We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway!”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2010

If you like a 1000-room high-rise hotel with six restaurants and a casino, this is not it. But if you're like us and like things smaller and more intimate, this is the place. Only six cabanas (and 3 apartment-like units, I think) make for a cozy (and romantic) stay. The rooms are more than adequate in size and furnishings. The highlight is the location. It's right on the beach and the website photos don't begin to capture the magic of the place. The restaurant opens onto a small outdoor dining area which opens onto the beautiful beach. The restaurant is absolutly top-notch -- some of the best food I've had anywhere! Get the Thai fried fish (red snapper when we were there) or baked in banana leaf. Key lime cheesecake. The owners, Maya and Michael, will make sure your stay is all you had hoped for. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justeve47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 372 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2010

Spent 3 days and nights here. Small and very nice! The owners are first rate, some of the best customer service I have ever had. The are very friendly and strive to make your stay the best. You will feel like family.

Loved sitting at the end of the small pier every night, looking at the stars! Oh so many stars!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy29201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The Singing Sands Inn was more charming than we imagined from the online pictures and we were thrilled we picked it. My husband and I stayed in one of the half dozen cabanas and our two daughters stayed in a garden - family style room where they had lots of space and privacy. We loved the layout of this small and nicely appointed inn, the hammocks and beach chairs right on the dock surrounded by the emerald-colored sea. The pool next to the indoor-outdoor restaurant is an ideal place to read and sip a cocktail and get some sun. And the food at Singing Sands is always a treat. Our favorite was the sushi. We stayed for five nights and had perfect weather. Maya (the nicest host we've ever had) helped us arrange day trips up the Monkey River and snorkeling. We even got to swim wtih a sea turtle! Singing Sands is several miles out of town and it can be a long, hot bicycle ride if you don't bring any water. Maya hooked us up with a wonderful cab driver named Mr. Cornell who brought us to several very good restaurants in town and picked us up when we finished eating. We would recommend flying on the puddle jumper from Belize City rather than trying to drive the 3.5 hours it takes to get to Placencia by car. Once you get to Placencia, you may want to rent a car and take day-trips from there. We loved the local people we met...but there is some well-placed resentment toward Americans who are coming to the area to build and buy homes and condos and pricing the locals out of the real estate market. Other advice: Bring lots of bug spray and cover up even when you don't think the bugs are biting! Also get a good bird guide - the birds are amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Our extended family enjoyed Singing Sands in every way. Our attractive thatched roof cabanas were perfect with fantastic views of the tranquil Caribbean. We would gather each evening to savor the sunset, drink in hand, on our seaside veranda. The sound of the ocean and rustling palms lulled us to sleep.The grounds and gardens are beautiful. The restaurant serves superb meals in a gorgeous setting. Everyone on the staff could not have been more delightful, helpful and personalble. Their aim was to please and they did so always with a smile. Singing Sands exceeded our every expectation. .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forrest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was very clean, the service was excellent, the food was superb!! Maya, Jai-On, and Micheal treated us as if we had known them for years and we only stayed for two nights after spending a horrible stressful week on a sailboat. We were tired and wore out. The two days we spent lounging at the Singing Sands made us ready to return home. We never left the resort except when we rented a bicycle for a bit of exercise. They did our laundry for us, had it folded and back in the room ready for packing for a small, very fair fee. We stayed in Cabana #2 which is a sea front room. I recommend any of the cabanas. The garden front will get just as much breeze and are exactly the same. When we left the hotel, we were bid farewell just as if we were family leaving from a holiday at home......seriously!!! You absolutely must stay here and if you can't, you must have at least one meal.....and a piece of tasty key lime cheese cake or some tasty bi bop bim!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Our time at Singing Sands was fantastic, between the completely serene waters, and the excellent food, I can't recommend this place enough. If you're looking for quiet, relaxing hammock time, great hosts, picture perfect backdrops for your rum punch on the deck, this is it. we spent 6 nights here, and ate most of the food on the menu (highly recommend the drunken noodle). Maya Beach is a little further from town than the other resorts nearby, but we liked being away from the town, and getting away from it all. Loved our hosts, they were super to us, great chef, and arranged all our flights and activities when we did decide to do something besides relax!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUSTravelerAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We just returned from Singing Sands and miss it already. The owners, Maya and Hyon, I think were our favorite part of our whole wonderful experience at their lovely resort. They do an absolutely fabulous job of making you feel special. Their resort of very well cared for and nicely done. The restaurant and food is beyond words. The staff are great.
We do wish we would've had a vehicle so we could've discovered a little more of Belize on our own so that would be a recommendation to anyone wanting to get out a bit. And yes, there are sand flies that bite the heck out of you so do bring lots of bug spray. We ventured out to many different restaurants in our two weeks but after every one of them we wondered why we were wasting our time. The food at Singing Sands was nothing short of superb. It's a great place for a relaxing, low-key get-away without crowds of people.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#12 of 20 in Placencia
311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: $129 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing