We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a great place, great people, great food! I loved it!”
Review of Singing Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Singing Sands Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a great place, great people, great food! I loved it!”
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Recently I found a great little spot not far off the beaten path, called Singing Sands in Placencia, Belize. Actually, it was very easy to get to and the resorts owner was even waiting for me when I got off the plane. It is a family-owned business and it shows in the details. Whether it is taking a longboat up the Monkey River to a local village to look for crocodiles or just sitting on the white sand beach at the resort letting the Caribbean lap over your feet. Anything you want isn’t any further than the front desk of the Singing Sands. If you need a boat for any reason, fishing, snorkeling, scuba, etc, they will pick you up right out front on your very own dock. As for the food, it was exquisite - from the daily fresh snapper sandwiches to the authentic Korean ribs, fresh vegetables and fruits are also in abundance. And the staff couldn’t be any more attentive. They remember what you like and that means so much to the guest. The accommodations are very unique. They are authentic thatched huts which sit right on the beach and always have a wonderful breeze washing through them. Bikes and kayaks are readily available. The bikes are great for riding into town and the kayaks are glass-bottomed. So you can actually snorkel without getting wet. If I had nothing else but walk to the end of the pier each evening and look at the stars, this alone would have made my trip to the Singing Sands worth while. I cannot say enough about this place. And cannot wait to get back to see my new friends. Even if it’s just to walk to the end of the pier and look at the stars.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesuv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    73
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
234
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, IN
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Nowhere will you find a more relaxing experience. Maya and Huyan are extraordinary hosts, paying close attention to every detail. We stayed in the sea-front cabana (#1) and woke to the ocean and sunrise each morning. There are plenty of hammocks to lounge in and an endless view of the Central American coast. The breeze is enough to keep you comfortable in your cabana at night. The Bonefish Grille is located at the Inn and offers several choices on the menu. We ate breakfast there each morning and loved the fry jacks! The red snapper wrapped in banana leaf was our favorite meal and it was phenomenal! Americo made wonderful, refreshing drinks with fresh fruit and local rum. Even though we stayed during their low season, we had no trouble booking excursions. They have bikes and kayaks to rent at a very reasonable cost and each will allow you to truly appreciate the peninsula and water. The pier is, by far, the best pier on Maya Beach. We are already planning our next stay at Singing Sands Inn for next November.

Things to write down for your trip: Ask for Cornell to be your taxi driver, he is trustworthy and kind. Be sure to make arrangements for Tuesday lunch and dinner as the Bonefish Grille is closed. Roberts Grove and Placencia Hotel will each come pick you up for dinner in their van and the food is fabulous at both. The Bistro restaurant is withing walking distance north on the beach and offers lunch and dinner. BUG SPRAY!!!! - don't leave the airplane without it. Buy an underwater camera at home and bring it. They are difficult to locate in Placencia and you'll want it when you snorkel. When you go into Placencia Village, eat at Omar's at least once (pay no attention to how the building looks, the food is great!) and visit John the Bakerman for the best cinnamon buns on the earth. Be prepared to pay all of your hotel expenses at the end...you will not need much cash at the Inn. While, I'd like to keep this wonderful place a secret, I must admit it was the best vacation I've ever been on. ---- George and Nic, Indiana

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltlblondie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

My fiance and I both work in hospitality (boutique hotels with very high standards) and we wanted to get away from the "resorty" feel in Belize since that is (well, what we do) to relax and rejuvinate and could not have been happier with Singing Sands.

From the moment we arrived (Michael walked us to our cabana) to being greeting by Hyon the next morning (at the best breakfast in Placencia)......it was paradise. The restaurant is amazing...ceviche at lunch is a must! We biked into town a couple times (about an 8 mile ride but perfectly flat on the newly paved road) and kayaked to False Island and snorkeled (bikes, kayaks and snorkel gear are provided). There are lots of tours and day trips that Maya can help you plan (which we did one day) but you may just find yourself spending the majority of your time in the hammocks on the beach!!

The fresh water pool was clean and wonderful in the heat. All of the staff were so very friendly, we felt very much at home. We can't wait to return to Singing Sands!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinIt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Spent 8 days on the lovely Placencia peninsula and enjoyed almost every minute of it. You can't beat the location. Right on the Gulf of Honduras with beautiful sweeping views of the Caribbean. The food, service and amenities are delivered in a low key, friendly manner by people who really seem to care. Belize is a smaller country so day trips to Mayan ruins or bike rides into town are easy to accomplish. It was hot and it is tropical so be aware that bugs of all varieties are in abundance. Not something that can be avoided and, I will say , something that took something from the overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHOTEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2009

If you want delicious food, knowledgeable and friendly staff, a beautiful beach, and
clean accomodations, Singing Sands Inn is the place for you. We spent time relaxing on the beach and had two great trips, a river cruise and a snorkling trip. Our family all had a wonderful time, and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MthTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We weren't too sure what to expect before arriving in Belize, but were more than satisfied with what we found. It's a beautiful country, with such welcoming people. The Singing Sands Inn was just perfect. We thoroughly relaxed, ate well & were looked after brilliantly. We will happily return & may even take up the offer of the private island - just ask when you contact them! Diving, snorkelling, cayaking, cycling etc. are all available, but we just chilled by the pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoMaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintonville, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This hotel has been completely redone. I had a great stay there. The pool was also just refinished and a nice water feature was added. Great local and world foods at the restaurant. Great staff and owners that were willing to help with anything. They also had great connections with local trip and adventure tour groups, for one of the trips I went SCUBA diving with the group at the Seahorse Dive Shop and had a blast. I will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptkarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
6.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
590 reviews
3.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
3.7 mi away
Miller's Landing Resort
Miller's Landing Resort
#15 of 19 in Placencia
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singing Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Sands Inn

Property: Singing Sands Inn
Address: 30 Maya Beach Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#7 Family Hotel in Placencia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Singing Sands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA private secluded seafront resort on Maya Beach...with beautiful Placencia Lagoon nearby! "...Singing Sands is an oasis for the traveler...whether couples seeking a romantic space, groups in search of a base location...or birding enthusiasts and water lovers needing a place from which to begin...their Belizean adventure." Our Inn is tucked within a beautifully landscaped tropical garden, providing a restful environment for our guests. We take pleasure in providing a relaxed, at home atmosphere. We’ve been working hard in recent months to completely renovate and remodel our entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Singing Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singing Sands Hotel Placencia
Singing Sands Resort
Singing Sands Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing