands one day, we felt rested, refreshed - extremely well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csturgeon1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing